Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wiltshire, UK

Lovely hotel.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Had a great holiday. Difficult walk to and from Funchal even for the fittest guests. Shuttle bus from the hotel covers the trip free-of-charge but finishes Saturday lunchtime until Monday morning so you will need to budget for taxi's for those days and the evenings. Staff were excellent and the a la carte food was really good. Would definitely recommend to future visitors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice quiet hotel, perfect for a few days relaxtion

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: The rooms are not the usual run of the mill hotel room, they are very comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast is excellent.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location is not that close to Funchal - you need to get a bus/taxi although the hotel does run a courtesy bus a few times a day
This was our second stay, the grounds and area of the hotel are so peaceful and relaxing for a few days winding down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Channel Islands

Old hotel with lots of character

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Lovely views over Funchal and nice outside sitting area.
Cons: Very rough tiles around the pool area made feet sore - should be upgraded.
Location: Very close to Funchal. A walkers and hikers paradise. Also boat trips for whales and dolphins. Cable car and beautiful gardens to explore.
Excellent and charming hotel, Rather quiet in the evenings although it was low season when we visited. Good food and very pleasant staff. Beautiful gardens and pool area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great food and quite location

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Good location . Grey courtesy bus service.
Hotel could do with some updating. Great staff and food . Lovely pool and pool bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very pleasant hotel. Staff informative and helpful

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: It's old-world charm and efficiency. Staff were polite and helpful
Cons: Steps into the hotel could have rails to help less able people to negotiate them more easily. Shuttle service could be extended into the early evg.
Location: Well away from the promenade so shuttle always needed. Quiet in the evenings. I don't think it is possible to walk into the town.
We had no problems during our holiday. When we asked for something from reception, it was brought along. The beds were firm, the bathroom clean and the TV channels had English speaking programmes!. On my birthday I was given a complimentary bottle of champagne which was much appreciated. The waiting staff were excellent especially in the A-La-Carte restaurant and the Pool Bar. We did not use the main restaurant. The premises were impressive with plenty to do for the active and less active.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Near London

Old world charm with modern facilities

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: The hotel offers all you would expect from a 5 star establishment all delivered in old world charm kind of way.
Cons: The improvements that have been introduced since our last visit are in the catering choices and all the better for that. No improvements required
Location: Whale and dolphin watching. Laverda walks (on level ground). Garden visits, excellent restaurants, Not a lot for young children.
Madeira is a place that reminds you of how Britain used to be (well the best bits anyway). All areas are accessible by taxi or bus. I would advise any one not to hire a car unless they have nerves of steel, roads can be very very very steep and very narrow. We have visited this hotel 7 or 8 times in the last 20 years and it continues to draw us back. It is 6 years since our last visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good breakfast

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Overall good experience, but not a 5 star standard. Sauna was very disappointing - not private as it had a glass door. Temperature was cool and the shower outside did not work. Food was good, and the breakfast was well stocked. Bacon was missing one day, but there was enough other variety for it not to matter. We had a good stay and would recommend it to others, but at a 2-3 star level only. Staff friendly, although they forgot to send my room service order to the kitchen! Food arrived 90 minutes late after I had to call again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016
The hotel was charming and it is a good hotel. But not a 5-star. It is a good 4-star hotel. Maybe for Madeira you could consider it a 4 and a half star. But it is quite nice. Staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful gardens, quiet location

Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Hotels
A pleasant hotel with beautiful gardens. Away from the Madding crowd and hence taxi's or the courtesy bus was needed. (Or a hire car - but make sure you have sat nav otherwise it's difficult to find). We stayed in the main building, but would recommend the annex, the price differential is too great for the uplift.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Comfortable Hotel with a great view.

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: Spacious comfortable room. Pool. Great views of Funchal. Breakfast.
Cons: If the shuttle bus ran in the evening that would be a plus.
Location: Location is remote from the town and there is nothing much to do in the immediate vicinity. Good direct access to the expressway.
We stayed for a week in November 2015. The hotel is perched high above Funchal. We had a comfortable room with balcony and garden view. The garden is quite large and old and has some very interesting tropical and sub tropical plants. The hotel restaurant is very good if a little pricey compared to other restaurants in Funchal. Our main aim was to walk the Levadas each day in different parts of the island so we had a hire car and the hotel is very well placed for quick and easy access to the Islands expressway. The downside of the hotel location is that it is a good walk from the town centre and there are no other restaurants near the hotel. This didn't bother us as we were happy to walk down the (steep) hill to the town each night and got a taxi back (8 Euro). The hotel does run a shuttle bus to the town during the day which we used a couple of times but the bus doesnt run at night. There is also a municipal bus which costs about 2 Euro each way. We had B&B and the breakfast was really excellent quality.