Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016
The hotel was charming and it is a good hotel. But not a 5-star. It is a good 4-star hotel. Maybe for Madeira you could consider it a 4 and a half star. But it is quite nice. Staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Comfortable Hotel with a great view.

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: Spacious comfortable room. Pool. Great views of Funchal. Breakfast.
Cons: If the shuttle bus ran in the evening that would be a plus.
Location: Location is remote from the town and there is nothing much to do in the immediate vicinity. Good direct access to the expressway.
We stayed for a week in November 2015. The hotel is perched high above Funchal. We had a comfortable room with balcony and garden view. The garden is quite large and old and has some very interesting tropical and sub tropical plants. The hotel restaurant is very good if a little pricey compared to other restaurants in Funchal. Our main aim was to walk the Levadas each day in different parts of the island so we had a hire car and the hotel is very well placed for quick and easy access to the Islands expressway. The downside of the hotel location is that it is a good walk from the town centre and there are no other restaurants near the hotel. This didn't bother us as we were happy to walk down the (steep) hill to the town each night and got a taxi back (8 Euro). The hotel does run a shuttle bus to the town during the day which we used a couple of times but the bus doesnt run at night. There is also a municipal bus which costs about 2 Euro each way. We had B&B and the breakfast was really excellent quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Simo T.

Mahtava hotelli

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Ebookers
Erinomainen sijainti ja ystävällinen henkilökunta. Ravintolan tarjoilu erinomainen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

Quiet and relaxing with great service

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Pros: Quiet and relaxing with very nice grounds. Friendly and very helpful staff.
Cons: The shuttle bus down to the centre of town and back could be better. There is limited capacity and it must be booked ahead but is often full.
Location: A trade off. Far enough from the centre to be quiet, too far for an easy walk. But there is a free shuttle plus frequent cheap public buses (5min).
We enjoyed staying here very much. The location, a 5 min bus ride up the hill from the centre, is ideal if you prioritise peace and quiet and good service over being able to walk easily to restaurants etc. Breakfasts are excellent, dinners good quality but a bit limited in choice. There are plenty of restaurants in the centre anyway. Very helpful staff, giving great service. Comfortable rooms, though our bathroom could have benefitted from a refurb. WiFi throughout but sometimes a bit flaky. Far enough up the hill to be quiet, not so far as to be up in the clouds that frequently cover the tops of the hills here and must be an issue for hotels up there. Very nice gardens add to the relaxing atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kidderminster

Lovely hotel beautiful views, excellent staff.

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Pros: The service and helpfulness of ALL the staff. The size of the Quinta and the antique furniture in it make it nice and personal.
Cons: Tea & coffee facilities in room at start of hol instead of having to ask for it. TV in bar to watch sports events would make us use bar more.
Location: Location a bit out of the way but we knew that before booking so just used taxis. Big supermarket 10 mins walk from Quinta.
Had a fabulous weeks stay here recently. Room was lovely would recommend getting one with a balcony definitely worth paying the extra. Table & chairs on balcony so lovely to sit out with a drink and take in the views. Staff were helpful over every detail from booking reservations for other restaurants to bringing tea & coffee facilities to our room. Breakfast was delightful so much to pick from if you cannot find something to satisfy you then you must be the pickiest person, as there was hot & cold choices as well as different fruits every day & yogurts of all sorts. Good selection of breads on offer nothing we could want for. You need to ask for tea & coffee facilities in your room as they are not provided to start with but they will bring a tray & replenish it daily. Only stayed B&B so cannot comment on half board but we did have one A La Carte meal at the Manor House which was nice but not cheap and we found better value restaurants else where. Reids Summer buffet was fabulous only have it on a Sunday evening but worth going. Glad we did the meal at the Manor House as food was nice but once was enough. The pool is a nice size although a little bit on the cold side could do with being a bit warmer. Plenty of sun beds available with towels already put on waiting for you. Small gym but had everything we needed, good tennis court easily booked. no sports bar shame if there is a match or some sporting event on you want to watch. Courtesy bus available at set times .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant staff

Posted Aug 21, 2015
The staff make this hotel they were so friendly and accommodating. We did ask 3 times for a kettle (being British we needed tea) but was not supplied. Rooms non smoking but people smoking on balconies wafted into our room so not great for non smokers. Love cater quote a way out of town so no non hotel restraunts within walking distance but the hotel a la carte menu was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Susanne from Zürich

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
Wir waren mit der Familie eine Woche in diesem Hotel und würden sofort wieder gehen. Ein wunderbarer Garten mit Pool, sehr freundliches und hilfreiches Personal, sehr gutes Essen und sehr ruhig. Wir hatten Zimmer mit Sicht in den Garten. Sie sind sehr geräumig und sehr sauber. Die Quinta ist äusserst geschmackvoll mit vielen Antiquitäten eingerichtet. Sehr schöne Atmosphäre. im à la Carte Restaurant kann man am Abend im wunderbaren Garten draussen sitzen. Der Shuttle fährt mehrmals am Tag ins Zentrum. Taxis sind nicht teuer. Hat 5-Sterne verdient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sussex. UK

First Class Hotel Service

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Great food and first class service. Does not have a typical hotel feeling more like a large home.
Cons: Some carpets are looking a little tried but this can be considered part of the large home feeling
Location: The hotel has a well planned 8 seat bus to town between 09:30 and 18:00. Alternative 20 to 25 mins walk down to town, but a taxi back is a must.
Quinta da Bela Vista hotel is located west of and over looking Funchal. The hotel has an interior feeling of a grand home with first rate silver service during dinner and generally helpful staff. The grounds are mature and well planted, the pool and bar has pleasant surroundings, the whole experience is a plesure for mature guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Something just a bit different

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Building, staff, gardens, tennis court, courtesy bus.
Cons: Bathroom in need of an upgrade. Courtesy bus could have run later into the evening and Saturday afternoons and Sundays.
Location: Area around hotel not very nice and not pleasant to be walked around. Useful supermarket about 5 mins walk away. Funchal a bit too far/steep to walk.
Absolutely wonderful experience. A bit like going back in time, so, so civilised and relaxing.