Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Pool, gardens, room and tortoise.
Cons: Attention to detail from staff. More service around the pool and an earlier room tidy.
Location: Need transport to Funchal centre, curtesy transport provided but having a rental car is preferable.
Beautiful, comfortable hotel. Servicing room was often later in the afternoon despite tidy room card being displayed early at breakfast time. This was poor for a hotel of this standard . Key card did not always work which meant a trek to the reception desk to rectify it. Egg orders at breakfast was a bit like "Basil Fawlty " as waiters could not seem to tie in guests to their particular order. These are all things that can be addressed and improved. Apart from these minor irritations we loved the ambiance of the property and if we returned to Funchal we would choose it to stay. The pool area is wonderful to relax, plenty of sun beds but at times guests had to put out their own sun bed mattresses.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in tranquil settting

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Great location. Clean, comfortable, modern fittings in the rooms set in a central building full of character and charm. Peaceful and relaxing
Cons: Breakfast was a bit repetitive
Location: Good eating, exploring, walking, boat trips
What a lovely hotel, located 20 minutes walk down a steep hill to the centre of Funchal and with a regular and efficient local bus service. Beautiful gardens, lovely pool area. Fantastic food in the restaurant, and live music in the bar twice a week. The staff were always available, friendly and welcoming. As for Funchal, vibrant, full of lovely restaurants and perfect for gentle strolling and exploring. The Island is beautiful, with lots to do, particularly if you like walking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent relaxing stay

Posted Aug 16, 2016
All staff were very helpful and hotel is very comfortable. Great like music a couple of nights in the cocktail bar and food was excellent, with the restaurant manager keeping everything running really well. Pool and gardens are a real highlight. We will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by peter from Bolton

Great Honeymoon Stay

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed in a Junior Suite for our honeymoon. Very spacious bedroom featuring a large comfortable four poster bed, settee, large bathroom with twin basins and over-bath shower, free fruit, tv, tea and coffee making facilities, fast wi-fi and a general air of comfort and cleanliness. Towels and sheets were replaced so frequently we lost count; the carpet seemed fairly new and immaculate. Our room had its own very private and spacious roof terrace complete with sun-loungers, table and chairs. This terrace was an absolute sun-trap overlooking the beautiful gardens with a great view out to sea. Fabulous place to sit in the evening, watching the stars, listening to some music and sipping a bottle or two of ‘fizz’. The hotel features beautiful spacious gardens to wander around and designed in such a way that you feel you are in the middle of the countryside – not a 6 Euro taxi ride from a city centre. The pool was lovely – warm water and clean, surrounded by enough sunbeds - never crowded, unlimited towels and a perfectly adequate bar area which provided a full range of drinks and snack facilities. Like all parts of this hotel the pool is hidden amongst trees and plants. Inside, the hotel was beautifully old-fashioned, totally in character, and extremely well cared for. We would agree with all the positive reviews this hotel has accrued from other visitors around its ambience, its facilities and its staff --- we could not really fault anything. Recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

First time in Madeira

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: A smaller Hotel which delivers a different calmer type of holiday with great style.
Cons: No improvement needed
Location: The hotel is located out of Funchal it is a long but manageable walk into town but is very challenging to walk back . Not much to do near hotel
We decided to visit Madeira to celebrate my husbands 60th Birthday and chose to stay at Quinta Jardins do Lago,everything about the hotel was excellent every member of staff was unfailingly helpful and went out of their way to make sure you received the highest level of service possible without being over fussy the cocktail waiter was fantastic and went to great lengths to serve a special cocktail for us on my husbands birthday, we did sample several others and were not disappointed . We used Taxis on many occasions and again the drivers were very courteous at all times. We also went on two excellent Jeep Safaris with Up Mountain Madeira drivers great content unforgettable. The Levada walks were also wonderful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

A real gem

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Quiet and peaceful set in lush grounds with lovely pool area. Cleanliness is unrivalled and staff friendly, helpful and polite. Cannot fault our few days there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from coulsdon Surrey

Comfortable and peaceful retreat

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: Very clean and well run by efficient, helpful staff
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: 1.2kms into Funchal down hill. Very steep walk back but pleasant. Pass two museums on route (excuse for a stop) Funchal pleasant and plenty to do.
Had a seven day stay in April 2016. We first stayed here some 7 years ago and nothing really had changed. This is a colonial type house with gardens that will amaze even non gardeners. There is a very nice pool that overlooks the vegetable garden and a smaller pool for young children. There is a bar and buffet service around the main pool that is run by very efficient staff.The food is top class with everything imaginable for breakfast and serviced by very attentive staff. If you choose to stay for the evening dinner you will not be disappointed either. The service, food quality and ambience is on par with any top class 5 star hotel. The room we stayed in was a superior double on floor two. Plenty of room, very clean and well serviced by efficient staff. Cannot rate this hotel highly enough. There is live music at the week ends which consists of a piano and singer so there are no rave ups. All in all a classy place that is well run and away from the crowds. 1.2km to the main town, all down hill, the walk up is quite testing and if so inclined 7 Euros by taxi or the hotel has a mini bus service that is bookable. The hotel also has a Tortoise "Colombo" that walks around its own pen and is 58 yrs. old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire UK

Delightful hotel with beautiful gardens

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Pros: The staff, the atmosphere and the gardens.
Cons: The breakfast wasn't always 5 star.
Location: Fabulous views over Funchal. The down side is that it's a 20 minute walk into town and a tough haul back up the hill ( take a taxi ).
The staff looked after us really well and spoke good English. The rooms were immaculately clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great mini break

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great pool and lunches. Helpful and friendly staff. Beautiful gardens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shropshire UK

Quite probably the best hotel we have stayed in

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Walk-in showers and a more extensive courtesy bus service
Location: Quiet location away from the concrete jungle hotel strip. Not really any attractions close by but near enough to Funchal centre and attractions
This hotel is simply excellent in every respect. It is far enough from the main hotel strip to be out of the hurly-burly but close enough to the town attractions and amenities - about five minutes by car/taxi or 30 minutes walk (although the return walk is quite steep in places and a taxi is preferable). The courtesy bus that runs during weekdays is useful. The appointments in the bedrooms and public rooms are in classic style and are superb whilst the amenities include a library, games room, gym, jacuzzi, sauna, excellent pool and very comfortable, spacious lounge etc. Considering that there are only 40 rooms the space, particularly the extensive gardens, which are as good as most botanic gardens, is quite amazing and the ratio of staff to guests is high. The food is excellent as well but what makes the hotel exceptional is the staff - they are all friendly, pleasant and helpful at all times and really cannot be faulted. Another star attraction is Colombo, the 58 year-old Galapagos tortoise who loves having his head scratched. My wife had a 'significant' birthday whilst we were there and without any input from us we were presented with glasses of champagne and a cake after dinner. Overall it is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in and we fully intend to return.