Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Away from it all!

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Quiet with good views and restaurants on site.
Cons: The property could use some upkeep, it is dangerously close to a 3-star property, definitely not the 4-star of Expedia or 5-star they rate themselves
Location: A good drive to get down into town. Roads to get there are challenging. The hotel is not easy to find. A car is necessary.
Quiet location, with a good, distant view of the ocean and city lights. A bit hard to find, with two rated restaurants on the property. This hotel is part of a small chain of hotels. It was rated by Expendia as a four star, they rate themselves a five star property. The property is feeling little tired, and could use a face lift, especially for the price. Internet only in the lobby area, not on pool deck and not in the rooms. Still has a Cathode Ray Tube style TV, almost an antique at this point. Our balcony had peeling paint and stucco, and the hardwood floors in the room could use refinishing. The common areas with the exception of the pool area were better, and the car park and breakfast were included in the rate. Breakfast was a high point. Probably the best breakfast we had in our week in Madiera were the two days we spent here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Like a well worn but most comfortable slipper

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Outstandingly helpful staff. Rather faded elegance but a very cosy environment. We had three outstanding meals in the restaurant (al a carte)
Cons: Shuttle more frequent and last back much later. Drivers were far too speedy!!! Wiring in room needs sorting no power unless lights were on.
Location: A great compromise between the bustle of Funchal and way out in the sticks. Good local eating Large supermarket on the
A bit of a hiccough on our first night but we were more than adequately compensated not that we would have expected them to do so. Situated in a pleasant village/small town we one could readily savour the local atmosphere. Easy access into Funchal and back on the bus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Out of town very relaxing, town easily reached. No groups of tourists, local life on your doorstep. Supermarket 3 mins away, 4 eateries, 4 pubs.
Room had balcony, decent size, which faced out to sea with lovely views. Double bed was two singles pushed together which, is really what it is, no great. Very clean although bathroom just a little tired, needing a wee touch up with paint etc, but was immaculate, so no need to complain. swimming pool was good but absolutely baltic, although once in it was bearable. good sunbeds and always lots of space, so nice to relax. Restaurant was lovely as was food.The main part of hotel is just wonderful, we sat with a couple of liquers, drinks that is not some sort of foreign persons, and took ourselves back to a life where we lived the life of that time. Lovely little room on the top floor, we had coffee on the balcony on our first night it was just so special. Staff were just great, very helpful and cheery.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Karlsruhe

Nettles Hotel mint schönen Ausblick

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Nachdem das Hotel unsere Reservierung verloren hatte und wir in einem anderen Hotel der Gruppe (Quinta do Monte) für die erste Woche hingehen müssten, haben wir trotzdem eine sehr schöne Zeit in beiden Hotel gehabt. Das Zimmer war sehr sauber auch wenn man sich an andere Standard für eine 4-5 Sterne Hotel erwarten würde. Das Preis- und Leistung-Verhältnis is trotzdem sehr gut und wir würden jeder empfehlen, dahin zu gehen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rostock

Exquisites, ruhiges Hotel in schöner Höhenlage

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Lage des Hotels, Gartenanlage, Ruhe und Entspanntheit
Cons: Überbuchung vermeiden; wir mussten für 4 Tage in das Hotel Monte ausweichen
Location: ca. 400m oberhalb des bekannten Ortes Camera dos Lobos im Ortskern des Ortes Estreito de Camera dos Lobos; Levadawanderung nach Cabo Girao, Ausflüge
Eine Quinta verspricht stets Individualität sowie architektonische und gärtnerische Besonderheiten. So auch die "Quinta do Estreito". Unser Aufenthalt entsprach in allen Belangen unseren Vorstellungen nach Ruhe und Entspannung, nach freundlichem Service und gutem Essen. Besonders das Personal ist außerordentlich freundlich, aufmerksam und hilfsbereit. Das Frühstücksbüffet ist vielfältig und wird sehr dekorativ präsentiert. Jeden Tag gibt es ofenfrisches, warmes Brot, was besonders überraschend und lecker war. Ein Hotel zum rundherum Wohlfühlen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Carino ma non un 5 stelle

Posted Aug 18, 2016
La prima sera erano in overbooking, nessuno ci ha avvisati e abbiamo dovuto dormire in un altro hotel (ammetto molto più bello di questo) piuttosto lontano e che non avremmo potuto raggiungere se non avessimo avuto la macchina. Alla reception si sono scusati ma nemmeno più di tanto, dicendo che era colpa di Expedia che non ci aveva informati e non aveva fornito i nostri contatti (mi sembra alquanto improbabile). Per il resto l'hotel è carino e accogliente ma non è assolutamente un 5 stelle: wifi solo nella hall principale, arredamenti veramente vintage (ma scarsa manutenzione), piscina vecchia e anche sporchina...colazione a buffet, ma nulla di speciale. Considerando che è anche in collina e quindi molto lontano dal mare, forse a questo punto avremmo potuto scegliere un qualsiasi hotel a Funchal ed avere, quanto meno, la comodità del mare.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

agradável, mas descentralizado.

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: do lugar
Cons: mais condução para o centro
Location: não houve atividades nas proximidades, apenas piscina.
local muito agradável, porem longe do centro, há carro 2 vezes por dia, exceto no domingo. muito pouco.
5 out of 5
by terence from SWEDEN

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely Hotel Great Pool area so quiet, Lovely room, Nice big bed. quiet. Breakfast excellent.Nice reception area good parking. Super Supermarket 3 mins from Hotel Bus service 10 mins from hotel direct to Funchal Nice staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from blackpool

Quiet and in the hills

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Professionalism and non pushy staff.
Cons: Minibar in a fridge and tea making facilities in the room. Bless them but no one but the English can make a proper brew!
Location: Hilly!
The Quinta could do with a lick of paint and new carpets but if you are able to see beyond that this place has a great deal going for it. We didn't have a car for our week there and frankly didn't did one. The Quinta has a free minibus for trips into Funchal which we used twice and saved us a fortune on taxis. Being part of Charming Hotels we were able to be transported(free) and feed at some of the other hotels in the group and I would recommend this highly to anyone considering going. The pool and sauna were good and waiter service excellent. The breakfast was both bountiful and quality. The drinking of Buck's Fizz first thing in the morning is something that I could easily acquire as a daily ritual. The Quinta is situated very close (500m) to the start of a levadar walk to a glass floored building, where we had a picnic, supplied courtesy of the supermarket opposite the Quinta. The 3 hours trek each way including a stop off at a small bar was well worth the effort and made us feel healthy. We went on an organised trip to 25 fontes arranged through reception. I really can't praise too highly the warmth and friendliness of the staff and people of The Quinta. We will return
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Comfortable and spacious hotel in pleasant gardens

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: Good location and amenities. Helpful staff.
Cons: Perhaps tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
Location: Funchal has many Museums and sights of interest. There are lots of mountain roads to explore.
Hotel is on the edge of a village with shops and restaurants within walking distance. The daily minibus service to Funchal is great, much easier than driving and trying to find parking. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and the hotel does not feel crowded even at full occupancy. There was a good choice of foods on the breakfast buffet, and service was prompt and friendly.