Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

corridor caroets

Posted Apr 27, 2017
All corridor carpets very badly stained should all be replaced let's the hotel down
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Great Hotel close to plenty of restaurants

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Room was good & clean. Staff friendly.
Cons: Showers could be improved by finding an alternative to shower curtains.
Location: Great location, with plenty of good restaurants, and eating establishments in local area offering varied menu's at very reasonable prices
Service excellent, staff friendly and helpful, especially with local tourist information. Great location, with plenty of good restaurants in local area offering varied menu's at very reasonable prices. Breakfast was an excellent buffet with plenty of choices of hot & cold food. Will definitely book this hotel again next time we visit Madeira
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfectly situated hotel near lido

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing staff at hotel couldn't do enough for us, excellent breakfast, room clean and spacious with excellent views of sunrise and sunset over the sea. Left complimentary fruit platter and champagne on my wife's birthday even though we had not mentioned the fact. Would definitely return felt very comfortable and at ease.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Mid range Funchal hotel, well located tourist area

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Location: Close to everything needed for eating/drinking
OK location Parking included at adjacent car park Very nice staff, just not enough of them - often the bar in the hotel was unmanned - I waited 15 minutes before giving it up as a bad job! The same with the pool bar, you couldn't get a drink or towels without phoning through and then waiting for someone to come UP. Great breakfast included - buffet style, good quality and well presented. Nice room included fridge which is very useful although not the comfiest beds
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from staffordshire

Not a Four Star hotel, 3 at best and shabby

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff always pleasant and ready to offer assistance. We were there on husband' birthday and a bottle of bubbly in a bucket of ice was left in room for us which was a nice touch. Maid service was very good and always clean rooms. Breakfast nice enough but limited choice and only small dining room so when hotel is busy can be bit of "bun fight".
Cons: Pillows were awful too small and uncomfortable. Breakfast choice of items could be better. Corridor carpets very badly stained and dirty. Gym is tiny shouldn't really be classed as a gymnasium and there was no indoor pool.
Location: Great location close enough to walk into city center, shopping, Lido/seafront areas and in easy reach of some great restaurants, buses, taxis.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Convenient for facilities

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: Close to all the restaurants etc in the Lido area and a quite atmosphere.
Cons: The bar could be more welcoming since it is just an area off the reception and does not attract business.
Location: The Lido area is just full of excellent restaurants and the new refurbished Lido facility looks great. It is easy to get into the main town on the exc
We were a day late arriving at the hotel due to high winds preventing landing but the hotel kept the room and made sure we were comfortable; in fact , we were upgraded to a better room. The room was excellent with a huge terrace facing the sea.
5 out of 5
by John from Scotland

Friendly, courteous and professional.

Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Hotels
From the first day to the last we were treated like royalty. the staff were friendly, courteous and very professional. For example, we asked for a kettle for our room and within 2 minutes it was delivered. Without any prompting they presented my wife with a lovely bottle of champagne as it was her birthday a few days after we arrived. Someone must have noticed her date of birth when we handed over our passports at check in. Like I said earlier, very professional.
5 out of 5
by Ray from Alvor

Exceeded expectations

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
Last minute break to Madeira found us in this inexpensive hotel. ExpectAtions were not high but the Lince exceeded them by the bucket load. Efficient friendly staff were on hand 24 hours a day. Room was spotless, bright and modern. Breakfast was first class with loads of choice from continental through to hot full breakfasts. Roof top pool afforded view over neighborhood. Shops and restaurants all on doorstep
5 out of 5
by Jack from Curry Rivel Somerset

Excellent Hotel in ideal location

Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels
The rooms at this hotel are clean spacious and comfortable the staff are friendly and helpful a good selection for breakfast location is excellent for town centre an easy 25 minute walk or the bus stop just across the road. This was our third stay at this Hotel and will most certainly return again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well situated within 30 minutes of Funchal center

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Cons: Furnishings upgrade and decent TV screen
Many shops and restaurants nearby and on doorstep of hop on hop off tour bus as well as within 30 minute walk of center of Funchal. Hotel staff very good and multilingual. Furnishings looking a little tired and TV screen poor but otherwise perfectly clean and satisfactory.