Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Right on the water hole!!

Posted May 15, 2017
Lots of animals to see from your room and common area. Clean, friendly staff. The rangers who take you out on safaris are quite knowledgeable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Very nice stay. Babysitting service a great help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C

Best Lodge by far

Posted Oct 11, 2016
We stayed at 4 different lodges in the Madikwe and Pilanesberg parks. This was by far the best lodge, with the best views, the best safari guides, excellent food, wine, spa, and overall lodge comfort. We will definitely be back. If you can, ask for Mike Rae to by your safari guide. You will not be disappointed..
5 out of 5
by Kamlesh from Mafikeng , South Africa

Best of Bushveld.

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location of the game lodge. Fantastic game drives, were very well taken care of by our ranger Dylan who was expert at everything.The chef made extra effort to cook some veg recipes.Very friendly and polite staff.Will surely visit again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lions aplenty!

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent property. This was our second stay. We saw so many lions and cheetah thanks to our guide, Ignatius. We will return.
5 out of 5
by Stuart from Harpenden

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
recommended by our son. Lived up to everything he said. Situation, animals food, staff
5 out of 5
by Michael from Geneva

Magic

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
Stunning lodge in magic location by a water hole. Staff excellent. Guides well informed. In particular Dylan was outstanding as a guide and the best I have had anywhere. Food good but not exceptional. Advantage not in malaria zone. Would recommend this lodge highly.
5 out of 5
by Robert from DeBary Fl. USA

One night isn't enough

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
We only got to stay for one night as it was at the end of our trip on the way to the airport. The greeting and care that the staff takes to make you comfortable was excellent. The safari drives were also quite good. In fact with 11 South African visits we finally were able to photograph a Serval. The only minor negative was I'm a shower guy and in April it was quite cool and while the bath tub and toilet were inside the shower was not, so I had to wait until mid day to take my shower, not a big deal but it is what kept me from giving full marks to room comfort. One outstanding feature of all rooms is that they front the water hole. I mean no more than 15 or 20 feet from the edge. This allows you to enjoy the coming and goings of wildlife all day and night if you would like. Bottom line a good place to relax and unwind. We had just driven 9600km so we needed it. Next time we'll stay more than a single night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gaborone

Wow!

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Location, Views, Food, Staff... you name it!
Cons: The road leading to the Tau Lodge gate. If you do not have a 4x4 vehicle, i WOULD NOT recommend it.
We had an amazing weekend at Tau. I only wish we were able to stay more than two nights! We booked the standard chalet, and were pleasantly surprised to have a balcony/patio with views of an amazing waterhole that several animals frequented throughout the day (variety of birds, crocodiles, kudu, impala, zebra, giraffe, and elephants). The food was AMAZING, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and our guide was extremely knowledgeable! Overall it was an unforgettable experience and we can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pan

Beautiful place to enjoy nature

Posted May 28, 2015
Great service. The rangers are experienced- learnt so much from them. Wished wifi range is more extensive!