Ratings based on 417 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

modern clean hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: staff all very friendly and efficient
Cons: food cold at times, not a huge variety. enjoyed Italian restaurant. wouldn.t say food in hotel was 5 star
Location: 30 minutes from funchal however nice walk the other way along the prom.
had a lovely holiday, although weather warm but mostly cloudy. had a room on 7th floor with lovely views over the bay. room comfortable although mattress protector appeared to be waterproof which made it very warm. hotel is very minimalistic, with only one inside bar area, which offered evening live music. Funchal is probably about a 30 minute walk away with a couple of hills. overall had a lovely relaxing holiday
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stunning hotel with an amazing view

Posted Jun 4, 2017
We were upgraded on arrival for free to a junior suite with sea view. We had a birthday whilst there and the hotel sent up a cake and bottle to celebrate. The staff couldn't do more to help and paid special attention to my little boy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham uk

worth every penny

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Great hotel & staff,my only gripe would be the pool as it was freezing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Didn't disappoint

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: A walk from centre of Funchal but nice to be in a quieter location
Cons: Can't think of a thing!
Location: Lots of tour operators around to book full or half day trips or can do via hotel. Prices same everywhere but beware time share touts on way into town
Second time at the Vidamar and still a great experience. Very good facilities, friendly helpful staff and excellent room with amazing view. Will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Dine around concept
Cons: Buffet
Location: Good
Good hotel friendly staff cccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccc rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster

First Class Hotel in a great location

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: The friendly, helpful staff. The location within a 20 minute walk of Funchal and the wonderful view.
Cons: Breakfast was just ok, there were so many people around the food it did put us off a bit. Not sure how you improve this is such a large hotel.
Location: Walk into Funchal, through the lovely park near Reid's Palace. Definitely do the hop on, hop off open top bus, great way to see your surroundings.
Lovely welcome form the staff on arrival. Room on the 5th floor with beautiful views and so much room, not the usual pokey double! We had the the half board- dine around, meaning you could have 15€ per person towards A la Carte in the other 3 restaurants. We ate at the Italian twice, it was so good, not just pizza or pasta, delicious fish and steak too. We were lucky to have gorgeous sunny weather and sunbathed around the pool later on in the day, plenty of beds and soft towels. We would definitely return, the standards are very high.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good choice @Madeira

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Good points: Nice hotel, wide selection of restaurants, good concierge/guest support services, best location, swimming pools. Points to improve: In the night there was an unpleasant noise in our room ( not sure from where) some people may find it very annoying and needs to be checked. Swimming pool could have more trees / shades to look (even) better. Access to the see and use of the piers could be improved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northants

Nice hotel with the sound of the sea.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Nice clean, large hotel, high ceilings, modern minimalistic kind of hotel. Food good, staff very helpful. Three pools outside and one inside. Garden
Location: A great supermarket across from the hotel which served great coffee and cold beer and wine from their fridge.
Lobby was busy but the staff were efficient. Porter took our hired car to the free car park but didn't tell us where he had parked it or indeed where the car park was - apart from that we were very pleased with our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fabulous hotel with amazing views.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Wonderful holiday in a beautiful place. We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary here and it proved to be a great choice. Very large room with sea view, really comfortable. Fantastic sea water pools, relaxing spa facilities, delicious breakfast outside every morning with lovely view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels