Ratings based on 384 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel with sea views and comfortable rooms

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Fabulous sea views, very comfortable rooms and friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: It is in the area where there are lots of other 5* hotels, shops, restaurants, bars and tour agents where you can book excursions.
The half board food was excellent with variations each night. In the morning, the buffet breakfast had a really wide choice. The hotel has beautiful gardens facing the sea. Excellent sea views. We really enjoyed our stay in the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moscow, Russia

Hotel with good concept but poor execution

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: huge and clean territory, fast check-in and check out, wonderful view of the ocean from the rooms, location Cons: shabby look, lack of staff, main 'Ocean' restaurant with atmosphere of busy rail station, wifi
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Cliff edge hotel with uninterrupted views of sea

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Quiet, clean, minimalist and spacious look
Cons: Tiles replaced in Aquatronic pool, and the pool edge repainted.
Location: Location good, walking to town approx 1 mile, taxi about €6. Well designed so rooms have good view of sea. Shops, restaurants, Lido, Reids all close
Quiet, clean, spacious hotel. Great choice of cocktails at reasonable prices, in fact we thought all drinks and lunchtime sandwiches good value for money. Staff always polite and helpful, even when busy. Aquatronic excellent, especially if used properly. Dine around is good, however for us the buffet was poor. Breakfasts excellent and supply everything you could need. Also, if taking local food/drinks home as souvenirs, the Vidamar is hard to beat price wise against shops in Funchal. There are always sun beds available either in the garden or poolside, and despite one report I read, you don't leave a deposit for pool towels but give over a pass which is returned when towels returned.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dartford UK

fantastic stay at Vidamar

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness always is a major priority and it was terrific, especially on the 3rd floor where the staff were fantastic..Receptionists very helpful too
Cons: could do with a bit of fresh paint in places.
Location: extremely good location took me about 20 minutes to slowly walk into centre of city, shop nearby and fantastic restaurant in road opposite so try it .
from receptionists to cleaning staff who were all so friendly and the management should give them Gold Star. My room was amazing with terrific sea view, as I could watch the cruise ships coming and going.... Have been to Madeira staying in various hotels 4 times previously..but the Vidamar beats them all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Fantastic hotel with a great location and just a couple of miles out of Funchal centre. Excellent facilities, food and service received. Would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Fantastic views!

Posted Apr 19, 2016
A great place to stay but definitely not 5 star. Food was adequate but better away from the main restaurant. Facilities a bit dated; hot water from shower very dodgy. Have to book a non-smoking "floor" not just a non-smoking room as smokers on the balcony drove us inside with windows shut. The staff, the views and the easy walk into town are the highlights.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire England

Stayed before, stayed now, would stay again.

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: Everything, but especially the spacious rooms, the relaxed air, friendly staff and great range of food
Cons: Slight tiredness to bathroom fittings only but due refurbishment ths year. The full length mirrors in the bathroom take a little getting used to!
Location: Ideal for access to everywhere. Walk into Funchal takes 20 mins ish. Direct coastal location is soooo much better than hotels inland over the road.
Superb location, with spacious rooms ( ocean view room) and great views and lovely staff. Food has a fantastic range for both breakfast and dinner. Everything is great. and its so spacious it never seems busy. This time we had the added fun of watching the coastal repairs, which the hotel had warned about, giving full details of the weather damage. It was no hassle, only entertainment, but it just demonstrated the care that the staff take over your stay. The only minor detail needing attention is some slight tiredness in the bathroom fittings, but they are starting on a refurb this year. Love the place. Did a compare look around the other sea front competitors and decided we were more than happy with our choice.
5 out of 5
by Sandrine R.

Super séjour

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Ebookers
Joli séjour en couple. L'hôtel est très beau, nous étions au 10ème étage avec une vue magnifique. Le buffet déjeuner est très varié comme celui du soir, nous avons très bien mangé. Très gentil personnel. L'hôtel est bien placé (près de la voie rapide pour toutes les destinations) , parking de l'hôtel gratuit et près du centre ville à pied env. 10-15 min. Pas de mini-bar mais cela permet de le remplir comme vous voulez avec les supermarchés autours de l'hôtel. Wifi gratuit. Si nous revenons à Madère nous reprendrons le même hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Pros: The hotel was well maintained, and all areas always spotlessly clean and tidy.
Cons: The buffet offering for evening meal could be improved to offer wider choice, however, it is possible to 'dine around' in the three other restaurants
Location: Easy access to restaurants and bars and tour / sightseeing buses
Reasonable hotel, well placed for local restaurants and within easy reach of Funchal.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Yorkshire, England

An excellent hotel on the lovely island of Madeira

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Even though the hotel has a considerable number of rooms, and therefore guests, it still managed to be quiet most of the time.
Cons: Little, if anything, could be improved.
Location: The hotel is close to the lido promenade and, via the good local bus service, Funchal which is a typical Portuguese town and is worth a visit.
Our overall experience at this hotel was excellent. Check-in was quick and comprehensive information was provided by the helpful reception staff. Our room was spacious with two queen beds as well as a settee and chair in addition to a fully equipped bathroom with his and hers sinks. The standard of comfort and decoration was extremely high. The balcony was plenty big enough to accommodate the two chairs and table. We had half board and ate in the buffet restaurant each day as the available food was good quality and various options were available with the food varying on a "theme" basis each day. All the facilities (pools etc.) were high quality and all staff were helpful and seemed to enjoy working at the hotel.