Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location/helpful and friendly staff

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: great helpful staff, They go the extra mile to help if you have any questions
Cons: The breakfast buffet needs a slight improvement.
Location: old town is just 10mins walk, the gondola to the botanic gardens the same, close to the pier and fruit market.
My experience with the hotel was very good. I stayed there 8 days and loved the fact that I was in the centre of Funchal. The reception staff was very lovely and helped me organising different tours where I was picked up from the hotel and brought back. The tours were great. I had an accident and hurt myself in the room the first aide person arrived straight away after I called reception. Unfortunately the injury was worse than I liked and I lost lots of blood the hotel manager and the cleaning ladies all were all there to help. They all were worried about the blood loss and did their utmost best to help me. After my return from the A&E the reception lady has checked on how I was doing. They were really great with helping to find the clinic to do further checks on my wound and stitches. I would recommend the hotel for his great location and great team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

City centre hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Good location for tourist facilities such as transport, restaurants and walkable attractions.
Cons: Tea making facilities in room would be nice.
Location: Close to dozens of restaurants,the Cathedral, cable car, museums, and the marina for boating activities.
Had a wonderful holiday in lovely madeira where everyone we met was warm and welcoming.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from home now

Central hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Locatuon.
Central hotel. Basic room. Breakfast included. Walkable to all sights. Central hotel. Basic room. Breakfast included. Walkable to all sights.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

No booking

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Booked the hotel and on arrival we were told there was no room and they were relocating us to a hotel in the middle of nowhere (15 min drive away) and we did not have a car. Unacceptable with no prior notice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in the centre of Funchal

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Lovely hotel central to Funchal, close to amenties and easy to get to places. Only downside due card key doors no one can shut doors quietly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes, UK

In the town centre

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Was a good place to stay for exploring by foot and by bus
Cons: I would have preferred the shower to have has a grab-rail and bath mat to aid balance when getting in/out of shower.
Location: Near the Cathedral, museums and the sea front
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from scotland

A central hotel with great staff

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: central for. taking bus trips good for keen walkers cable car trip to botanical gardens fun sunday market up in the hills
A basic hotel ideally central to reach all parts of the island . upstairs pool a bonus . breakfasts were fine . staff very helpful and pleasant . could do with better pillows on the beds .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Too hot for a night's sleep

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Central location
Cons: Air conditioning Breakfast service
Single night stay before moving on to another resort on the island - thankfully! We were given a room on the top floor which was painfully hot. Two fans were simply not enough to cool a room which was probably in excess of 30 degrees celsius overnight. I have never had such an uncomfortable night's sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brackley, Northants

5 minutes walk from the seafront

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: Quiet, friendly staff with good English, excellent food.
Cons: Wider pillows following the UK type and slightly softer!
Location: Location - very convenient for the sea front, shops if that way inclined, clo0se to the old town where there were great restaurants.
Food in the hotel was excellent - 11 out of 10! Easy reach of all facilities in the capital
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: Very reasonable prices.
Cons: Tea and coffee for breakfast not good.
Location: Central position so minutes walk to everything.
Excellent position in old town, 1 minute walk to centre. Rooms at front could be noisy facing street. Rooms at back overlooking internal courtyard very quiet.