Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
A nice stay in a quiet place, with a very kind and helpfull owner
5 out of 5
by Matthias from Köln

comfortable home in abroad

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
very helpful advise in all questions of tourism !
5 out of 5
by Claude from gometz-le-chatel, france

excellent (qualité/prix, qualité de l'accueil)

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
excellents accueil et rapport qualité/prix. Recommande chaudement
5 out of 5
by Graham from Lytham

Fantastic, friendly, family-run Apartment complex

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
The Vila Marta is a great, small, family-run apartment complex on the edge of Funchal in Sao Martinho. The apartments are located on a quiet side-street, however the street is halfway up a steep hill (as with most places in Madeira!) and restaurants and shops are therefore a fair walk away. So, it's extremely handy to have access to a hire car if staying here. Yes, you could use the buses, but a hire car makes life a lot easier!! All the apartments have a balcony with sea views. The rooms are well equipped with a small kitchen area, good sized bathroom, and a bedroom / sitting room separated by a low dividing wall. The rooms are cleaned daily and are spotless and comfortable. The owners provide fresh bread buns every morning to your door which are included in the cost. The local Continente supermarket, a five minute drive away, provides everything else you may need. Bruno and his father are great guys - very helpful and will check the weather for you everyday to make sure that you head to the best part of the island. Nothing is too much trouble for either of them, and you really do feel a part of the family.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.S.A.

Exceptional and convenient hotel in quiet area

Posted Jan 2, 2016
We rented three rooms for the New Year in Funchal. The owners were incredibly warm and helpful, and concerned that we have a good time. It was a wonderful place for a family stay! Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cardiff, Uk

Great hotel, Amazing price

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Extremely clean, the bathroom was lovely. The room also cam with complimentary fruit, butter, jam and tea and coffee.
What can we say about Bruno? This hotel was such a unique experience. Bruno took amazing care of us. On the first day he even drove us to Funchal, pointing out many places of interest, bus stops and great places to eat. The service at this hotel is truly unlike any other. You feel completely supported by Bruno who ensures that you get the most out of your stay. The complimentary bread rolls in the morning and the madeira cake gift were above and beyond what we expected. The hotel is also in a great location, the bus stop to Funchal is just around the corner and takes only 20 minutes. The area also has quite a few nice places to eat and a great supermarket around the corner for all those who are planning on making the most out of the self catered apartments. The view of the ocean from the balcony was also very beautiful.
5 out of 5
by Jacqueline from lucinges

exceptionnel

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
Cet établissement se trouve à 3kms de Funchal il vaut mieux avoir une voiture ( inutile de passer par un loueur de grande agence Bruno le propriétaire s'en occupe avant votre arrivée si vous le souhaitez, de plus pour visiter il est presque nécessaire d'avoir une voiture même si la conduite est un peu "mouvementée"avec ses montées et descentes) mais l'intérêt est de pouvoir garer la voiture dans la rue, le quartier est tranquille et surtout les patrons (père et fils) sont d'un accueil extraordinaire qui vous donne de précieux conseils et vous guide tout au long de votre séjour. L'établissement est fait de 8 studios et une suite (pas de restauration mais le pain frais est livré tous les matins) d'une propreté impeccable avec une literie trés confortable. Très très bonne adresse sur madére nous le recommanderons à tous nos amis
5 out of 5
by Stéphane from Nancy 54 (FRANCE)

Accueil et propreté remarquables - Très bien !

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
Cet appartements hôtel familial est remarquablement tenu ; Joel et son fils Bruno sont forts accueillants, joignables très facilement et nous ont prodigué de nombreux conseils très utiles pour préparer nos journées de visite sur l'île. L'appartement est très correctement équipé et vous profiterez de la terrasse (avec table et chaises) s'il faut beau mais pensez à prendre quelques récipients plastiques si vous avez l'intention, comme nous, de faire des repas sur place et les conserver au réfrigérateur. Nous avons apprécié des petites choses comme les fruits offerts à l'arrivée, ou le pain distribué chaque matin. Le quartier est plutôt calme (oui, il y a bien des voitures qui montent et descendent l'avenue à 250m mais ce n'est pas non plus - à cette époque tout au moins - une grosse circulation). Nous recommandons sans hésiter cet hôtel.
4 out of 5
by jean-claude from TOULOUSE

Presque Parfait

Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
Impéccacable , sauf l'environnement très bruyant la nuit à cause de la circulation dense et proche ainsi que de la présence de nombreux chiens errants ou pas aboyants nuit et jour . Si nous fermons les fenetres la nuit, il manque la clim pour avoir moins chaud et pouvoir bien dormir.
5 out of 5
by Cindy from Toronto

Fantastic stay

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay at Vila Marta. Customer service beyond compare...every little detail taken care of.