Ratings based on 413 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stunning hotel with an amazing view

Posted Jun 4, 2017
We were upgraded on arrival for free to a junior suite with sea view. We had a birthday whilst there and the hotel sent up a cake and bottle to celebrate. The staff couldn't do more to help and paid special attention to my little boy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham uk

worth every penny

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Great hotel & staff,my only gripe would be the pool as it was freezing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Didn't disappoint

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: A walk from centre of Funchal but nice to be in a quieter location
Cons: Can't think of a thing!
Location: Lots of tour operators around to book full or half day trips or can do via hotel. Prices same everywhere but beware time share touts on way into town
Second time at the Vidamar and still a great experience. Very good facilities, friendly helpful staff and excellent room with amazing view. Will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Dine around concept
Cons: Buffet
Location: Good
Good hotel friendly staff cccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccc rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster

First Class Hotel in a great location

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: The friendly, helpful staff. The location within a 20 minute walk of Funchal and the wonderful view.
Cons: Breakfast was just ok, there were so many people around the food it did put us off a bit. Not sure how you improve this is such a large hotel.
Location: Walk into Funchal, through the lovely park near Reid's Palace. Definitely do the hop on, hop off open top bus, great way to see your surroundings.
Lovely welcome form the staff on arrival. Room on the 5th floor with beautiful views and so much room, not the usual pokey double! We had the the half board- dine around, meaning you could have 15€ per person towards A la Carte in the other 3 restaurants. We ate at the Italian twice, it was so good, not just pizza or pasta, delicious fish and steak too. We were lucky to have gorgeous sunny weather and sunbathed around the pool later on in the day, plenty of beds and soft towels. We would definitely return, the standards are very high.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good choice @Madeira

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Good points: Nice hotel, wide selection of restaurants, good concierge/guest support services, best location, swimming pools. Points to improve: In the night there was an unpleasant noise in our room ( not sure from where) some people may find it very annoying and needs to be checked. Swimming pool could have more trees / shades to look (even) better. Access to the see and use of the piers could be improved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northants

Nice hotel with the sound of the sea.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Nice clean, large hotel, high ceilings, modern minimalistic kind of hotel. Food good, staff very helpful. Three pools outside and one inside. Garden
Location: A great supermarket across from the hotel which served great coffee and cold beer and wine from their fridge.
Lobby was busy but the staff were efficient. Porter took our hired car to the free car park but didn't tell us where he had parked it or indeed where the car park was - apart from that we were very pleased with our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fabulous hotel with amazing views.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Wonderful holiday in a beautiful place. We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary here and it proved to be a great choice. Very large room with sea view, really comfortable. Fantastic sea water pools, relaxing spa facilities, delicious breakfast outside every morning with lovely view.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

A genuine 5* hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Location, service, amenities, cleanliness
Cons: Insist on dress code at dinner. No shorts/ flipflops etc
Location: Excellent location. Several restaurants nearby , shops, bars etc. bus stops outside,
The Vidamar more than met expectation. We knew the location was good---i.e. walking distance into old town of Funchal -- as we have stayed in this area before. However, the Vidamar, was by far a superior hotel. We were welcomed warmly by staff, and that set the trend for the week. The food was exceptional, with so much to choose from. The main buffet restaurant, was well organised with dishes being refiled continuously,and the other optional restaurants we used were very good too. We particularly enjoyed the Portuguese restaurant, where entertainment is also provided. There is entertainment in the bar nightly which is very popular , and the prices of drinks are reasonable. We noticed several guests wearing wrist bands , so we assume hotel offers all inclusive. Pools are well maintained, attendants on hand at all times. Huge bedrooms, more like suites, and soundproofing in bedrooms excellent. No noise from outside!! It was a special birthday for my husband , and the hotel surprised us with a birthday cake and champagne in our room. It would be very difficult to find fault with this hotel, my only disappointment was that some guests wore shorts/ flipflops/ tshirts in the dining room,in the evening, which detracted from the 5* rating.. The hotel should insist on a dress code for evenings.