Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel très confortable, un peu loin du centre.

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: La vue
Cons: La restauration. Pas de restauration vraiment simple et rapide y compris en room service où il y a par ailleurs peu de choix.
Location: Prendre un taxi ou la navette est nécessaire pour avoir accès aux activités touristiques.
La vue est très belle, attention en réservant ce n'est sans doute pas le cas de toutes les chambres. Le personnel parle correctement Français , anglais et allemand.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uk

Good hotel and accurately described.

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Quiet,food and staff in good position re views.
Cons: See above
Location: 2 Euros for bus into centre Fun challenge (7 Euros for taxi). All facilities from centre of Funchal.
Everything was good to excellent although we ate off the a la carte menu and not their normal half board offering. Only down side was at dinner where service was very moderate. Put this down to lack of staff with one member serving both the bar and also acting as a waiter. This resulted in often long wait for pre dinner drink. All members of staff nevertheless friendly and helpful. Any criticism aimed at management re staffing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

High on a mountain with good views over Funchal.

Posted May 6, 2016
Spacious clean accommodation. Quiet location gives a good nights sleep. No porters and no ramp means you have to haul your luggage up the steep twelve steps to the hotel which is not easy if you are old/infirm. Breakfast buffet ok but rather uninspiring. Nonetheless we paid £73/night with Expedia which is a bargain.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Very comfortable hotel and views are amazing.

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: Very quiet, clean and attentive staff. Out of main season but could still do with more staffing.
Cons: Staffing levels out of season. More buses to get you into town and at better times. Price in restaurant a bit cheaper.
Location: Lovely views as hotel is high up however that meant very steep hill to climb and busy road with no pavement.
Good stay but very expensive to eat there and most of the other residents seemed to be on half board so they didn't really feel the extent of it. Walking into town was a nightmare as the road outside very busy, steep and no pavements. Hotel didn't seem to offer alternative routes if there were any and the transfer bus was very occasional.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Pack your ear plugs

Posted Mar 30, 2016
The hotel room was pleasant enough - few negatives were free wi-fi in reception area but NOT in rooms despite what certain websites say, no hot drink making facilities and you are a captive audience paying hotel prices as few places in walking distance, rubbish flat pillows and a very strange glass panel in the middle of the bathroom separating the toilet but very dangerous as I bumped into it several times especially in the night. Could have coped with all that except that there was a baby in the room next door which happened to cry or scream throughout the night. Now we have had 3 children of our own so we did feel for the parents, however this was our long awaited break and after 4 consecutive nights without sleep we asked to be moved. The receptionist on duty was not entirely sympathetic and initially said there was only one other room which turned out to be unsuitable. She then found another which we took but there was no offer of help to move our things or the usual automatic apology. The room turned out to be directly below the room we had left, our relief was short lived when we discovered that the baby's fine pair of lungs could Also travel. So pack your ear plugs as they may be required. On a positive note the breakfast staff were pleasant and they left a cake in our room for my birthday - nice touch.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schöner Blick auf Funchal

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Pros: Lage und Blick, Ruhe. Shuttlebus zum Partnerhotel in der Altstadt: gut für autolose Gäste. Hilfsbereites, freundliches Personal.
Cons: Als mehr Gäste kamen war das Pers. beim Frühstück unterbesetzt. 5*? Preis-Leistung im Rest.. 1x gegessen, nie wieder. Besser in Rest. der Altstadt
Wir hatten gebucht ein DZ mit Panoramablick. Für die Lage des Hotels war es rel. ruhig. Man hörte die Hunde inder Nacht bellen und die Hühner am Morgen krähen, aber keinen Strassenlärm. Auch von anderen Gästen war nichts zu hören. Die Betten waren gut. Abends an der Bar oder in der Lobby: "tote Hose". Piano-Playerin war gut, aber ohne Zuhörer sehr trostlos. Nur die Internet-user starrten in ihre Geräte.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bei Hamburg

Wunderschöner Blick auf Funchal in ruhiger Lage.

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: Der Ausblick nach Funchal. Auch die geräumigen Zimmer.
Location: Oberhalb von Funchal. Die Autobahn ist ganz in der Nähe, sodass alle Ziehle gut zu erreichen sind.
Wir wollten ein ruhiges Hotel mit schönem Blick bei Funchal buchen. Das ist uns gelungen. Das Hotel ist sauber, und hat einen kleinen Garten. Man kann sich gut den ganzen Tag dort aufhalten. Auch das Restaurant ist exelent! Wir haben dort jeden Tag gegessen. Leider ist es zu Fuß zu weit nach Funchal; zumal die Straße keinen Fußweg hat. ein anderes Restaurant habe ich in der Nähe nicht gesehen. Es gibt aber ein kostenloses Hotel-Schuttel nach Funchal. Ein Auto ist aber sehr empfehlenswert. Man kann problemlos alle Ziehle auf Madeira erreichen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire, UK

Great hotel with amazing views i

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: The views, the room, the facilities
Cons: More frequent shuttle bus into town Less expensive dinner options may have tempted us to eat in the hotel
Location: Buzzy town with loads of attractions, restaurants and bars
Great hotel with elegant interior and fantastic views of Funchal. About 20 minutes walk from the town - not the easiest of walks because of the steep roads - some without pavements but overall really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to others.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great panoramic view of Funchal

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Remembered my wife's birthday with a bottle of champagne! Staff exceptionally nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel. Staff really friendly and helpful.

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Facilities, staff and location
Cons: Vary food in restaurant and offer a shuttle bus to town and back in the evenings, not just the day time
Location: Good local bus service. Really enjoyed the cable cars and the botanical gardens. Lots of restaurant choices in town (Funchal)
Bit of a walk to town and last shuttle bus left a bit early. Local bus service good though and staff really helpful and friendly