Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from S W England

Classy hotel.

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Most things!
Cons: Provide a courtesy bus to and from Funchal centre as it is hilly.
Location: Near port & marina with a good choice of restaurants nearby. Funchal attractions a 20 minute walk away.
Classy hotel with excellent facilities and customer service. Good breakfast and very nice suite. Good location not too far from Funchal centre, although the hilly terrain is challenging for the less mobile. Two lovely outdoor and one indoor pools.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Cool Pools

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Outside pools needs to be warmer, There is little point in saying it is heated, if it is still too cold to use. Reception seem to be obsessed with people leaving on time. Having stated that we are leaving prior to 11am, we do not need to be reminded that we need to be out by midday and we certainly do not need an alarm call. Overall the hotel delivered in all areas and cannot be blamed for the average age of the clientele being around 80.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cannock

Excellent facilities

Posted Jan 2, 2016
The hotel is situated in a great place with excellent facilities and great entertainment
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Nottingham

Traditional 5* quality with a relaxed ambiance.

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
The feel of a traditional 5* hotel from uniformed doormen to waiters who reached your water and wine bottles before you could top up yourself. There are more luxurious hotels in the world and maybe one or two on Madeira but overall this fulfilled the role of a comfortable holiday hotel without reaching the level of formality not always wanted on holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Maybe a shuttle service into town, its at least a 35 min walk into town and it is very hilly, so its not very good if you can not walk well.
Location: Plenty of places to eat and lots of shops in town, not many around Hotels
Hotel was really nice and the food was very good. We were given lovely room on the 5th floor. Three days into the holiday we had to be moved due to a water pipe leak under our shower into the room below. We were moved to the Pent House Suite which was lovely and even our own key to the lift. The only draw back the bed was really uncomfortable really hard, had full kitchen with not much in it other than a cupboard full top to bottom of glasses of every shape and size. I suppose if you book the Penthouse you don't cook! During the days Monday to Friday it was very noisy due to the Hotel next door building a jetty heavy construction in the sea next to our hotel. This also caused the sea to be very muddy not very nice to swim in. The hotel pools were great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OXFORD

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Pool area was nice.
Cons: Breakfast, WIFI connection.
Location: Smell of sewers. Nice restaurant near the harbour.
We were upgraded when we arrived which we thought would be great but it meant we didn't have the views of the ocean from our bed as we would have done with a standard room. There was no coffee, tea, milk or sugar when we arrived in the room so we went and bought some from a local supermarket, the next day we were then asked if we wanted any. I think this should have been in our room from arrival. There was no bottled water in the room when we arrived. Breakfast was poor. The pastries were dry (why not provided fresh pastries). Bread was dry and the cereals tasteless. Milk was always running out and I has to ask on more than one occasion for it to be refilled. Butter ran out a lot too. The nicer fruit was gone if you went to breakfast later. A buffet to me means a choice throughout the hours not based on first come first served. We didn't eat in the restaurant at night as it was too expensive and the restaurant space was a little poky. Housekeeping was quite late in the day rather than the morning and there was a constantly ringing telephone in the corridor by the lifts on my floor which was very loud. The air con in our room didn't appear to do anything no matter what setting it was set on. One of the lights in our kitchen area would not turn out which meant we didn't have complete darkness to sleep. WIFI was awful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great pools, helpful staff, wonderful breakfasts

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Lots of really nice things at the hotel. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Nice facilities. Really enjoyed the stay. Minor point- one child developed a slight rash from the pillow but this could happen anywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Great location

Posted Mar 16, 2015
The location is wonderful, located directly at the coast of Funchal. The hotel offers everything a 5-star hotel should offer, to mention 3 big pools with palm trees amongst other amenities. The breakfast waitresses shouldn't argue that loudly when guests are around, and the lights in the restaurant could be a little warmer (actually, they are quite greenish)–but as this is the only 'negative' thing to mention, visiting the Royal Savoy is a clear recommendation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Great location room a junior suite excellent. Only down side was slow service. Very clean and well maintained.