Ratings based on 389 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, Scotland

Excellent holiday

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: We loved swimming pools, food (4 restaurants to choose from - all good), extremely clean and spacious rooms.
Cons: Can't think of anything they could have done better.
Location: Hotel situated right on ocean front with beautiful views to sea. Walks to marina, shops, restaurants, bars all nearby.
First visit to Madeira. Ideal for us (late 50s). Relaxing holiday but plenty walking or tours to do if you want a more energetic holiday. Would thoroughly recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Very comfortable room, good food and good service

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: Our visit arranged by Vidamar to the Madeira wine producer was fantastic - we really enjoyed it.
A beautiful hotel where we were looked after superbly. Reception and guest ambassador, Susan, was very helpful and helped us enjoy our stay. Our room was services perfectly. We needed a rest and our room was quiet and very comfortable with a lovely view of the garden and sea.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Weiden, Oberpfalz

Super Anlage, super Aussicht, super Lage!

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Funchal ist ein sehr toller Ort von Madeira. Auf jeden Fall einen Besuch wert. Hotel liegt sehr zentral und ist mit dem Bus in ca. 5 Minuten zu erreichen. Dine Around Konzept ist eine super Möglichkeit um auch ausserhalb der Anlage zu dinieren. Vor allem das 'Casa das espetadas' traditionelle portugiesische Küche ist besonders zu empfehlen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing pools and restaurants

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Amazing infinity pool, great restaurants, right on water.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Badhoevedorp

Heerlijk hotel aan de kust

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Groot hotel aan de kust met een relaxte sfeer. Dine around concept goed bedacht om de drukte te spreiden. Bediening oke wel vaak gehaast en te druk. Nette kamer met prachtig uitzicht over de oceaan
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel with sea views and comfortable rooms

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Fabulous sea views, very comfortable rooms and friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: It is in the area where there are lots of other 5* hotels, shops, restaurants, bars and tour agents where you can book excursions.
The half board food was excellent with variations each night. In the morning, the buffet breakfast had a really wide choice. The hotel has beautiful gardens facing the sea. Excellent sea views. We really enjoyed our stay in the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moscow, Russia

Hotel with good concept but poor execution

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: huge and clean territory, fast check-in and check out, wonderful view of the ocean from the rooms, location Cons: shabby look, lack of staff, main 'Ocean' restaurant with atmosphere of busy rail station, wifi
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Cliff edge hotel with uninterrupted views of sea

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Quiet, clean, minimalist and spacious look
Cons: Tiles replaced in Aquatronic pool, and the pool edge repainted.
Location: Location good, walking to town approx 1 mile, taxi about €6. Well designed so rooms have good view of sea. Shops, restaurants, Lido, Reids all close
Quiet, clean, spacious hotel. Great choice of cocktails at reasonable prices, in fact we thought all drinks and lunchtime sandwiches good value for money. Staff always polite and helpful, even when busy. Aquatronic excellent, especially if used properly. Dine around is good, however for us the buffet was poor. Breakfasts excellent and supply everything you could need. Also, if taking local food/drinks home as souvenirs, the Vidamar is hard to beat price wise against shops in Funchal. There are always sun beds available either in the garden or poolside, and despite one report I read, you don't leave a deposit for pool towels but give over a pass which is returned when towels returned.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dartford UK

fantastic stay at Vidamar

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness always is a major priority and it was terrific, especially on the 3rd floor where the staff were fantastic..Receptionists very helpful too
Cons: could do with a bit of fresh paint in places.
Location: extremely good location took me about 20 minutes to slowly walk into centre of city, shop nearby and fantastic restaurant in road opposite so try it .
from receptionists to cleaning staff who were all so friendly and the management should give them Gold Star. My room was amazing with terrific sea view, as I could watch the cruise ships coming and going.... Have been to Madeira staying in various hotels 4 times previously..but the Vidamar beats them all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Fantastic hotel with a great location and just a couple of miles out of Funchal centre. Excellent facilities, food and service received. Would highly recommend.