Ratings based on 391 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey, Channel Islands

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: The courtesy Bus that runs throughout the day could perhaps do a couple of runs in the evening. Old town and Marina lovely but a long walk back uphill
Location: Lots of hotels in this area, so plenty of places to dine within about 1/4 mile radius
Totally 5* Staff were friendly and efficient, room views fabulous, dining very good with Il Gallo D'oro being the cherry on top, a must for foodies. Fab Spa facilities the treatments were excellent, have a mindfulness massage for total chill out amazing !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Spectacular Vacation Spot

Posted Jun 24, 2017
We loved our stay. The staff was attentive, the rooms were spacious and comfortable and the views were spectacular. We loved relaxing by the pool and enjoying the spa. Everything was perfect. We can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northants

Lovely hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Excellent room overlooking the bay. Very friendly and helpful staff
Cons: A little less push on the many trips suggested.
Location: Nice location far enough from Funchal for it to be very peaceful yet close enough to walk in if you wanted to.
Just got back from 5 nights here. Lovely room, plenty of space, well appointed. Great choice of places to relax. Excellent spa facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxford

Beautiful hotel in great location

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Great hotel with excellent facilities. Lovely pools and access to the sea. The staff were fantastic ... very helpful and welcoming. Rooms are very comfortable with everything you need and kept very clean. The hotel is a great place to eat and drink but also only a 15-20 minute stroll to to Funchal centre. I highly recommend it and look forward to returning soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from kent, england

Top class hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Staff and cleanliness
Cons: Nothing
Location: Ideally situated for Funchal and only 25 mins drive from the airport
An excellent hotel particularly for mature adults. Every member of staff made time to answer any questions and it seemed that their only goal was to ensure our stay with them was as rewarding as possible. Although the hotel food was very good there are also many restaurants within easy walking distance. Funchal town centre is only 15 mins walk with all the little side streets and local craft shops
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Perfect holiday

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Staff were friendly, very helpful and the atmosphere was relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lisbon

The best hotel in Europe

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Everything, this is a magical place in a beautiful island!
Cons: Nothing...
Location: Perfect location, near to the Funchal Citi Center
When we appreciate customer experience that can goes extra mile, The Cliff Bay goes even further... It's a perfect place for honeymoon, holidays and special occasions. The hotel views, facilities, staff, food, everything there is so amazing. We had a such memorable honeymoon in The Cliff Bay Hotel :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

TOP CLASS HOTEL IN EVERY WAY

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: EVERY THING
Cons: NOT A LOT
Location: WE WERE THERE FOR A REST AND RELAXATION
VERY COMFORTABLE DELIGHTFUL SCENERY BACKED UP WITH STAFF WHO LOOKED AFTER THE CUSTOMER
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

This is what 5* should be.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
This really is a relaxing and elegant hotel. Its location for sea and harbour views is exceptional . We were looking for a relaxing break and we got that from the Cliff Bay. The rooms and facilities were large,superbly finished and extremely clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. We found the location fine if you liked to walk into town, but far enough away from the centre to feel peaceful and calming. The courtesy bus provided ran regularly too. Ideal for couples who want to unwind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Wonderful relaxing break

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Excellent hotel in beautiful location . The grounds are impeccably maintained , staff friendly smily and efficient . The breakfast was incredible