Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mats from North East, MD

Great hotel for a resonable price.

Posted Dec 27, 2015 on Hotels
Second stay at this hotel. Friendly staff. Hotel is very well kept. Good price. Excellent location with close by convenient features like restaurants, grocery store etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, quiet, great view and amenities

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Cons: The buffet dinner was not worth it. Very expensive for bland food. You are better off visiting local restaurants.
Very nice place that is quiet, with great views and lots of pools. Location is right outside of main Funchal, but there is a free shuttle and a bus that costs a couple euros that takes you right in to town. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel located close to everything

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Location, clean and spacious room.
Location: Food shopping, restaurants and local transportation.
Good hotel within a 5 minute walk to restaurants, grocery store, shopping and local transportation. Hotel offers complimentary shuttle into Funchal which is 10 minute ride away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel close to everything !

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Great great view of the ocean. air conditioning too. We also loved having a small kitchenette to store and warm up our leftovers.
Cons: the bathroom facilities were small and the showers were a bit wobbly. But that's all.
We abosolutely love the view from our room. It is a spacious air conditioned room. We appreciated the many restaurants, bars and pools on the property itself. The hotel was walking distance from most of the other restaurants and bars in the city...and it was very close to the bus station
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lowell Massachusetts

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Great hotel in the touristy Lido area of Funchal. A big plus was the ability to use the pool facilities of the Porte Mare hotel next door which was gorgeous. Eden Mar's pool is small but still nice. We had breakfast included and it was delicious with lots of options including an omelet station. One negative was the room air conditioning didn't seem to work consistently for us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breakaway

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful break away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brian from Fareham

A very satisfied customer

Posted Apr 22, 2013
Pros: The friendlyness of all the staff.
Cons: Some of the evening entertainments were very popular, which meant the area could be very full. So get there early.
Location: Madeira, for a relaxing holiday with no stress, there really is nowhere on Earth like it. Plenty of local restraunts if you don't want to eat in.
This holiday was the 5th time my wife and myself have been to the Eden Mar. We generally only go there once per year, but when the receptionist remembers you on arrival, well that says it all. Our stays have varied between one and two weeks but always have something in common, the exemplary hotel. From the very clean and comfortable rooms (with all you need for a stay), to the wonderful staff (never even the slightest hint of a problem and nothing is too much trouble, through to the food and service in the restraunts, the fully equiped gym. Tours of the the gorgeous gardens, cooking demo's, good local entertainment. There really is nothing to fault this hotel. If this is 4 star, who wants 5 star?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mermaid from Somerset, UK

Fantastic outdoor area

Posted Apr 11, 2013
Pros: A good choice of restaurants in the hotel complex, all serving excellent food.
Cons: Bathroom will soon need updating
Location: About a half hour walk to the town centre but the courtesy bus runs regularly.
We particularly liked the hotel grounds, swimming pools and gardens. They were all well maintained and there were plenty of places to sit and relax or play games.
4 out of 5
by LM from Seattle

Posted Apr 8, 2013 on Hotels
Well-equipped hotel about 30-minute walk from town. Indoor pool is big and the outdoor pools are nice, but I thought water temp was too cold in all. Also, all the pools closed at 8pm--I wish they were available later. Room was comfortable, but housekeeping started noisily cleaning all the nearby rooms at 7am, which meant our morning was not restful. Also, I really would've liked to have wireless in the room, or an actual business center. There was one old computer in the lobby, with no word processing capability and slow internet. Most staff at the desk were friendly, though the woman who checked us in was a little curt. Overall, I think it's a decent hotel, and I'd be willing to stay again since the price is pretty good for what you get.