Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unpersönliches Stadthotel

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Das Hotel wird dem Anspruch eines 5-Sterne Hotels leider nicht gerecht. Der Service ist in Ordnung, aber sehr unpersönlich, z. B. wird man beim Passieren der Rezeption als Gast fast nie gegrüßt. Das Frühstück könnte abwechslungsreicher sein. Die Bar auf dem Dach des Hotels ist nur selten offen, ebenso die Terrasse zum Frühstücken (da man diese scheinbar vorher nicht trocken wischen möchte).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

Nice hotel in the city, very trendy and chic

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Good experience. Nice little weekend trip and great location of the hotel to see the sights
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Room was great , we arrived on my husband birthday and the hotel sent a bottle of champagne and cake which was a lovely surprise thanks again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

5* disappointed

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: Modernistic and very dark and depressing.
Location: Right in centre, near to promenade and bus connections, especially hop on hop off buses. Some good restaurants nearby.
First thing going for this hotel is it's location in the centre of town. For us it was not upto 5* standard because it was very ultra modern. Throughout the whole hotel,especially the room floors far to dark. At times difficult to find room key point. Room facilities very modern, but lighting control could be awkward at times, no separate switches for bathroom or wc room. Floors concreted with inset stones, looks fine but not practical and very open plan.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

De Vine

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: The modern design, bedroom was awesome the views from the pool top over Funchal
Cons: Nothing
Location: 5 min walk to harbour area and 15 mins to cable car and old town
booked this as a special occasion as was not disappointed. The room was fantastic and loved the design huge bath that 2 can fit in, the shower room was awesome with the water fall shower. The roof top pool area had great views across Funchal all within a 5 min walk to the marina and harbour area. We had a meal in the restaurant with good service and great food and loved the fillet steak. Breakfast you have a large choice to choose from and liked the idea of having a glass of fizz, good start to the day. To all the management and staff of The Vine we would like to say Obrigado To all the staff we met during our visit you should be proud of yourselves and the hotel facilities you provide Room Tip: deluxe prestige or Junior suite (we were upgraded when we arrived)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gloucester

Nice Hotel with good location.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
The room was ok although the wc was a cubicle not very private. The Sat TV did not have many UK Channels no Sky TV channels at all. No Tea or Coffee available in the room. Breakfast was pretty good although no Egg Bar for Omlettes Etc.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Extremely nice Hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Very welcoming staff, great breakfast. Comfortable beds, reasonable room space. Nice aminities. Stayed in room 405, with a small balcony with a view of the port. There was some noise from a loose grill on the street below every time a car went by - no fault of the hotel but something which the local council should fix.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maidstone

Top notch hotel design in prime central location

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Cons: Some of the woven cords holding the settees together on the Terrace were starting to look frayed. But this is a very minor.
Very interesting designer hotel. Lovely central location in Funchal with an easy walk 5-10 minutes to the Promenade or a 20-25 minute stroll to the Rua de Santa Maria for restaurants. We chose not to eat in the hotel but the menu choices looked good. The roof terrace with swimming pool and jacuzzi was often very busy but the bar staff were excellent. Indeed all staff were very helpful and courteous. Thank you to all! The hotel decor is based on the four seasons of the year. Our floor was "Spring" ; the walls were painted an aubergine colour with black pebble flooring in the corridors and this continued into our room so everywhere seemed very dark. I personally prefer a separate bathroom instead of the washbasin area being part of the main room. However, this is simply my taste and not a criticism. The hotel design is unusual, very different and has won several awards. I would stay at The Vine again and we have already been recommending it to friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Really nice relaxed atmosphere.

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Really good position. Very good facilities. Had a great relaxing feel.
Location: Short walk to the old town and all the restaurants. Very close to the harbour and the cable car.
Stayed for 5 nights. Had booked a grand deluxe room but were upgraded on check in. The junior suite was very big, clean and modern with good facilities. The only disappointment was not having a nice view. The pool on the roof with Jacuzzi, great views of the hills and the bay, good quality sun loungers and a great cocktail bar was just perfect. The breakfasts were very good and the restaurant quality was also very good. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. It just would have been that much better if some of the staff remembered our names.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels