Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Needs a refurb!

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The hotel needs a complete refurb.
Location: You can walk into Funchal very easily. Lots of tours you can do around the Island.
The Regency is in a great location for walking into Funchal. Whilst the room was clean it was in bad shape, thread bare areas of the carpet and old furnishings. When you walk into the hotel it has no atmosphere or appeal due to the basic furnishings. The breakfast was ok but could be improved. The pool area overlooks the see but again it looks bland, no landscaping, with a few sunbeds and umbrellas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad...

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Location of the hotel good but breakfast starts to late. We have ferry at 8am and we could not have breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Thanks Expedia

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Clean, well equipped and a pleasant atmosphere.
Cons: The customer service skills of one of the restaurant managers were below what would normally be expected.
Location: Good base for island, Levada walks prices are negotiable with the agents. Funchal to Longes is superb!
Early morning and day noise from the developing hotel complex which our room overlooked was addressed by Expedia and we got a room upgrade which left us with a fantastic room overlooking the pool and sea. We had tried to get a room upgrade by talking with the hotel staff but were being given no real commitment for a room change, it all changed when I contacted Expedia!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Great views but could do with refurb

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Hotel is in a great location and clean but hotel itself could do with refurb ie new carpets fresh paint etc. But it wasn't so much the hotel I disappointed with it was the major building work going on directly next door. They were drilling in to the foundation and could feel our hotel vibrating so much so plaster fell off wall in corridor. This went on 8.30am till gone 6pm and down by the pool they had started drilling and hammering. So unless you went out each day you couldn't get away from the noise. I am very disappointed with Expedia for not informing me about the ongoing building work which spoil our holiday. I don't think I'll be using them again. But would recommend madeira to anyone it's beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SW England

Pleasant hotel near harbour

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Fairly small and personal. General comfort.
Cons: Restaurant service sometimes rather slow. We had the impression that there were too few staff and they were working very hard.
Location: Located within about 20 minutes walk of the town facilities in Funchal.
We received a cordial welcome in the spacious reception area. The dining room staff were obliging and helpful. Meals were always pleasing and portions, when served at table, were plenty for us.Some meals were buffet style and therefore the choice was ours. Cleanliness and general appearance of the hotel were good. Our room, a junior suite, was comfortable and spacious enough though perhaps not over-generous. Free WiFi is available in the reception area and restaurant but not in all rooms. We found it worked fine for us. Some things which should be borne in mind are: The hotel is situated on a hill leading down towards the harbour and town of Funchal. It could be a stiff climb back up after a day in the town if you don't either have a car or take a taxi. The dining area, some rooms and poolside are located across the road from the reception and main hotel. The two parts are linked by a high-level bridge in the open air. If your room is in the main part of the hotel you will have to make this journey for meals and to use the pool facilities At the time of our visit (March 2017) the area behind the main hotel was the subject of extensive development.This means that many of the rooms at the rear look onto a large construction site and have no other view. Be sure to ask about this when booking. Altogether a pleasant hotel and one which I would recommend subject to the above observations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denmark

Good location needs updating and upgrading

Posted Mar 8, 2017
We had a senior suite buy it look so exhausted.. the bed was not comfortable..we were on honeymoon and only to be told they only have single beds which the put together and then used bigger sheets and blankets to make it "double" and one mattress was low the other high..we ended up using the couch bed in the lounge to be able to share a bed..
4 out of 5
by Martin

Convenient hotel with lovely sea views

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely friendly hotel within 15 minutes walk to marina & old town. Our apartment was spacious with amazing sea views but could do with some refurbishment as carpets were threadbare in some places
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel hotel on the coast. Such friendly and

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, friendly. Nothing too much trouble. Good position
Cons: Real coffee Not from a machine yuk
Location: On the edge of Funchal,awAy from the noise. Nice walk into town.lovely dress spots, small cafe
Just greatLovely room Good spaceous bedroom sitting room .Overlooki g the sea
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Great location, near town, and sea access

Posted Feb 26, 2017
All good, except breakfast coffee pretty poor by Madeira standards. For me great coffee is a great start to the day, with an otherwise good breakfast selection.