Ratings based on 364 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Very good

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: ambience
Cons: Menu in Rose Garden - main dishes
Location: Interesting old town
Food at rose Gardencould have been more exciting given the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Amazing place to stay

Posted Feb 13, 2017
I stayed at The Cliff Bay hotel with my friends for a long weekend. The hotel is so beautiful that the pictures don't do justice. The hotel has amazing gardens with lots of plants, flowers, pools, jacuzzi that invite you to relax. It is in a very good location, just 15 min walk to the centre. Staff is very polite, welcoming and attentive to details which make you feel special. As I was celebrating my birthday during that weekend, I received from the hotel a nice bottle of champagne and a chocolate cake. That was so unexpected and was very much appreciated. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Everything about the Cliff Bay is classic and well organised. Food is of a high quality particularly breakfast. Spa facilities are wonderful too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sevenoaks Kent U.K.

Nice hotel close to the capital

Posted Jan 3, 2017
This hotel is great about a 15-20 min walk down to capital or there is a hotel free bus service. Great place to stay nice spa and Pools good is of a good standard. Hotel does have a 5 star rating that is maintained to a high standard, would have no issues recommending it to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dorset, UK

Long weekend to celebrate a special birthday

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Location, facilities.
Cons: Little bit too quick to take your plate! We're not used to such service...
Location: Short walk down to Funchal.
We've not been to Madeira before and selected this hotel fairly randomly for a long weekend away. Glad we did; it's a really nice hotel, great position and basically just right. Even in December the weather is warm enough to sit outside (though we didn't try the seawater pool!). It rained a bit; but that's to be expected. So; location: brill views (we got a harbour view room that was also a sea view - because it was the end room! You can walk down to town (takes 1/2 hour I guess) but it's up-hill on the return journey! (Madeira is hilly...). We had the breakfast (Rose Garden) and one meal in the hotel (Rose Garden again, buffet). We eat out in town, that was easy and great fun. We rode the cable-car and took a jeep "safari". Altogether a brill weekend; worth the money and certainly a treat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halstead

Luxurious and friendly

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: The spa facilities - well set up, free to use and relaxing. The staff were the best of Madeira, friendly and helpful. Sea access - bonus!
Cons: No, this is ideal
Location: Funchal! Day trips from the hotel around Madeira every day, including levada walks and halfway round the island tours. The cable car and gardens.
A luxury hotel that treats its customers with a friendly and helpful manner is rare, but The Cliff Bay has managed it. I chose it for its spa facilities and the access to the sea at the very lowest level of the hotel grounds, but the rest of the hotel lived up to the promise of a relaxing place to stay. From the quiet lounges to the gardens to the sea-view decks of sunloungers at various levels, this was excellence. The spa facilities were quiet, very relaxing and open to free use without booking. Their reaction to my husband's special birthday falling during the week of our stay was outstanding, but I think that even a 'standard' stay at this place will leave you with special memories. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newbury

Always a treat to return for another stay

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Our fourth visit. As always staff are charming and helpful. Rooms spacious and comfortable, good facilities, fantastic breakfasts and all food and drink good quality. We will be back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Dec 3, 2016
This was our first stay and we found the hotel excellent in every way. Efficient, yet friendly, staff, wonderful food and stunning location. Can recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great location and facilities

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Everything! There was nothing to complain about.
Cons: Everything was superlative. This was our 3rd visit!
Location: On the coast and within easy walking distance of many bars and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top quality Hotel and service in Funchal

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
We had a fantastic stay at the cliffs Bay. The hotel is in a beautiful setting, the staff are friendly, and the outside space is excellent . spa treatments are great, and the Gallo Doro restaurant is an excellent place for food and service