Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, UK

Centrally located... in a shopping centre

Posted Aug 23, 2016
The first thing to say is that this hotel is the 2nd to 5th floors on top of a shopping centre. The staff were all very friendly, however, our room on the 2nd floor which was an upgraded Junior Suite (we had booked a double prestige) was a little noisey from outside traffic and voices from the street. I asked to be moved but was told they were fully booked. That was the last I heard about being offered a new room. Nothing else said. Thankfully brought earplugs. I was quite disappointed with this given the amount we paid for a weeks stay. Good points. Huge comfy bed, air con, free (small) minibar, acqua Di parma toiletries, good happy hours (yes two) at the bar, great shower, breakfast good. Staff all very pleas too. Never ate in the hotel as there are quite a lot of decent places close by and the hotel restaurant was pricey. Would recommend visiting Boho Bistro right outside hotel for dinner and a small outdoor cafe open during the day for a quick lunch or drink.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pont de l arche

Très bon hôtel

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Placé en plein centre de funchal idéal pour tout : visite du centre et découverte de l ile via les bus ou en side car. Très calme. Beaucoup de restaurants pas chers à proximité.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Muy bien

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Ha estado muy, el sericio muy amable. Todo muy limpio.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tolles aber leider hellhöriges Stadt-Hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Vorteile: gute Lage, sehr guter Service, freundliches Personal, sehr schöne Dachterrasse mit beheizten Pools, Cocktails nicht überteuert Nachteile: ist ist hellhörig: sowohl die Straße als auch die zufallenden Türen der Zimmernachbarn sind zu hören und stören.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from faringdon

Good hotel in the heart of funchal

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Clean quiet hotel above the Vie shopping centre. Good roof terrace with pools and a bar. 10 mins walk into the centre of Funchal and 5 mins walk from the harbour. The staff are attentive and courteous.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worcester,UK.

Great location in the centre of the town.

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: The location in the town centre was the main attraction with a nice roof terrace and pool, breakfast also top notch.
Cons: The room we had was very dark even with the lights on,I couldn't see to shave as it was so dark and the mirror was set back,switches are just annoying
Location: Being central in the town every restaurant and bar is an easy stroll away,also the promenade and chair lift up to the monte and gardens.
Loved the hotel location,a short walk to all the towns attractions and the promenade.Still quiet at night with no loud traffic noise,the hotel is also located over a new shopping mall which is very useful . Breakfast was very good with a good choice and very attentive waiters,we ate out in the town for other meals so couldn't comment on the lunch and dinners. Do visit the tropical and botanical gardens,you can use the local bus or the chairlift and both do ticket packages which save money.Do not bother with the trip to the Nuns valley , they just dump you at a cafe in a unpleasant village located in a valley.Do go on a trip to the other side of the island, wonderful views in the mountains,the roads are quite high up so not for the nervous traveller.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from franlfurt, De

Chic boutique hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Centrally located in Funchal with high tech features - everything is with a push of a button for convenience: lights, black out curtains etc. very tastefully decorated where form meets function. Sits atop an upscale mall in a very secure neighborhood. Don't forget to make reservations at Uva restaurant and make sure to book the table with a view. A wide selection in the breakfast buffet. Everything is superb!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Unusual hotel with its modern architecture

Posted May 10, 2016
Location: Great location
Great bed and bedding. Too dark and not enough daylight. A 5 star hotel should offer water, fruit and tea and coffee making facilities. This lets the hotel down badly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Flintshire

A great trendy hotel, in a super central location

Posted May 2, 2016
The staff couldn't do enough, really helpful. Rooms were lovely,extremely trendy and modern. Beautiful bedding and black out blinds meant a fabulous nights sleep. Roof top pool and bar topped the cherry!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great location, beautiful hotel!

Posted Apr 24, 2016
We had a fantastic stay at the vine, the room was beautiful with great facilities. The only area we felt let the hotel down a little was the service we received at the bar and at breakfast the staff always seemed uninterested and not very happy to be there. I have worked in 5* London hotels for over 10 years and I think that staff morale at the hotel should be looked at. Housekeeping and Recption staff were always very helpful. We felt that for a 5* hotel an iron and ironing board should have been provided in the room, as well as a kettle and tea and coffee making facilities, we could have a kettle but were told we would have to pay for tea and coffee sachets, not really what you would expect from a 5* hotel. We were quite shocked that we had to request an iron board every time we wanted to use it. That aside overall we had a lovely stay at the Vine.