Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It just keeps getting better!

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: Staff, rooms, food, location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Located on the western edge of Funchal the hotel is a good base for walking, and is close enough to the city centre to walk in and see the sights
We stayed here in April 2015 and wanted to return this April. The hotel has expanded its operation by restoring the original manor house, and relocating the dining room there. The building that used to house the dining room is now a very convenient bar which serves appetizing snacks for those who do not want anything more substantial. The staff are just as friendly and helpful as before, the bedrooms just as luxurious and the breakfasts are 'to die for'. Will we return? Absolutely!
5 out of 5
by Michael from Arbroath

Number 1 Hotel In Funchal

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
We had a fabulous relaxing time in this amazing hotel set among beautiful gardens in a peaceful oasis just outside the centre of Funchal but still within 20 min walking distance or a short taxi ride into the centre. Lovely restaurants and bars close by if you don't want the walk into town. All the staff in the hotel were so friendly, helpful and efficient especially the welcoming breakfast staff. Breakfast was a lovely experience sitting outside in the garden with the sun shining. Premier room was first class, spacious with a nice balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens. Look no further book this hotel and you will love the calm and tranquility.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sussex UK

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Lovely hotel set in beautiful gardens,all the staff were very polite and pleasant.The location would not be to everyone's liking as it is at the top of a hill a one mile walk into town,but taxis are plentiful and are quite cheap.There are several good restaraunts close enough to walk to.Overall a very good holiday.
5 out of 5
by Helmut Z.

Sehr angenehme Atmosphere, perfekt.

Posted Mar 26, 2016 on Ebookers
Das Hotel bietet alles für einen erholsamen Urlaub. Sehr freundliches und zuvorkommendes Personal. Sehr gute Küche im eigenen Restaurant. Genügend Parkplätze im Hotelareal für Mietfahrzeuge.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

Beautiful hotel with helpful and friendly staff

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Location: Madeira is lovely- this hotel is in the capital Funchal but a little bit away from the main centre- local buses are regular , cheap and easy however .
Lovely hotel in beautiful garden surroundings-plus really well maintained gym and spa facilities- but the best aspect was the friendly and attentive service from the excellent staff- would definitely recommend. (try dinner in the linked Manor House at least once in your stay- expensive but worth it !
5 out of 5
by Annette from Carnoustie, Scotland

Ideal to relax

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel in beautiful surroundings and great location. Very comfortable and friendly attentive staff. Surprised me on my birthday which was a lovely touch. Best suited to couples.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kiel

Schönes Hotel für Liebhaber moderner Architektur

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Pros: Die Architektur und der gepflegte Park sowie die Kombination von Alt und Neu
Location: Das Hotel liegt in der Hotelzone von Funchal. viele Restaurants sind in der Nähe, die zum großen Teil auch sehr gut sind.
Wir hatten eine sehr angenehme Woche in diesem schönen Hotel inmitten eines großen, sehr gepflegten Parks mit vielen exotischen Gewächsen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Luxury hotel, in private gardens beautifully kept

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: Staff exceptional, service in the dining room to silver service standard. Particularly impressed with invitation to cocktails on first day.
Cons: A simpler meal as an alternative to the a la carte. Table d'hote only available to guests on half board.
Location: Actually quite a walk to central Funchal, but the island itself offered plenty to do. Most tours including arranged levada walks picked up from hotel.
Our first stay in Madeira, quiet rooms in low rise architect designed building, with traditional buildings in the Quinta used for dining, to a very high standard. Surroundings exceptional, far removed from the standard concrete block hotels which proliferate in the Lido and the rest of the hotel quarter.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire, England

Terrific hotel and stay

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: Location, Cleanliness, Staff for whom nothing was too much trouble, excellent pool, breakfasts etc.,
Cons: Nothing
Location: So tranquil yet plenty of restaurants nearby and a 20 minute walk to the very centre of town
Beautiful hotel is such a tranquil environment despite being in Funchal. Spotlessly clean. Food and staff superb. Can't fault it even if I wanted to.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buckinhamshire, uk

Contemporary elegance and old style service

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Perhaps vegetarian options in Casa de Quinta restaurant but otherwise nothing.
Location: Set in a quiet street which is more residential so away from the hustle bustle of the hotel zone.
We stayed at Quinta de Casa Branca for a week and wish it could have been longer. The hotel is in a series of buildings across the estate gardens and includes modern contemporary buildings with terraces or balconies with sun loungers and classic rooms in the old owner's house. the pavilion cafe serves great breakfasts with tables on a terrace which we were lucky enough to get most days. It also serves lunches, and coffee later in the day. The furnishing is of a high standard, the cleanliness is perfect and everyday there were gardeners maintaining the beautiful lush gardens. The swimming pool is heated so even on the cooler days you can have a dip without freezing and it has plenty of loungers. It is also surrounded by a bougainvillea fence so is secluded and private. The Casa de Quinta restaurant Has a great reputation for guests and visitors alike. The staff are attentive and helpful without being obtrusive. No faults at all and we hope to go back again and again!