Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Really lovely hotel, with fantastic views and well situated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A great hotel on top of the cliffs

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: EveryThing it was perfect
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to Funchal
Our first time on Madeira ans the Cliff Bay lived up to all the recommendations from friends. A great choice of restaraunts with good choices of food, all well prepared and presented. The two swimming pools were never overcrowded and we always found a sun bed and shades.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Fabulous hotel from start to finish!

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Can't fault a thing! Maybe drinks and food a bit pricey but they deserve to charge a premium and there are plenty of options for eating out close by if you choose to!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Great time in all

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Secluded, quiet, clean, great location, stunning views, friendly staff
Cons: evening entertainment could have been a bit more lively and gone on a bit later
Location: Basket ride after the cable car from the old town in Funchal. Cristiano Ronaldo museum. Excellent restaurants all reasonably priced.
Very friendly hotel, nice and peaceful, good location to local shops, bars & restaurants...would definitely consider a return visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

keine Enttäuschung sondern sehr positiv überrascht

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Das Gesamtpaket an Freundlichkeit und Professionalität.
Cons: Nein.
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich ganz am Anfang zur Hotel-"Meile", der Estrada Monumental. In die Stadt sind es zu Fuß ca 10-15 Minuten.
Nachdem man immer wieder von gefakten Bewertungen zu Hotels liest, waren wir eher vorsichtig und wollten kaum glauben, was zu diesem Hotel zu finden war. Wir wurden jedoch sehr angenehm überrascht. Das Hotel hat wirklich den 5. Stern (aus unserer Sicht) verdient. Das Personal war wirklich sehr freundlich und hat immer geholfen, wenn es besondere Wünsche gab. Wir würden sofort wiederkommen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Great If we want spend same time out the hotel we have ti choose other one Because this one keep us inside
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scunthorpe

Posted Aug 5, 2015
A lovely friendly hotel. A warm welcome at check in with a glass of wine waiting. Received a free upgrade to suite with sea view, which was amazing. All staff were very friendlyand attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Had breakfast outside every morning, never had to wait for a table, food excellent. Always able to get a sun lounger, anytime of the day. All in all a brilliant hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Great location..friendly staffs..only let doan was the food!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Anniversary Break

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: This hotel has no negatives, the staff were superb and made the say so exceptional.
Cons: Not a lot, but we thought the evening entertainment was nothing exceptional, but this did not detract from the overall stay.
Location: Rverthing waswithin reach either by a short walk or taxi ride. Hotel to aiport is about 25 minutes.
My wife and I plus two ther friends spent a week at the Cliff Bay to celebrate our 40th anniversary. The hotel was a perfect choice, beautiful setting with staff who knew how to look after there guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from York

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: The style, location, quality
Cons: Nothing
Location: Funchal is a lovely city, The teleferique is fab and the gardens at Monte and The Botanic are well worth a visit.
We spent a week at The Cliff Bay and loved every minute of it! Great location, ambiance and everything you could possibly need. The breakfasts are excellent, buffet style with tons of choice and Champagne included!