Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Very comfortable hotel.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: The staff are superb and service excellent. The main dining room also to a very good standard. Good location yet very quiet.
Location: Easy downhill walk to Funchal with some excellent restaurants. Easy no 8 bus ride back, or plenty of taxis. Also good restaurants very close by.
This delightful hotel is close enough to the City centre yet situated in an oasis of calm; the gardens are immaculate, well laid out and very restful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Classy conversion of an historic prestigious house

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Architecture is a fantastic blend of new and old and both work together. Lower guest numbers mean a much less hurried service.
Location: A short drive to the coast where all the big, mainstream hotels and restaurants are, but drive a little further to avoid paying unnecessary premiums.
A tasteful blend of contemporary and traditional buildings, with our superior block room worth the extra money - larger and with a much better quality lounging area outside the patio doors. A nice, personal sized hotel as a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World group. Breakfast was intimate, uncrowded and orders of hot food came in seconds. The gardens are immaculate and there were ample staff everywhere throughout our stay attending both to maintaining the internal and external ambiance. Excellent service throughout; anybody else moaning in other reviews must be people who simply cannot be pleased, or who prefer to complain just for the sake of it. The gratis guest cocktail on Tuesday nights at 6pm is an example of how the hotel goes that much further than expected to ensure you have a superb experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with beautifully cared garden

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Had a most enjoyable holiday. Fantastic breakfast. Vast and well kept garden. Very friendly and attentive staff. Private and free car parking is a bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Marlow, UK

Almost perfect

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Almost everything.
Cons: Hand made crisps served in the bar are not as good as commercial ones!
Location: 30 minute walk to central Funchal. Lots of restaurants within 5 minute walk. Car hire nearby.
Very comfortable, well run hotel set in 4 acres of beautifully tenses grounds with lots of interesting trees and plants. Two heated pools. The breakfast is one of the best we have ever had. Restaurant in the old quinta house is very good. Staff all speak excellent English and are friendly and efficient. Well positioned - 30 minute walk to central Funchal but lots of restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from GB

Beautiful and quiet.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
We booked in just before Christmas. Hotel staff are exceptionally professional and lovely people. If they can help they will. Hotel grounds are stunning even in December. Communal areas are exceptional, they have tried to get that 'Quinta' feeling throughout with a modern twist. Breakfast was outstanding even for a vegetarian. Th only two things I would say need improving (and I am being picky) is the spa facilities and gym are basic and the room (garden room) although a great size is in need of some work. They lack the character that is reflected everywhere else in the hotel. If we had stayed in a 4 or 3 star we wouldn't have noticed but because everything else is so good the lack of fresh paint and character stands out in the rooms themselves. Thank you we loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Oasis of calm

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Lovely setting, small hotel feel, well located. The rooms are a little plain given the standard of the rest of the hotel. Food in the Manor House was hit and miss, some dishes excellent some decidedly not but the ambience is worth it. Housekeeping was poor in parts for this standard of hotel e.g. Dirty cups not removed from rooms , we had to do it ourselves after they had piled up for 2 days, odd considering the attention to detail with most things at the hotel. Disappointing to be told the swimming pool would be closed by a note under the door advance warning of this and some kind of compensation e.g. A complimentary drink or something would have made us feel better about it. That said the gardens were immaculate and made more a delightful peaceful stay, breakfast on the terrace outside in December makes for a lovely memory and I would definitely recommend the hotel above any others we saw .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cotswolds UK

Beautiful, stylish hotel offering top service

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Everything! Loved the design and thoughtfully furnished rooms (great to have so much storage for clothes and cases etc.). Great staff.
Cons: Nothing within the hotel itself. The one irritation when relaxing was the barking of dogs from nearby properties.
Location: Located off a fairly busy street within walking distance to the town centre (with a hill climb coming back). Good range of restaurants along the road.
We enjoyed a wonderful stay at this stylish hotel set amongst lush green gardens. Service was excellent throughout and breakfasts were superb with a fabulous variety of hot and cold options including a great bread and pastries selection. Our premium garden room was spacious, comfortable and offered a great small terrace with daybed where we could sit and relax at the end of each day. We used the spa daily (steam room, sauna and jacuzzi) which was clean and well equipped. Overall this was a relaxing oasis of calm within the busy streets of Funchal.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy reach of town.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The pleasant service from all staff. Made to feel very welcome, in fact we celebrated a birthday there and were presented with a bottle of champagne.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Located near to Funchal centre, about 20 minutes walk to shops and bars. Many walks in the hills following the levadas. Walks of varying difficulty.
Place to rest and unwind in beautiful surroundings.