Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ireland

good quality hotel set in a charming village

Posted Jul 18, 2017
4star hotel - spotless - good standards - needs a little updating but that's being done. Breakfast good and choices great. Set in Santa Cruz - a little gem of a place with good people, food and culture. The hotel should draw in local businesses to work with guests to enhance their "village" experience. Beautiful place. Would highly recommend the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by José Martins, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Will, We were very happy to read that we provided you a good experience. Probably you did not notice but we have some local artisans that go at night to the hotel to expose and sell their work to our guests. Also we have the Madeira night every friday where you can experience the local food and folklore. Thank you very much recommending the Vila Galé Santa Cruz and hope that you visit us again soon. Best regards José Miguel Oliveira Martins General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Mill SC

Great hotel in the town of Santa Cruz,Madeira

Posted May 16, 2017
Absolutely loved the hotel the rooms were very nice and spacious and clean. Breakfast is my favorite meal and I could not have been more satisfied.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by José Miguel Oliveira Martins, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Becky, It was very nice for us to read that your stay with us exceeded your expectations. In fact we make an effort in all our meals, specially the breakfast and we even have a gluten free special breakfast, as well as a gluten free menu. Hope to welcome you back soon at the Vila Galé Santa Cruz. Best regards José Miguel Oliveira Martins General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable and close to the airport

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel located 10 mins (by taxi) from the airport. Clean, comfortable, would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Kate

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Room clean and functional but a bit cold, and though view v good it was spoiled by us facing a local dredging operation in afternoon and morning. Staff warm and friendly. Breakfast tricky to negotiate - pretty crowded and no staff to direct. No hot dishes near the hot breakfast buffet. Pool area has yet to develop maturity and our afternoon spoiled by other guests leaving belongings on loungers to 'bag' them but not using them, leaving few for guests who dud wish to use them. Staff need to develop a policy for thus antisocial behaviour? Santa Cruz quitet, quaint, well connected by local buses to island.
4 out of 5
by Jean

Large hotel but in a small unspoiled town.

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel restaurant is buffet style for a set price. Food good but not excellent. Very nice hotel bar with snack menu by the swimming pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire UK

Excellent hotel.

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: The delightful position, choice of immaculate indoor pool, superb public spaces.
Cons: Breakfast. Library......no books. Surely some are left by guests that could be rounded up and put in a cupboard in the library?
Location: Very quiet town but a delight in itself. The island is only 35 miles long and 15 wide so much of its delight is accessible by car.
Staff excellent as were public areas, reception staff were very helpful indeed. The public areas shone and were very festive and luxurious making you feel you were indeed on holiday. The indoor pool was lovely as it was mid December we had it to ourselves. Our room was clean and comfortable even though we were overlooking the car park. As the hotel was only 5% full it might have been prudent to put us overlooking the sea to encourage a return. We did think that the room decor needed a slight up date with paint scuffed off the walls in places and the carpet looking "used" . Unfortunately the breakfast was not up to standard. The meat on the cold table was of cheap cuts and mostly reconstituted. We were not given a menu the first day but were asked if we wanted an omelette. It was duly ordered as ham and cheese.......the ham was mushy reconstituted and very like spam. The second day we ordered from the menu, crispy bacon, scrambled egg mushrooms and tomatoe. We got an omelette with reconstituted ham, mushrooms and cheese. The breakfast fruit had been left overnight and the pears were going brown and the small individual fruit salads contained suspect grapes and were swimming in juice. Not what should be expected from a 4 star hotel where everything else was so good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

just perfect!!

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
amazing place to stay, breakfast at 4.15 am for me because i was leaving early great place, hope to stay there again
3 out of 5
by Sumeet from Baltimore, MD

Not a 4 Star

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
So I am leaving this review because I don't think this hotel is a 4 Star hotel. Check In: We checked in and there wasn't anybody to carry our luggage, I have never been to a 4 Star where this happens. All Inclusive: When we booked we did not know this was all inclusive. However we were booked a non all inclusive room. Which isn't a big deal but it would have been nice to know. Also the food quality wasn't great and was limited. Also if you want piece there are kids running around all over the place. Rooms: Rooms were nice and cozy, I recommend the ocean view Service: Staff was nice but seemed they were extremely understaffed Pool: Weather was 95 Degrees, pool was probably 60. Really cold, also there was no pool attendants. All the chairs were taken, many by what seems to be locals. Food: Walk outside to the local restaurants, the food was nothing to write home about
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Exceeded expectations

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Wotif
Excellent facilities, exceptional client service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from west midlands england

nice clean hotel close to pebble beach

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: friendliness of staff, food good rooms clean and good size
Cons: ENTERTAINMENT live music or disco would be good. hotel entertainment consisted of parrot show, lads parading round with snake!
Location: out of hotel gate onto beach few shops and restaurants need to book hotel mini bus for day in the capital Funchal (it's free)
1st time to santa cruz very quiet although informed beginning of June still spring in Maderia weather great place to go if you want quiet relaxing holiday