Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Madeira Paul do Mar

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Overall, a positive experience and we would return to the same hotel in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
need updates for this very old and worn on the bed are not comfortable or condition no working The food all frozen they're not fresh specially the buffet !! But there isn't many hotel in this down to choose ! Close to the see that's good Good Luke
4 out of 5
by STEVEN from Guernsey

Hidden gem

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
We chose this hotel as it was in the village of Paul do Mar where our local friends were getting married The location is perfect for a true experience of a coastal town in Madeira with amazing views walks swimming and snorkeling The hotel was perfectly located just above the sea wall so you can sleep and wake to the sound of waves The service in the hotel was fantastic and all facilities great Maybe a softer pillow would have been nice! We mostly swam in the sea but the pools were very week kept As a family we enjoyed the bars and restaurant nearby too Paul do mar is a hidden gem
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

PAUL DO MAR

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: The view is rght in front of the ocean......very nice.
Cons: everything can be improve. Matresses, pillows, air conditioner, telephone. WiFi in the rooms. Amenities for the bathroom. Food.
Location: Nothing to do near by.......
Air conditioner did not work, mattress very hard. Telephone did not work. No amenities in the shower. It is on the end of Ribeira das Galinhas so you have to walk back and forth to the Port. There are no restaurants around or a small supermarket were to buy water or something to eat. No Internet in the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orillia, Ontario

Great Hotel at a Stunning Location

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: The staff were very friendly. There are two swimming pools which we used every day. Meals were excellent. Location is wonderful.
Cons: Pillows were very flat and hard.
Location: Paul do Mar is a small village on the southwest coast of Madeira. One of the sunniest and warmest parts of the island. Many hiking routes nearby.
This was our second stay at the Paul do Mar Aparthotel. The staff and very friendly and all spoke very good English. All rooms are oceanview and only 100 feet from the shore. From your balcony, you can watch the sun go down over the ocean every night. Breakfast was good with hot and cold food and fresh fruit every day. Dinner was excellent. We swam in the outdoor pool (unheated) and the indoor (heated pool). A rental car is recommended to get from the hotel to the many hiking routes and levada walks at the west end of Madeira which we consider to be the most beautiful part of the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Nice view

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Mostly everything..
Cons: Wifi in the rooms
Everything was good...no real complaints about comfort...lively staff!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lichfield UK

Nice hotel with no passing traffic

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: virtually everything but mainly the staff who treat all the visitors as special friends.
Cons: The supply of a kettle and more equipment would be a help but this would not stop us visiting again.
Location: It is located in a small fishing village being the only hotel there. overlooking the sea on a boulder beach. The only things to do are Lavada walking
Superb choice of hotel attentive staff, excellent breakfast but the most pleasing was the peace and quite. A wonderful spot to either relax by the pool or tour the island. A car is really a necessity. The hotel is an Apart hotel and the rooms are very spacious but the kitchen arrangement only allows you to do minimum cooking, which we found suitable there is a large fridge and a micro wave which is ideal for reheating prepared meals
4 out of 5
by Muffin from Lincolnshire

Spacious rooms

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Great room and facilities. Breakfast (the only meal we had there) was excellent. Location was close the the sea. Slightly disappointed about the surrounding neighbourhood as it is obviously a place where teens gather. A bit noisy at night. (We were there during the run up to Easter) Would be a good place to go with children. Fantastic location to watch the sun setting at night, and great for finding the sun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our visit to Madeira

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Room very big overlooking sea and swimming pool
Cons: Rooms are good but need updating
Location: Just the area we needed as we were near Calhetha where our friends live
Did not use facilities as we were out most of the time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Kent Uk

Fading glory huge waves

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Quiet location, great balcony ,large room
Cons: The rooms need refurbishment, everything is very tired,no tea or coffee maker, or kettle and a wider choice of food in the restaurant for evening meal
Location: The "one love cafe" and Maktub pub nearby have cars and bikes gathered around all hours,somewhat shifty looking yoof at times.
This hotel is far from central but nothing is very far away on this Island. You will need a car if you stay here as there only two buses a day and none on the weekend. The staff here are a real mixture, from Very friendly and helpful right down to moody and careless .Overall its hard not to like this hotel, if you want real 5 stars, you wont find them anywhere on the island. This one has them over the door but in truth its only 3 star quality, A direct view and sound of the sea for all, if you don't like constant surf pounding on the beach this is not the place for you. The equipment in the suites is very basic, but eating out somewhere nearby isn't a problem. "Chicken Gordon Blue" tells you about the chefs training. Not terrible but not brilliant either. Solid Marble in the bathroom, with badly applied shower tiles. The room was keep spotless by the cleaning staff . Very good for the price.