Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Mar 13, 2017
This hotel is ideally located in the Old Town area of Funchal with a huge selection of restaurants within easy walking distance. Also within walking distance are bus stops for buses to all parts of the Island as well as the cable car to Monte. We were so glad we did not pick a hotel in the "Hotel Zone" which is way away from central Funchal. Yet as it is in its own lovely grounds the hotel is completely free from the usual urban noise. The only sound we heard from our garden view room was birdsong. This might not be the case for the so called mountain view rooms which overlook a road, though not a very busy one. This hotel should be a top pick on location alone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Wonderful holiday

Posted Jan 15, 2017
This hotel is faultless. High standard of service, good location and facilities. Tremendous views over the harbours and the ocean. Can highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Lovely hotel near to the old town

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Easy access to all of the restaurants in the old town. There is a hill but I managed it each day without problems. Lovely terrace looking out to sea
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Pleasant but room for improvement

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Lady at front desk has to learn to smile. Gentleman very pleasant.
Location: Location very good. Close to waterfront and restaurants.
Upside: very clean, close to the action. Downside: staff needs to be more pleasant, especially front desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow UK

Great location in old town.

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Tea making facilities in rooms would be nice.
Great location in Old Town. Convenient for shops , buses and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from scotland

Situated perfectly in the old part of Funchal,

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Pros: Not a major chain retained it's features of an old manor house
Cons: Wifi to be extended out with lobby
Location: Location perfect for ease of access to town centre, gondola, port for excursions
Hotel was quaint, staff friendly, views spectacular and situated to access numerous wonderful restaurants and the town centre. Nice pool and lovel breakfasts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Warwickshire

Great hotel with stunning views across to the sea

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: Very helpful, friendly, attentive staff. Wonderful location close to the old town. Breakfasts and evening meals excellent. Lovely décor and comfort.
Cons: It would have been even better to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
Location: Easy walking distance to old town, historical buildings, huge choice of restaurants and bars.Cable car ride is excellent and the island tours a "must"
We had a fabulous room, which was really big, with a large bathroom and a double set of French doors leading to a large balcony. The view to the garden and across the bay was amazing. We watched the ships sail in and out from Funchal harbour each day. Although the weather was uncharacteristically wet, we still found lots to do. There was entertainment in the hotel bar a couple of nights a week, duet keyboard/vocals and classical piano. The island terrain is so varied depending on which area you are. Ideal place for walkers, gardeners and couples wanting a quiet, relaxing holiday with plenty of interesting places to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: The view
Cons: Softer bed
Location: Great location in the old town; but you need to be fit to get up and down the hills
Great location with easy access to bars and restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Beautiful hotel in the old town area

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: It used to be a private residence, so it full of character with a stunning terrazzo, pool and garden area. Not so suitable for young children.
Cons: The breakfast buffet could be better organised - not enough space for guests to help themselves at times. Also a jug of milk on each table!
Location: It's in a great location, close to the sea front, old town restaurants and bars.
We had a lovely stay in this beautiful hotel. The room was very comfortable with a balcony, from which we had fantastic views of the pool area, city, sea, harbour and any cruise ships which were berthed overnight. The staff were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Good hotel in a quiet residential area of old town

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Helpful staff who are very efficient. Lovely breakfast. The setting is pretty with a small but lush garden around it, beautiful terraces & fab views
Cons: The air conditioning is set centrally and we were chilly sometimes in our room which faced away from the sun. Shower needed refurbishment.
Location: Quiet residential area, 2 minute walk of old town & loads of restaurants. Cable car to Monte close by & museum about Madeira's history both excellent
This hotel is well situated for walking into the town and along the promenade. The restaurants in the old town are all within a few minutes walking distance. We found plenty of good food to eat locally. The locals are warm and friendly and as we were there during a quieter season, they worked hard to entice us to eat or drink in their establishments! The walk to the next village along the coast is worth doing- plenty of places to stop for coffee or or a beer along the way. We were very glad that we hadn't booked a hotel in the western end of Funchal as it is very much more built up there, mainly with large hotels. We were very lucky with the weather as we had sunshine almost every day- some days good enough to sunbather by the pool. It cools down quickly in the evening in January and you definitely need warmer clothes for the stroll to the restaurants.