Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Quinta with fab views

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: It's quiet location, although on this holiday we were troubled by noisy dogs in the vicinity.
Cons: The service.Although the existing staff were friendly, capable and efficient.They simply needed more help. Hated the "musak" in reception area. Wifi
Location: Located on one of the steep hills above Funchal, but not far to walk down into the centre and onto the promenade
This is a lovely clean, comfortable Quinta overlooking Funchal and the ocean. This will be our third visit and is recommended for those needing a complete chill out. We prefer this hotel to the busier ones on the usual resort part of Funchal. Great food and service at a reasonable price. However on this occasion, we felt they just needed more staff. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey UK

Not 5* but 3.5 to 4. Small things need fixing.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Pools and sun deck. Friendly staff.
Cons: Many small things. Hotel Bus. Key card memory. Carpets cleaned. Better tea bags. No porter. etc
Location: Away from the town and no pavements. Dangerous to walk.
Hotel bus takes you to sister hotel not in the centre of town. 9AM and 11.45AM. We had to take a Taxi to town and for the return. Room service is OK but there is an 8Euro tax every time. Pools and sun deck are good and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel with beautiful sea views.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Staff.
Cons: More information about local buses and where the stops are in Funchal to get the bus back to the hotel.
Location: Either walk to Funchal on steep and narrow roads; this was not so easy. Catch a bus to Funchal or use the inexpensive taxi service or courtesy bus.
We had a great welcome from Clara at the reception. Our room was large and in good condition and the balcony had a beautiful sea view. The staff members were nice and efficient during the breakfast service and the service in the dining room was also excellent. The food was good and there was nice variety in the set dinner menus. The bathroom was good, but in my personal opinion would need modernisation, although there was nothing as such wrong with it. However, the shower curtain is too short so there was inevitable flooding of the floor; maybe a shower screen would be more efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Large comfortable clean room, excellent staff
We were happy to walk just over a mile into town and back but part of the road had no pavement and was very steep, however there is a regular bus, also there is a hotel shuttle. Lovely gardens, terraces and pool with super views over Funchal and the port. Excellent staff & good selection at breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Great hotel, views and garden. Been 7 times over many years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Overall excellence

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: Atop a number of hills, so unless you like walking up hills, get the local bus. Busses very good mind you.
Very helpful and attentive staff, peaceful, generally older clientele with no noisy children, very well appointed , good food and excellent pools / spa. Organise free minibus transfers to town and other hotels in the same Group Great gardens. Funchal in general: VERY well presented and we always felt safe walking around - even in the back streets and at night. Very good, cheap urban bus services to all areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chepstow uk

Oasis of tranquility

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: 15-20 minute walk into Funchal. Take local bus 81 to the valley of the nuns - better than a funfair ride any day!
Good sized room with generous sized bed. Good view from the balcony. However there was a Lack of care in the small details - shower curtain too short, no nonslip mat in the bath. We did not try the main restaurant - the bar snacks were more than adequate. Pleasant grounds. We found the hotel to be very relaxing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 5-star hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
A hard-working, overworked, dedicated staff. Service generally poor at breakfast and dinner due to insufficient personnel.Frayed, stained carpet,torn curtain, ripped cushion on terrace, air-conditioner that never cooled the room, a sagging mattress, no wifi in room, no porter - not exactly my idea of a 5-star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great views over Funchal.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: The views over Funchal.
Cons: Swimming pool a bit warmer.
Location: It, was about 25mins walk, down to Funchal so need to get a taxi back in the evening. The views are great, sunset and sunrise.
Pleasant hotel, good facilities, friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham

Hotel with jaw dropping views.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The room, the great breakfast and the fantastic views. Parking is free so it is a great base for your hire car.
Cons: The pool area is great but the snack and bar service during the day is a bit limited.
Location: The main city is a 20-30 minute walk away for a five euro taxi.
Stayed here for a week for a walking and sightseeing holiday. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have great views. Breakfast was included and was very good - being held on the terrace of the property which has really stunning views of the town. Staff were in generally very helpful but some of them could have been better briefed about the local area - when you ask a question a one word answer is not always what you are looking for!