Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex, UK

Great Location - But Something Lacking

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: It's location on the river, and the rooms overlooking the river. Very peaceful
Cons: A much improved shop, a bar (at times it was difficult to find someone to order a drink from), and stop the pre-ordering of game drive drinks.
Location: In a game reserve so not applicable
I've stayed at Madikwe River Lodge a few times before and visited Madikwe Game Reserve several times, staying at other lodges. I feel that things at Madikwe River Lodge are slipping a bit. It is looking a little tired (the rooms and main building) although nothing drastic. But what struck me was that they seem to be watching their costs closely. You now have to select your meals in advance. Nothing too wrong with that, but when they take this to the extreme and ask you to select the drink you want on your evening game drive at breakfast it's a bit much! Come on guys, do I really want to be thinking about whether I'd like a G&T or a beer later in the day when I'm having breakfast?! Just bring a cold box along with a selection of drinks then your guests can choose what they want at the time. That's what other lodges do, and what you used to do! Seeing my sole G&T lifted out of the cool box and served to me seemed extremely tight. On departure I asked for a bottle of water for my journey. However this was not given to me (remember I'd just spent £500 over two nights!), the bill was re-adjusted to add another £1 to it. This is the hospitality sector! Would I return? Of course I would. I enjoyed my stay, Madikwe River Lodge is a great place, and the staff were very pleasant. However, this place could be so much better. I suggest the management take a long hard look at what they are doing right now and start to think about hospitality rather than the bottom line all the time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2017 by Pertunia, Hotel Management
Dear valued guests. Thank you so much for sharing your experience about Madikwe River Lodge. We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed some of the services that you have being offered by the lodge. In respond to your review, we apologies for ,any inconvenience we may have caused during your stay. we promise to attend to all the concerns raised and hope this will convince you about another visit to our lodge.
5 out of 5
by Mr.A from Johannesburg

Luxury bush break

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent location. Obliging staff. Good food. Staff from the General Manager to the cleaning staff made out of their way to make our stay comfortable. Fortune the game ranger was not only very knowledgable about the sightings but went out of his way to accommodate us.
4 out of 5
by Js from Gabs

Excellent

Posted Nov 9, 2013 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay. Seemed expensive but price included 2 game drives all meals snacks and refreshments
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 25, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Summer Break

Posted Jan 11, 2013
During our annual holiday in South Africa, we decided to take a quick break to the Madikwe River Lodge. It was a great experience with the most friendly and accommodating staff I have ever met at any resort/hotel. The facilities was great (luxury in the bush) and the game viewing was excellent. The knowledge of our guide and his willingness to share it, is commendable. Really a great place for a short break!
4 out of 5
by Indochine

WEEKEND GETAWAY WITH NATURE

Posted Aug 22, 2012 on Hotels
It was a good night stay though I felt having a bit lack of the African Safary luxurious touch I usually had staying with some other Madikwe's Lodges. The best thing about this Lodge was the warmth and family atmosphere. Siitting righ at the balcony of the challet having a good coffee while reading a book, the sound of the River flow was extremely amazing and the River rounding the compound is truly beautiful. I would say I need some 2 night stay or more to fully enjoy the Nature. Safari trip was very good with a nice Ranger on a good vehicle (my best one so far). Hotel staff was friendly. Foods were good. I'm satisfy as my guest was amazed. I enjoyed having a large screen bath with no curtains here (hoping to see a Tarzan in the jungle out there), something quite different than what I used to experience. Go for it if you want a truly nature safary trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santiago de Chile

Un lugar apacible

Posted Mar 4, 2018
Es hermoso, el entorno y el Lodge. Pero entre safari y safari no hay mucho más que hacer. Pésima conexión a Internet y sin televisión en las habitaciones.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2018 by Pertunia, Internal Marketing Assistant., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience about Madikwe River Lodge. In response to your comment, We apologize for any inconveniences we may have caused during your stay. We promise to attend to all the concerns raised in your review and hope this will convince you about another visit to our lodge. We really looking forward to host you again in future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Italien

Tolle Lodge am River

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Sehr erfahrene Guides für Safari; kleine Gruppen bei jeder Tour trotz ausgebuchter Lodge; Tolles Ambiente, geräumige Zimmer mit eigener Terrasse. Hervorragendes Essen, super freundliches Personal. Am Pool könnten mehr Liegen sein. Anreise mit Auto nicht empfohlen, da die letzten 70 km Schotterpiste, was mit einem normalen Mietwagen sehr schlecht ist - unser ging kaputt. Nächstes Mal Flug ab Johannesburg! Definitiv wieder!
5 out of 5
by Luzia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gianluca from pordenone

Ottima struttura

Posted May 5, 2014
Confortevole,ben organizzato,3 giorni magnifici di safari con avvistamento di tutti i big 5