Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire, UK

Great hotel with amazing views i

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: The views, the room, the facilities
Cons: More frequent shuttle bus into town Less expensive dinner options may have tempted us to eat in the hotel
Location: Buzzy town with loads of attractions, restaurants and bars
Great hotel with elegant interior and fantastic views of Funchal. About 20 minutes walk from the town - not the easiest of walks because of the steep roads - some without pavements but overall really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great panoramic view of Funchal

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Remembered my wife's birthday with a bottle of champagne! Staff exceptionally nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel. Staff really friendly and helpful.

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Facilities, staff and location
Cons: Vary food in restaurant and offer a shuttle bus to town and back in the evenings, not just the day time
Location: Good local bus service. Really enjoyed the cable cars and the botanical gardens. Lots of restaurant choices in town (Funchal)
Bit of a walk to town and last shuttle bus left a bit early. Local bus service good though and staff really helpful and friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chartres

Hôtel beneficiant d'une vue magnifique sur Funchal

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Cet hôtel a le mérite de conserver le confort et la qualité d'un 5 étoiles alors que cet hôtel existe depuis plusieurs années. La terrasse du restaurant offre une vue splendide sur la ville. Le personnel est très agréable, parle plusieurs langues et est très disponible. La décoration des chambres date un peu mais sont de grandes tailles et très propres. Le jardin est très apaisant et très bien entretenu. Le parking est suffisamment grand et l'hôtel est assez proche du centre ville. Je recommande vivement cet hôtel pour découvrir la splendide île de madeire.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

god oplevelse og en fantastisk udsigt

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels
stilfuldt hotel. ok værelse med en fantastisk udsigt. Fin og vemlig service og flotte svømmefaciliteter.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rod from winchester

Forced to move

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
We did not even get to stay at the hotel, despite a confirmation - we were effectively "forced" to move to another hotel in the countryside, about 30 minutes outside Funchal, although they did magnanimously allow us to watch teh New Year fireworks from their balcony
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sehr guter Blick auf die Stadt und den Hafen

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Der Blick auf die Stadt ist sensationell.
Cons: Der Service im Restaurant könnte aufmerksamer und schneller sein. WLAN funktioniert nur in der Lobby und der Bar.
Location: Das Hotel liegt oben am Berg. Zum Stadtkern gelangt man nur mit Fahrzeug.
Sehr nettes Personal, großzügiges Zimmer, großzügige Anlage. Essen ist in Ordnung. Frühstück könnte besser sein.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Chorleywood

Comfortable hotal with excellent views

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Good room size, with good ensuite. Very attractive pool - partly indoor and parly outdoor. Free parking.
Cons: The only negative comment is that the restaurant service (for dinner) was very slow. It was so bad that mostly we ate out.
Location: The location is off a steep hil - hence good views.
Our stay was for sightseeing and relaxation, and the hotel did not disappoint. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: no children and excellent staff
Cons: review staff numbers
Location: close to town. Few minutes drive.
We have stayed at this hotel each year, and sometimes twice a year, for some time. Wonderful place and great staff. This year we noticed that the reduction in staff numbers does compromise the quality of the visit but it will not stop us returning next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels