Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Lovely hotel near to the old town

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Easy access to all of the restaurants in the old town. There is a hill but I managed it each day without problems. Lovely terrace looking out to sea
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Pleasant but room for improvement

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Lady at front desk has to learn to smile. Gentleman very pleasant.
Location: Location very good. Close to waterfront and restaurants.
Upside: very clean, close to the action. Downside: staff needs to be more pleasant, especially front desk.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Copenhagen, Denmark

Fik ikke det bookede hotelværelse!

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Det ligger i centrum.
Cons: Ja, sørg for at de ikke overbooker!
Location: Det er det eneste 4-stjernede hotel i centrum, hvor alle aktiviteterne er.
Vi blev ufrivilligt "opgraderet" til et hotel der lå mere end 1/2 time fra det oprindelige. Surt, fordi jeg netop havde booket dette hotel fordi det lå i centrum, hvor vi ønskede at bruge vores ferie. De påstod det kun lå 5 minutter væk, og at det var 5-stjernet. Som sagt kom det til at koste dyrt i taxi regninger, og kvaliteten var bestemt ikke bedre end 4-stjernet. Undrer mig over stjernetildelelsen. Har siden set flere andre anmeldelser der beretter om samme behandling. Det tyder på systematisk misbrug af overbookning af hotelgæster for at fylde de andre hoteller i gruppen "Quinta -" Kan derfor kun advare mod at booke værelse på hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toulouse

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Attention au surbooking dans cet hôtel desagrable sensation a votre arrivée le soir a 20h alors que la réservation fut faites depuis plus de 3 mois méthodes scandaleuses!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow UK

Great location in old town.

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Tea making facilities in rooms would be nice.
Great location in Old Town. Convenient for shops , buses and restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schönes Hotel in Altstadtnähe.

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: Die Lage und Freundlichkeit des Personal. Umbedingt Zimmer zum Garten bzw. Meer wählen. Balkon zum Garten.
Cons: Der Safe sollte keine Gebühren kosten und könnte etwas Größer sein.
Location: Altstadt. Essen und Trinken.
1Woche auf der Insel. 3 Tage mit dem Mietauto unterwegs den Rest in Funchual verbracht. Schöne Stadt es ist alles vorhanden. Essen, Shopping... Empfehlenswert ist die Schlittenfahrt vom Monte.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Situated perfectly in the old part of Funchal,

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Pros: Not a major chain retained it's features of an old manor house
Cons: Wifi to be extended out with lobby
Location: Location perfect for ease of access to town centre, gondola, port for excursions
Hotel was quaint, staff friendly, views spectacular and situated to access numerous wonderful restaurants and the town centre. Nice pool and lovel breakfasts.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warwickshire

Great hotel with stunning views across to the sea

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: Very helpful, friendly, attentive staff. Wonderful location close to the old town. Breakfasts and evening meals excellent. Lovely décor and comfort.
Cons: It would have been even better to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
Location: Easy walking distance to old town, historical buildings, huge choice of restaurants and bars.Cable car ride is excellent and the island tours a "must"
We had a fabulous room, which was really big, with a large bathroom and a double set of French doors leading to a large balcony. The view to the garden and across the bay was amazing. We watched the ships sail in and out from Funchal harbour each day. Although the weather was uncharacteristically wet, we still found lots to do. There was entertainment in the hotel bar a couple of nights a week, duet keyboard/vocals and classical piano. The island terrain is so varied depending on which area you are. Ideal place for walkers, gardeners and couples wanting a quiet, relaxing holiday with plenty of interesting places to visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin


Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Die Lage
Location: Sehr zentral in Funchal gelegen
nahe Altstadt mit vielen Restaurants und Geschäften. Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel sehr gut erreichbar, sehr schöner Frühstücksraum, davor ,besonders bei schönem Wetter, Terrasse mit herrlicher Aussicht aufs Meer. Keine isolierte Hotelanlage sondern eingebettet in ein Wohnviertel. Das Personal gibt gern Informationen und Tipps für Ausflüge. Schöner Garten.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: The view
Cons: Softer bed
Location: Great location in the old town; but you need to be fit to get up and down the hills
Great location with easy access to bars and restaurants