Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by danny

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Danny: We're happy that your enjoyed your stay with us here at Grandstay Madelia. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
1 out of 5
by tanya from the cities

Very disappointed

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was not clean. We found popcorn kernels left all over the room.the plastic cups (which are usually individually wrapped) had water marks on them, like they have been previously used. The toilet was not clean and no extra toilet paper in the room we were left wit 1/4 of a roll.. went to front desk for help from 10p to 6 am had a sign up saying will be back soon, but never saw a soul. The hotel it self could be very nice and has potential but I think it's the staff/owners that are not keeping it up at all. Not worth the 115 dollars we had to spend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Bring back up for breakfast

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Hotel staff was very nice. We had four rooms in our group. None of the toilets flushed properly, one room never got cleaned. As for continentail breakfast, coffee was usually empty, the yogurt was gone and there were only for bananas each morning for the entire hotel. Their website says they have eggs, pancakes and waffles of which there was none at all. The website also says they have a lounge which they did not have, and says your secound night you only pay the equivalent price of the year you were born which wasnt the case for any of us. Very misleading website that lures you in, but didnt deliver as advertised. Beds were comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Candi, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, MN

Confirmation number is worthless.

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: New ownership! It could be a nice hotel.
Location: Near the highway and convenience store. And close to Madelia city park where we had our family picnics.
We had a family reunion planned in Madelia. 11 families had 12 rooms reserved and confirmed at the Madelia Hotel for the July 25th. weekend. As we started arriving, we were told they don't have a room for us. Only 2 out the 12 rooms were available. The rest of us were left to find our own accommodations. When we asked to talk to the manager or owner, the desk clerk told us he was on a plane. Some families lived near by so they were able to accommodate some of us. The rest of us found hotels in two of the closest towns which were 20 miles away. The 2 families that were "lucky" enough to get a room said they were pretty bad. One pulled the bedding down and found a dirty sock in the bed. They couldn't watch TV because there was no cable. The clerk wouldn't even compensate us by letting us use their small conference room. She wanted to charge us $175.00 for that. But that was probably ok because their was no air conditioning in the lobby or conference room. Oh, and the pool was closed up!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Candi, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
4 out of 5
by Kelly

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Kelly: We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Grandstay Madelia. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

The only place to stay in this small town.

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Close proximity to highway, nice lobby
Cons: Owners need to make the most basic upgrades in quality of materials and expected amenities.
Location: Madelia, Minnesota...population 2308. A lovely little town, but literally nothing to do. Only one restaurant open, plus a Subway sandwich shop.
The main desk clerk seemed bored by it all, not really welcoming to us, nor was she forthcoming with answers to our questions or requests. The wifi didn't work in our room. The beds were not too comfortable. The bathroom and sink area lighting was dim, at best. We had poor quality towels. Our window had a broken seal resulting in a "fogged" window that we could not see out of. The breakfast bar did not offer any cereals, and there were very few other choices. The front sidewalk was uneven, as part of it had sunk. Instead of fixing the sidewalk, the owners had just painted "watch your step" on the walk. It just seemed that the innkeepers skimped in every single area they could. Even at the reduced rate from Expedia, we did not feel that our experience was positive at all. But it was the only place in town to stay, so there we were.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Horrible experience. They came in at a reasonable rate and then dinged us with uncharged for everything under the sun. 99.00 room ended up costing us 160.00. The counter person kept saying "I am sorry, but I have no control over this. Turns out she was the manager. I would stay away from this place under all circumstances
3 out of 5
by traveler from Chicago, Il

The only game in town

Posted Feb 23, 2014
This is literally the only hotel in town. Unfortunately it seemed very understaffed which resulted in the room not being very clean and the breakfast area a mess. Add to that the fact that much of the food had expired and you'll understand why I only gave it three stars. It's adequate, but not a hotel I would choose to stay in.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2013
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay.

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Great get away and pleasant stay. Loved the pool for the grandkids and us. Good breakfast each morning. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Will stay again.