Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, quiet, great view and amenities

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Cons: The buffet dinner was not worth it. Very expensive for bland food. You are better off visiting local restaurants.
Very nice place that is quiet, with great views and lots of pools. Location is right outside of main Funchal, but there is a free shuttle and a bus that costs a couple euros that takes you right in to town. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel located close to everything

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Location, clean and spacious room.
Location: Food shopping, restaurants and local transportation.
Good hotel within a 5 minute walk to restaurants, grocery store, shopping and local transportation. Hotel offers complimentary shuttle into Funchal which is 10 minute ride away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel close to everything !

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Great great view of the ocean. air conditioning too. We also loved having a small kitchenette to store and warm up our leftovers.
Cons: the bathroom facilities were small and the showers were a bit wobbly. But that's all.
We abosolutely love the view from our room. It is a spacious air conditioned room. We appreciated the many restaurants, bars and pools on the property itself. The hotel was walking distance from most of the other restaurants and bars in the city...and it was very close to the bus station
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lowell Massachusetts

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Great hotel in the touristy Lido area of Funchal. A big plus was the ability to use the pool facilities of the Porte Mare hotel next door which was gorgeous. Eden Mar's pool is small but still nice. We had breakfast included and it was delicious with lots of options including an omelet station. One negative was the room air conditioning didn't seem to work consistently for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brian from Fareham

A very satisfied customer

Posted Apr 22, 2013
Pros: The friendlyness of all the staff.
Cons: Some of the evening entertainments were very popular, which meant the area could be very full. So get there early.
Location: Madeira, for a relaxing holiday with no stress, there really is nowhere on Earth like it. Plenty of local restraunts if you don't want to eat in.
This holiday was the 5th time my wife and myself have been to the Eden Mar. We generally only go there once per year, but when the receptionist remembers you on arrival, well that says it all. Our stays have varied between one and two weeks but always have something in common, the exemplary hotel. From the very clean and comfortable rooms (with all you need for a stay), to the wonderful staff (never even the slightest hint of a problem and nothing is too much trouble, through to the food and service in the restraunts, the fully equiped gym. Tours of the the gorgeous gardens, cooking demo's, good local entertainment. There really is nothing to fault this hotel. If this is 4 star, who wants 5 star?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mermaid from Somerset, UK

Fantastic outdoor area

Posted Apr 11, 2013
Pros: A good choice of restaurants in the hotel complex, all serving excellent food.
Cons: Bathroom will soon need updating
Location: About a half hour walk to the town centre but the courtesy bus runs regularly.
We particularly liked the hotel grounds, swimming pools and gardens. They were all well maintained and there were plenty of places to sit and relax or play games.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from Lancashire

An excellent choice

Posted Mar 26, 2013
Pros: Calm, relaxing and very professional in all areas
Cons: Widescreen TV football in the bar in the evening... but there are other bars without it!!
A wonderful experience from beginning to end. We wrote to the hotel before arrival to ask for a room in a particular location and had a very quick response saying they would do their best to give us what we requested. On check in we found that had the perfect room, it was large, airy, spotless and with a spectacular view over the pool and grounds to the ocean. The kitchen facilities enabled us to miss the hotel breakfast and eat out on the balcony; this was facilitated by the Pingo Doce supermarket only a stones throw away. We ate well at lunch at the pool bar and had excellent food in the various hotel restaurants in the evening. Good food by any ones standards and the wines were both good and sensibly priced. There was a good choice of evening entertainment in the bars and it was not at all disturbing further afield within the hotel. Another plus was the indoor pool facility, again spotless, never crowded or noisy. The general location was such that we could walk into Funchal, a leisurely 25 minute stroll. There are several restaurants along the way all less than five minutes from the hotel. The local bus service around the area and into town was both frequent and cheap, though the hotel also provides its own shuttle service. The immediate surroundings of the hotel are such that it is a steep slope up to the main road and buses, shops etc and also down to the supermarket and main Promenade. This would be a challenge to the infirm. A great base for a holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Verity and Paul from Cambridge, UK

A friendly, comfortable hotel with charming staff

Posted Mar 22, 2013
Pros: The staff
Cons: The frequency of courtesy buses. A free airport transfer system would also be appreciated.
Location: It's about 1/2 an hour out of the town but the courtesy bus takes you there in 10 minutes.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at Eden Mar. They were extremely knowledgeable about the local area, providing us with travel information, booking our tickets and restaurant tables and looking into the weather conditions. They also allowed us to check out late on the day of our departure. Our room was spotlessly clean and it was great to have a kitchenette to cook in. Breakfast was plentiful and there was always a good variety of food on offer. When we booked the room we asked for a room with a sea view and this was exactly what we were given. It was lovely and quiet. The grounds of the hotel are very nicely kept too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KT from UK

Pleasant for first stay in Madeira

Posted Feb 24, 2013
Pros: View, garden
Cons: Indoor sports facilities were not as extensive as I had hoped and a little dated
Location: Lovely views. The neighbourhood is entirely for visitors so don't expect any local colour or restaurants.
I am happy with the staff, view, room cleanliness, evening entertainment, bathrobes and pool towels. The garden was beautiful. I was a little disappointed that we were charged to use the room safe. It wasn't the cost it was just that this felt a bit mercenary. I was also disappointed with the gym. The aerobic machines don't have TV and some of the programmes didn't work, so they were not much fun to use. The jacuzzi's were a bit on the cool side as well and I didn't have faith in the posted 34C temperature. I think the water was closer to about 27C.. Finally, I knew before I went that there was no wifi in the room but found that managing this was restrictive. I wanted to be able to be on my balcony, enjoying my great view, and use wifi to plan the next day, keep up with the world, look up some of the sights we had seen and check on business. Having to go to the bar or reception to use wifi was inconvenient and felt, rightly or wrongly, like an attempt to ask customers to order drinks to use wifi. (Note, I was recently at a resort in Vietnam and had free wifi everywhere, even on the beach.) That said, staff were helpful when we left something in the room and we may stay here if we return. We will bring some better technology to amplify, repeat or in some other way put our own wifi in the room though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jacki from London, UK

A great location!

Posted Jan 8, 2013
Pros: The view of the sunset from the hotel room
Cons: It doesn't seem to attract young generation.
Location: Fantastic location!
I knew about Eden Mar as my family stayed in Porto Mare some years ago. So, we chose EM for its location and facility. It was also nice to have a mini kitchen in the room. Overall it was a comfortable stay but I thought the decoration needed some touch-up; Paints, tiles and furniture looked a bit tired. We were there from Jan 1st to 5th. It might be such a season, but it was too quiet for us. In the hotel, we almost always found ourselves as the only family with children. No young people in sight! Some people prefer it that way, but I thought it was not really for us. Having said that, I must emphasise on its great location. Close to many restaurants, Town Centre and also easy to explore South Madeira. We had a lovely drive to 589m Cabo Girao's stunning cliff. Amazing experience!