Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous views. Peaceful

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Location, views, staff and just the peace and quiet.
Cons: The shower in our room was not the best.
Location: Good for both the North and west coast and the mountains. Try the pub restaurant, Ferro Vehla in the centre of Sao Vincente.
Great hotel. Lovely location with superb views. Friendly helpful staff. Good rooms, if a little basic but you must remember this is a guest house not a five star hotel. Lovely fresh breakfast, although nothing cooked, with extensive range of local and fresh products. The hotel even encourages you to pick produce from the garden if you wish. No restaurant in the evening but plenty of places in the town. Both on the sea front and in town. Would recommend the pub bar, in the town itself. All in all this is a lovely little guest house and I would recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Nice hotel in the mountains

Posted Jul 2, 2016
We arrived 1 day late due to our flight being delayed and the hotel accommodated our cancellation of 1 night without charging us. Really very helpful and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Place to stay in the north of Madeira

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: The northern coast is very interesting. There are good restaurants to be found. It is also not far to Funchal via good roads.
We stayed for 9 nights at Solar da Bica in December. It is in a good location (provided that you have a car) close to Sao Vicente and the northern coast. It is very comfortable and the staff are wonderful. Breakfast is very good. There is a small indoor swimming pool. On the lower floor where breakfast is served there is a lounge area with free tea & coffee (espresso maker). There is a well stocked 'honesty bar', you pay your drinks bill when you check out. There is a log fire in the evening. Not really required for heating during our stay but it provided ambience. We would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Baldeep from Slough

Peaceful, Calm, Friendly, Clean!

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
Peaceful, calm, excellent Service. The staff at the hotel including the owners are amazing. Super friendly, happy to help and very accommodating. Very clean rooms. We had the apartment as there were 4 of us and it was comfortable, great size. The garden with fresh fruit and vegetables was amazing. The pool and pool area was extremely clean. Always room for us and always plenty of clean towels. Rooms were cleaned and organised daily which was nice. Out of the way of any of the towns but only a few minutes by car to Sao Vicente where there are a few decent restaurants and coffee shops which do amazing cakes. Great views into the valley and green everywhere. Perfect location to stay when visiting the island as it is pretty central to everything. I would definitely stay again. The fresh breakfast every morning in the hotel was excellent, locally produced products and home made cakes every day. okay the pillows were lumpy and the beds were firm/hard but when you are in a place like this and the staff are amazing, views are awesome, it does not really matter. DEFINITELY RECOMMEND!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peace and Quiet in Beautiful Surroundings

Posted Apr 26, 2013
Friendly, clean, wonderful surroundings on the side of a beautiful valley close to the sea. Top marks for the swimming pool and garden. Free tea coffee and cake all day and an honesty bar that was well stocked. Would certainly return and take friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hôtel plein de charme

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Très agréable séjour. Très bel environnement. Piscine chauffée très appréciable et personnel adorable et souriant. possibilité d'être autonome : bar self service, frigo dans la chambre, 2 terrasses.. . accès au jardin potager où tout est à disposition
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rheinhessen

Herzliche Gastgeber mit großem Umweltbewusstsein!

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Lokale Bioprodukte, herzliche Gastfreundlichkeit, überall kostenfreies WLAN. RUHE!
Location: 35km von Funchal entfernt, im Norden der Insel. Jeden Tag Regen (natürlich nicht 24 h), sodass wir außerhalb des Wanderns in den Süden "flüchteten".
Bei dem Solar da Bica handelt es sich um ein B & B, wobei das Frühstück (8 h bis 10 h) pro Tag 9 € pro Person kostet. Dieses besteht aus leckeren lokalen Bioprodukten, teilweise im eigenen Garten, wo man sich auch selbst bedienen darf, angebaut. Die Zimmer sind zwar klein, aber für die Bedürfnisse ein Wander-Madeira-Reise mehr als ausreichend. Möchte man mehr Platz kann man sich in das UG begeben, wo ein super schöner Gemeinschafts-Kaminraum auf einen wartet. Überall in der Unterkunft gibt es kostenfreies WLAN. Unser Badezimmer war von der Fläche her zwar groß genug, jedoch ein Mensch > 1,80 m hat Probleme aufrecht zu stehen, befindet er sich nicht gerade in der Dusche. Apropos Dusche: Warmes Wasser zum Duschen gibt es zwischen 7 h und 10 h und zwischen 17 h und 22 h angestellt ist (der Umwelt zu Liebe). Es wird aber auch darauf hingewiesen, dass man auf Nachfrage bei der Rezeption auch außerhalb dieser Zeiten "warm" duschen kann und das Warmwasser dann angestellt wird. Bzgl. der Lage muss man sagen, dass es oberhalb von Sao Viceñte in Lameiros (bestimmt ein Stadtteil ?!) liegt und mit der Ausschilderung gut zu finden ist (enge Straßen, nicht zögern, einfach durchfahren). Parkplätze für die Gäste von Solar da Bica sind ausgeschildert und direkt vor der Unterkunft. Den Swimmingpool haben wir nicht genutzt, sah aber ansprechend aus. Auf der Terrasse hat man einen super Blick über Sao Viceñte und das Gebirge. Für Wanderreisende ne gute Wahl, finden wir.