Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
31% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Bates Motel aka the Knights Inn

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: Total remodeling.
Location: It is in Madison Heights, a suburb of Lynchburg, VA. near Liberty University,which was our destination.
This hotel is old, run down, smelly, and has a green pool. The room smelled of mold, was missing a door handle inside, there were bare spots in the carpet, and part of the ceiling was falling off. They have refused to refund us our money for the prepaid reservation and Expedia has not helped beyond just asking them to refund it. When they said no, Expedia just sent an email telling us they refused. That was not helpful. This is false advertisement as their website portrays the place as being in pristine condition. I will never trust a KNIGHTS INN or EXPEDIA ad ever again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It needs to be closed down every thing in the room

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: R?A
Cons: the whole hotel
Location: it was close to the College that we were there for.
When I spoke to the Manager about my concers he said he would fix the items .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Bugs, dirt, and grime

Posted Oct 27, 2017
This is the worst hotel we've ever stayed at. We spent about 7 hours here and left very early in the morning. Even the non-smoking rooms reek of smoke. We found a bug in a pillow case and on the wall. Don't waste your money on this dump.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: The owners were nice.
Cons: They need to fumigate & do a complete remodel!
Location: Lots to do & near places of interest.
The room was filthly. There were bugs everywhere!!! I couldn't unpack because I was afraid I might bring bugs with me.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Erie, ON

Awful and low class

Posted Oct 16, 2017
On our arrival we were shown a room that was totally unacceptable. Wall paper peeling, bathroom was old, and no samples of soap, etc,  no facial tissue,. no hair dryer and towels of poor quality. The room had a definite musty smell. The second room was marginally better. We were prepared to leave when we were offered their best room.  This room was barely  acceptable. The signing in process was very slow, couldn't find our reservation. On a scale of 1 to 10  we would give it a 3 We took the room, as it was a long day and we were tired. We had originally booked for 5 nights but left after just 4.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Not much!
Cons: Everything!
Location: Close to my son's home.
No amenities, Had to go to the office for a hair blower and was asked to be sure to return it to the office, don't even leave it in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Older, rundown

Posted Sep 21, 2017
The people were very nice. The facilities were older and rundown. The room was damp. It felt very dirty. Also, for some reason (may be due to Expedia and not the hotel) it came up when I was searching for hotels near Lexington VA. I booked it, only to find out it was 35 miles south of the highway.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Flagstaff AZ

Looks better on the outside

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Counter person at check in was not helpful or informative. Room outdated and beaten up. Only accessible electrical outlet not working. Only 1 small light to brighten room at night. Bathroom tile and baseboards super nasty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Do not book this hotel. I is run down and is very shady