Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Lovely apartment. Fantastic views. Spacious and well equipt. Good bus service to centre of Funchal. You are reliant on buses as walking is difficult due to the steep hills. We are fit but getting up the hill was a work out. would highly recommend and definitely stay again b
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eccezionale

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Ottima posizione, appartamento arredato con gusto molto spazioso e con vista sull'oceano. Silenzioso. Il Wi-Fi non funzionava in camera, solo in sala. Piscina riscaldata e pulita. Li consiglio
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Disaster

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Having read the excellent reviews, I was very much looking forward to staying here on my five-night holiday to Madeira. Apartments have beautiful views and built to a very high standard. However, on first night the hot water in the apartment was broken and the air conditioning was also faulty meaning cold water dripped all over the bedroom floor. This meant no shower and spent much of the next day on phone to apartment reception and Expedia, who (finally) agreed to change the apartment, even though I wanted to be relocated at this point. Second night in new apartment was infested with cockroaches which were climbing up the walls in the living rooms and bathroom. According to the very cleaners these come up through the floor vents, as we kept all the doors/ windows closed. Another day was spent speaking with Expedia and the reception to persuade them to relocate us. Finally, they agreed a refund on the remaining three nights. There was no refund for the terrible first two nights and I was told by Expedia my 'compensation' was my refund for the remaining three nights of the trip. The reception at the apartment inferred that I was expecting too much of the apartments and that these are apartments not a hotel room. First time I have ever had a bad experience with a room and was surprised how little assistance there was from Expedia or apartment management.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from High Wycombe

High quality accommodation

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Palheiro village is set up away from Funchal in the hills. The duplex we stayed in was extremely spacious and well-appointed with full kitchen and washing facilities. The staff were extremely helpful. The pool was the perfect temperature and had an 'honesty' bar. There was also a communal room with a pool table, tv, and computer. There was a bus stop nearby, and the taxi to town was €12. A wonderful place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Nice apartments but built on very steep hill.

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Last minute change of hotel as our original hotel no longer available. Apartments were beautiful with great views. Only used pool facilities on our last day since the steep climb from the apartment was too challenging for my mother. Am very glad did not book any spa treatments since getting there was totally impossible for her. If only there had been a regular shuttle service, it would have been most useful. For that reason I cannot recommend this resort to others.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arnhem

Séjour parfait

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Logement (villa 3 chambres) confortable et calme avec une vue imprenable sur l'océan. Le personnel est agréable et discret, les infrastructures conformes à nos attentes. Nous avons passé de magnifiques vacances à Modère!
5 out of 5
by Jacqueline from Geneva, Switzerland

Much much more than we expected, we will return.

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
First time visit to Maidera, will be back. Really appreciated the facilities on offer at the Village, heated swimming pool and relaxed family friendly atmosphere. You could be alone without being isolated.We loved the views which are stunning. A vehicle is a must though as the gradient is very steep and unless you are a regular exerciser, you may have problems if you are located in the higher end of the village. It was not a problem for us though. It is also important to note that use of the Golf, Spa, and Gym facilities cost extra although there is a deduction for village residents.
4 out of 5
by Heidi from Hørsholm

Egen villa med pool uden for Funchal

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
Vi var afsted med to voksne og to store børn og boede i villa med egen pool - området er meget nyt og derfor pænt og velholdt. Det var skønt at bo 4-5 km fra Funchal oppe i bjergene, men alligevel have udsigt over både byen og Atlanterhavet med god service. Rengøringen er ikke i top, men det opvejes af områdets grønne - og meget velplejede - områder og meget kort til den tilhørende golfklub. Det anbefales dog, at man har en bil! Der findes både mulighed for at bestille pakke med madvarer inden ankomst, men der er også en del indkøbsmuligheder" lige om hjørnet" samt i Camacha.
5 out of 5
by daniela from Livorno

Meraviglioso fuori dal caos di funchal

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Sicurezza tranquillità confort posteggio piscina panoramica giardino botanico da vedere vista vicino a supermarket e benzinaio oltre uscita autostrade
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Erzgebirge

Wunderschöne Ausblicke auf die Stadt Funchal

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Lage, tolles Ambiente, sehr freundlicher Empfang
entspannender Aufenthalt, angenehmer Service, etwas nahe an der Straße