Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Lovely hotel in a good location

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: The location and the friendly helpful staff
Cons: The wifi connection didn't work the whole time I was there.
Location: It was very easy to walk to the centre of Funchal and was close to restaurants.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and the view from the rooftop was very beautiful. You do get very fit walking up and down the hill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Heidelberg, Germany

Good hotel, convenient to the Lido area of Funchal

Posted Feb 14, 2016
Pros: On site tour director, breakfast, views of ocean from room and roof, convenience to many restaurants.
Cons: Warmer hot tub. A little more parking--not too much of an issue in the off-season, but I suspect it could be a problem during busier times.
Location: Whale watching from Funchal, seaside promenade
Nice hotel, catering especially to English-speaking guests and adults. Rooms were comfortable, clean, and relatively spacious. Our balcony offered a lovely view of the ocean. A substantial breakfast was included. The hotel styles itself somewhat as a "cruise ship on land," with nightly entertainment, spa, on-site tour directors (from TUI/Thomson), etc., and largely succeeds in this endeavor. True to much of this area of Funchal, it sits on a substantial hill, so if you are badly out-of-shape or mobility impaired, getting around may be an issue. Otherwise, you are a <5 minute walk to a "levada" walking trail and numerous restaurants, and ~15 minutes walk to shopping and the Lido Promenade. Only real complaint is that the hot tub was more akin to a "tepid tub," but that is small potatoes.
5 out of 5
by George from Sevenoaks

Savoy Gardens

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable large room with good views. The only downside was a shower in the bath.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excedllent and well atisfying in all areas

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Efficient and welcoming
Cons: N/A
Location: As with any hotel anywhere in Madeira, the hills are steep and access is somewhat demanding
As above, as above and as above. What more can I say - its a great hotel - I amn unable to spend time writing reviews on hotels when I stay in them all the time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bring in the New Year in Madeira

Posted Jan 4, 2015
We have stayed in numerous hotels for both pleasure and business and can honestly say the hotel staff at Savoy Gardens was amazing. This was our first time visiting Madeira and really had no idea of what to expect. We were not surprised to find the hotel bustling with guests from various countries given the time of year. However, we were surprised at how professional, informative and pleasant all the staff were. They answered our numerous questions patiently. We would happily recommend this hotel to any friend or relative.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Twenty min walk to town. A few restaurants nearby.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: As advertised on Interet. Nothing extraordinary but meeting expectations.
Location: Town in a walking distance
At checking given first floor "garden view" room while reservation was made and paid for, more expensive, ocean view. Fortunately with one trip back to reception this was quickly corrected. Internet ok in the lobby but no connectivity in the room. Overall fair value for the price paid.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2012 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Relaxed from Reading, UK

Super roof terrace!

Posted May 17, 2012
Pros: Friendly staff,& roof terrace sun bathing area with jacuzzi on a raised platform,& choice of sunbed styles. including a canopied double one!
Cons: Husband struggled a bit with short uphill walk back from wonderful Frango da Guiia restaurant,but hey,ALL Madeira's hilly&can walk slowly&admire views
Location: Slightly outside the busy hotel zone up a hill, but local bus passes nearby&runs regularly into Funchal town or to the Forum shopping centre.
We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend here. All staff were welcoming, friendly, professional and very kind. We moved on to a different destination for the rest of our holiday in Madeira and, by mistake, I left behind some jewellery, my perfume and my Radley shopping bag in the desk drawer. I phoned reception in the evening. The following day all the forgotten items had been brought to our second destination by lunch time and given back to me. How's that for service! We loved the roof terrace sun bathing facility. This includes a choice of styles of sun beds including a canopied double sunbed, and a jacuzzi on a raised platform giving wonderful views out to sea or across Funchal. Also, there is an 'honesty' bar area stocked with drinks, including tea & coffee, packeted nibbles, sandwiches and fresh fruit and lovely seating area in which to enjoy these. Good choice at buffet style breakfast including English type back bacon 'properly' cooked! We were booked for b&b and chose to eat out in the evening, so unable to comment re dinner, but there seemed to be lots of choice on the menu as well as an additional a la carte facility if guests wanted it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Personnel au petit soin

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Personnel au petit soin, chambre et salle de bain propres et confortables, petit déjeuner bon et varié, emplacement de l'hôtel correct (20min à pied de la vieille ville ou 6min en taxi pour environ 5€, petit supermarché à 3min à pied, restaurants les plus proches à 5min à pied, arrêts de bus proches mais attention fréquence faible). Hôtel à recommander.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Excelente. Não fosse o elevado ruído sentido no quarto proveniente do funcionamento de motores de AC ou com outra finalidade qualquer. Devia ter havido, por parte do hotel, algum cuidado na atribuição do quarto, porque fomos submetidos a este ruído incómodo, não durante uma única noite, mas durante uma estadia de seis noites. Tudo o resto, com elevado destaque para todo o staff, foi excelente.