Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Fell in love with hotel again

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Breakfast and dinner both excellent - buffet style with huge choice/quality. We got offered the 4 night meal deal represented great value.
Cons: not charging 4 euros for bottle water. In fairness all restaurants do it.
Location: Within the main hotel area plenty of restaurants and pubs around. If you feel the need to go into town centre there is a courtesy bus.
A return visit so always you think will it live up to expectations, we needn't have worried. Warm attentive staff who speak good English. It is kept immaculate with beautiful gardens a wonderful pool and good sized comfortable room with a great sea view. The beds are huge. Location is great outside the hustle and noise of main town, good promenade in front ideal for after dinner stroll. It is a big hotel and seemed pretty full during our stay but it still maintains a calm relaxed atmosphere. The entertainment is varied and good quality. Happy hour is great for pre dinner cocktail .
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by ACALDEIRA , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review! We hope to see you soon. best regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel was great with great people

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: location and as one above
Cons: bed had insects crawling about. not enough milks to make more than on cup of tea or coffee.
Location: location great and plenty of food places near by
nice clean hotel. staff very good and will stay there again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, helpful staff

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Had a great 2 week stay here. The staff are great and the food was fab. It would have been nice for the evening entertainment to go on longer than 11pm, that's my only gripe
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by ACALDEIRA, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay! best regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

resort hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: relaxing and very happy staff
Cons: No beach which is a bummer, but like that all on the island.
Location: Great for bus stop from airport. Far walk from downtown but doable.
nice facilities, morning breakfast was a very good
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Gorgeous gardens!

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: The hotel is just beautiful, inside and out. The gardens and view of the sea are the selling point. The rooms are spacious and comfortable.
Cons: The only thing would be to space the sun beds out a bit more, but you usually find someone who pushes theirs close up to you anyway!
Location: About a 5 minute drive from centre the of Funchal. On the main bus route so it's great to just step out of the hotel and hop on the bus.
The hotel is situated on a main road (no noise problems though) which gives great links to the main buses in to Funchal, including a courtesy bus from the hotel, and the open top tour buses. The hotel says 4 star but how it isn't a 5 star I will never know! The hotel is home to beautiful gardens, including an orchid garden, making the scenery even more beautiful. Butterflies are always flying around and it just feels like paradise. The hotel is clean and maintained thoroughly everyday, they even have Harris Hawks come everyday that fly around to scare the pigeons and seagulls away! The staff are so friendly and speak very good English, but everyone in Madeira is so friendly and helpful! Whilst in Madeira, you must do some of these things: go up the cable car and visit the botanical gardens; get the toboggan back down the hill (but get the bus back to town, not a taxi as it's expensive), visit the natural pools at Porto Moniz, hire a car and just drive around- beautiful scenery but very very steep hills. If you intend to get the bus everywhere, go to the newsagents to buy your tickets. You have like a top up card and you present it for every trip on a bus. So if you have 10 trips, you can go back and forth to Funchal 5 times. It works out much cheaper than buying on the bus and the bus driver told us this! We missed out on going on a catamaran but loads of families there told us how brilliant it was as the Dolphins swam alongside and even views of a couple of whales!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madrid

Estupendo todo

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Muy buenas instalaciones. Buena ubicación el personal amable y con una sonrisa. Limpieza por todo el hotel y buenas habitaciones y camas. Estupendo una maravilla
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Reserving sunbed policy needs a bit more enforcing! Usually managed to find one but often saw towel left on beds for ages without occupants !
Location: Courtesy bus into Funchal, plenty of good restaurants close by.
First time in madiera, hotel excellent, very clean fantastic pools and gardens. friendly hard working staff. Comfortable spacious room with views of sea pool and garden. Well equipped gym. Stayed bed and breakfast only, plenty to choose from, couldn't fault it. would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
In diesem Hotel ist vom Check-in bis zum Check-out alles stimmig. Das ideale Hotel zum Entspannen und Wohlfühlen, in äußerst angenehmer Atmosphäre. Guter Standort für Unternehmungen.
5 out of 5
by D W from Suffolk

A great place to stay

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
great welcome, super buffet style restaurant - gluten free dining no problem, great grounds and pools, excellent service
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, friendly staff, baby friendly

Posted Jun 18, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at the Porto Mare and would definitely visit again in the future. Our little toddler loved it too. Lots of facilities, close to many restaurants and shops, 30min walk from Funchal if you don't fancy taking the quick courtesy bus. no direct access to the sea but has a few swimming pools and there is a lido behind the hotel with direct access to the sea (5euro per person, kids free)...or you can go to many of the other free (rocky) beaches around. We would highly recommend Porto Mare :-)