Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cannot beat the Colombo for Value

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Only a 6 minute walk down to the Cathedral and shopping in town. Excellent eating nearby.
Rooms are quite large and beds comfortable. Try for a room to the rear for a more peaceful and quite night..Breakfast is very good and the option of the balcony seating is great. .My second visit - would come again. Enjoy !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from France

Hotel bien situé dans le centre historique, calme.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Bien situé, pratique, bon rapport qualité prix
Cons: La qualité des produits du petit dejeuner
Location: Hotel bien situé dans la partie historique de Funchal. Tres proche à pied, de restos, de nombreux sites à visiter, de bus pour sortir de Funchal
Chambre double dans le batiment central. Chambre assez vaste sur l'arrière (calme), avec vue sur les collines, mais sans balcon. Petit coin salon, avec 2 fauteuils et table basse. Parquet en bois. Propre. Bonne literie, bien que lit un peu court (1, 90m). Nous avons souvent eu des lits de 2m à Madère) Wifi surtout dans les parties communes (Mais un message dans notre chambre nous dit que c'est parce qu'ils sont en train de refaire leur installation) Terrasse agreable sur le toit pour le petit déjeuner. Petit dejeuner buffet, abondant, mais produits pas forcement de qualité (pas de vrai jus de fruits, choix de fruits, choix unique de confiture...) Possibilité appréciée de petit dejeuner plus simple avant 7h30, pour les departs précoces ...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Hôtel accueillante situation géographique pratique

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Madère est une île magnifique par la végétation et les sites naturels. Les gens sont accueillant. Le patrimoine historique n'est pas dénué d'intérêt.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

El hotel está muy buen situado, cerca del mar

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Locación
El hotel es muy tranquilo y muy cerca al mar. Está situado en el corazón de Funchal cerca del catedral. Sin embargo la habitación olía a mucha humedad y había un olor muy desagradable saliendo de las tuberías. Pero está muy barato el sitio, así que de calidad precio es aceptable.
1 out of 5
by Paul Helmar from Trondheim, Norway.

Avoid this hotel.

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
Although this is a "budget" hotel, things should be of a higher standard. We only stayed one night. It was more than enough. Among other things, emphasized the fact that the rooms have earcondition. It is not true. There are several options in Funchal. Instead, use these. It astonishes me that "Hotel.com" this hotel has registered. It's should not they. Devastating advertising.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Razoável para usufruir do centro da cidade a pé

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
Muito velho mas limpo. Pequeno almoço simples mas suficiente.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Conviently placed.

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: Location
All round good experience and relative to the rate. Comfortable, clean and conveniently located
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from clermont ferand

tres bien placé proche du centre et du bord de mer

Posted May 24, 2016
Cons: rideau de douche tres petite chambre propre mais pas agréable vue sur le mur
Location: proche de tout ce donc vous avez besoin
2muits a Funchal pour visite de la ville hotel bien placé proche du centre très proche d'une rue avec pleins de petit restaurant très agréable a 2 pas d'un centre commerciale le tout calme
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel au centre de Funchal

Posted May 18, 2016
Tres bien place Au centre resto musees transports boutiques marche fantastique port tt est a proximite. Personnel attentif ptit dej 4h du matin jour du depart. Chambre avec loggia spacieuse. Un defaut bruillant. Bon rapport qualite prix
4 out of 5
by Maureen from Dundee

Hotel Residencial Colombo

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was in an old part of town and was within walking distance of the hsrbour, the Santa Caterina and the Municipal Gardens, the English Church, a modern shopping centre, many and varied restaurants including a traditional Madeiran, an Indian, an Italian, a pizza place and a hamburger place plus snack bars and coffee shops. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and the breakfast was good value but the room itself which, in our case, was in the annex was somewhat tired and despite 2 windows lacking in light. However it was clean and considering our week there cost less than a night at some of the more modern hotels on the front I consider it to be very good value. We did not have access to free wiFi in our room but we did in the hotel lobby which was enough for us. There were very few street parking places near the hotel but we could park the car in a nearby underground carpark which cost the same as the stree during the day but was charged a half price at night whereas the street was free. However we found it more convenient to have it in the carpark overnight.