Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC USA

Great time in Madikwe

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Staff and food
The lodge and staff were fabulous. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Food was great as well. We had Lazarus as our game driver/guide. He was fantastic. He was great with the kids and tried his best to make sure that we had a great experience. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks for a great trip.
5 out of 5
by Göran

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Henri Laurent from Nice

Bon plan pour safari

Posted Mar 3, 2016 on Hotels
Un camp bien conçu et bien tenu par une gérante attentive ; réserve riche en animaux. Une bonne alternative au Kruger pour diversifier la découverte de l'Afrique du Sud.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for price point

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
The Thakadu lodge was OK for money. The game drive and drivers were great and probably equal throughout the Madikwe game reserve regardless of how much money you spend. This lodge seems to be half the price as others, which is the big bonus. The down side is amateur customer service, average food, poor massages, non-existent internet despite what they advertise, and a mean hostess. It is a pretty spot and lodge, but don't stay more than two nights. You are on lock down once you arrive and can't even walk to your room alone. This fact may not be unique to this lodge. All game lodges are probably similarly limited in your movement between game drives.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Tres bon accueil dans un endroit plein de charme On y mange Tres bien Safaris mémorables A faire
5 out of 5
by Kristian from Gnosjoe, Sweden

Good safari in South Africa

Posted Jan 9, 2016 on Hotels
If You want a real safari this is the park You shall go to. Have been in Kenya and Tanzania and this is better, because You are allowed to go out from the roads. They are also very kind to not disturb the Wild animals.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastique
5 out of 5
by fabrice

Pour se faire chouchouter

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Une vue sublime depuis la terrasse de l hotel ou on voit tous les animaux passer. Le prix inclut tous les repas mais ps les boissons (leur tarif n est pas abusif) et 2 game drive par jour. Les repas etaient top ! Les game drive aussi ! Pas contre tarif wifi cher. Possibilité de faire game drive avec enfant avec un supplement, bon marche. Les tentes sont tres sympa avec un balcon mais le balcon n a ps une aussi belle vue que celle de l hotel. Ne ps forcément suivre le gps pour y aller (il faut guetter un panonceau sur la droite alors que le gps essaye de nous faire prendre le chemin plus court ms qui traverse plus la réserve donc impossible et nous avons du faire demi tour.) Et les derniers kilomètres sont vraiment caillouteux !! Je recommande !!!
5 out of 5
by Jose from Sydney, Australia

Amazing Staff and Place

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
Went to Madikwe with my wife to see the incredible animals in their natural habitat. Not only we saw these beautiful animals, but the Thakadu River Camp Staff were so nice, welcoming and attentive, that we are planning to come back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Lifelong Memories Made at Thakadu

Posted Mar 8, 2015
My husband and I celebrated our first anniversary at Thakadu River Camp. It exceeded our expectations. As avid travelers, we have seen it all in accommodations. Besides being an amazing vacation, Thakadu was a comfortable, beautiful lodge. The staff were great. We learned while we at Thakadu that it is one of the two community project lodges in Madikwe. They hire only local towns people, which gives back to the local community and provides an authentic experience. They were so nice and accommodating. Kenny was our ranger. He was very knowledgeable and was able to show us 4 of the big 5. We had an amazing couples massage on the porch of our tent. The rooms, although they are technically tents, were so luxurious. You would never know that you were staying in a canvas tent. The hardwood floors, sliding glass door, air conditioning, and beautiful shower and tub were all enhanced by the monkeys that visited us every day on our porch. You could hear the elephants playing in the river just below. All of our meals were cooked by the chef and great. They featured authentic African flavors. The highlight of the culinary cuisine was our two meals outside by the fire. The barbecue style dinner was a great way to highlight a vacation in the bush. Our daily safaris were a lot of fun. Two a day, morning and evening, ensured that we were able to see all of the animals in their environments. This is a five star experience at a three star price. We will be returning