Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Exceptionally well run camp in Madikwe

Posted Mar 8, 2017
This a very well run camp. We were initially placed in a smaller tent than paid for - it was quickly rectified and all our scattered belongings moved for us. Other minor issues, like more coffee in the room, were dealt with pleasantly and immediately. The rangers coordinate with each other with courtesy and adherence to strict rules limiting vehicles at a sighting to give guests the best possible experience. A few negatives: The rangers are permitted to go anywhere - on one occasion I felt this was abused and a lion with a kill remained on a green island in the midst of churned up muddy bush. The range from the camp is limited - with hindsight I would move between camps spending a max of 3 days per camp. Our vehicles were often full - anyone in the middle seat was disadvantaged. Finally a suggestion - reciprocity with other camps to allow a greater range could benefit everyone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
I found it very difficult to get info in advance of our stay regarding the schedule, which was: 5am tea, 5:30-9 drive (with coffee and cake), 9 cold and hot breakfast, multi course lunch, 3:30 coffee/cake, 4-7ish drive with alcoholic drink, multi course dinner. Drinks available at the pool. The last 4km drive there is on a very bad rocky road so a 4x4 would allow an easier drive in. Kids 6 years and up can go on drives, younger ones can get in room babysitting by a local lady and/or go on a short drive after breakfast. We saw lots of animals on the drive and was a unique experience overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2016
The most amazing place in the wilderness. Definitely coming back for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great game drives and birding

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
The lodge offers wonderful accommodations, delicious food and superb game drives. The fact that it is run by the local community makes the stay here even better. Thakadu rivals five star lodges that I have stayed at in the past. I have been traveling for over forty years and Thakkadu stands out. The guide on our game drives, Lazarus, was a great spotter and incredibly knowledgeable about wildlife and birds. The other staff were all truly hospitable and capable. The food was fabulous and plentiful, and no problem for a vegetarian. There is nothing negative to say about our experience at Thakadu. It was truly wonderful. .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great service, acomodation, meals. Lots of animals in every game ride.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Sheer Luxury

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: The best part was arriving. The staff, they were all so friendly and lovely. The accomodation was amazing and so was the food
Cons: Nothing
Location: Set in a game reserve. Nothing to do close to the camp but there were the game drives so nothing else was needed
What an amazing place. From arrival when we were met with a hot towel and a cold drink things just got better. The tents were fantastic and had everything we could need. They were spacious,comfortable and very clean. The food was great and the chef's pulled out all stops to cater for my partner who is vegetarian. The game drive's were also amazing and the guide was very knowledgeable. The manager(Hamley) went out of her way to make things run smoothly for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gaborone, Botswana

Very good staff

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Awesome ... I don't mind to go and stay there again!!
5 out of 5
by Rakesh from Dubai

Definitely worth it

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at Aha Thakadu river camp. Everything was perfect. The smallest details are taken care of. Will definitely come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from NC USA

Great time in Madikwe

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Staff and food
The lodge and staff were fabulous. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Food was great as well. We had Lazarus as our game driver/guide. He was fantastic. He was great with the kids and tried his best to make sure that we had a great experience. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks for a great trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for price point

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
The Thakadu lodge was OK for money. The game drive and drivers were great and probably equal throughout the Madikwe game reserve regardless of how much money you spend. This lodge seems to be half the price as others, which is the big bonus. The down side is amateur customer service, average food, poor massages, non-existent internet despite what they advertise, and a mean hostess. It is a pretty spot and lodge, but don't stay more than two nights. You are on lock down once you arrive and can't even walk to your room alone. This fact may not be unique to this lodge. All game lodges are probably similarly limited in your movement between game drives.