Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

in the heart of it all

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Great location, able to check in 2 hours early, wonderful staff & comfy rooms. Portage Pi has much needed coffee & food. Decor is perfectly collegiate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Lee, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, We appreciate you taking a moment to share your review with us. Whether you are looking for a fresh start to your day or need to refuel at lunch, Portage Pi provides guests with a nearly all-natural menu and sweet hand pies for dessert. While we are thrilled that you had the opportunity to experience the savory cuisine at Portage Pi, we invite you to join us again soon to sample the homegrown offerings at The Madison Blind. Sincerely, Lee Hoener General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel located right off state street.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Ideal for a night out in Madtown, walking distance from everything downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts with us. Graduate Madison’s convenient location allows our guests to explore the city’s favorite restaurants and attractions. We are thrilled that you were able to join us for an exciting stay and invite you back to visit at any time. Sincerely, Lee Hoener General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Very nice! Great customer service.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Excellent! Great art to enjoy throughout the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Dear julia, It was a pleasure to read your review. The locally inspired décor throughout Graduate Madison provides an authentic and inspiring stay for our visitors. Whether you are staying in a Graduate Double room or the Camp Wandawega Suite, you can expect an experience full of surprise and discovery. We enjoyed your company and await your return. Sincerely, Lee Hoener General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was like living in dorms

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: TV
Cons: Cleanliness
Ok. Not the best of hotels as it wasn't as clean in the bathroom and sheets. Also smaller rooms than normal, but they do get some good channels like HBO.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We regret to hear of the uncleanly bathroom and sheets that you encountered during your stay with us. Providing clean and comfortable accommodations is a top priority of ours at Graduate Madison. It is concerning that this was not apparent during throughout your time at our hotel. Should you find that any aspect of our hotel does not meet your standards, please contact us at your earliest convenience so we may assist you in any way necessary. We apologize for the challenges that you faced and hope to have the opportunity to restore your trust in our property. Sincerely, Lee Hoener General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheboygan Wi

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Great location! It was in walking distance to all the activities we had planned in Madison.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Dear sheila, We appreciate you taking a moment to share your review. Graduate Madison’s convenient location allows our guests to visit friends at the university or explore the excitement of State Street. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to have you back in the near future. Sincerely, Lee Hoener General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs some work

Posted Dec 9, 2016
The hotel is looking tired and could use a deep cleaning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun!

Posted Dec 9, 2016
This hotel has lots of unique charm. It's located just off State Street and very close to The Union. What struck me as really cool was that they open their lobby area to students who like a quiet place to study or Wi Fi. Only downfall I noticed was that the shower was only luke warm. This was brought up in prior reviews, so the problem must be systemic. Overall, great place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Dear Denis, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Our unique décor pays tribute to true Wisconsin style. Whether you are spending the night in our college-like Graduate Double or reconnecting with the simple pleasures in our Camp Wandawega Suite, each guestroom provides a unique experience and plethora of new memories. We look forward to your return to Graduate Madison. Lastly, we will be sure to have our hot water heaters looked at. Sincerely, Lee Hoener General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, average hotel.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
The hotel is in an awesome location and is decently nice, but has some issues. 1. The showers barely get lukewarm. Morning, mid day, evening, doesn't matter. 2. The "fitness center" is only big enough to fit three treadmills. Disappointing for an relatively expensive hotel. 3. The on-site parking hilariously tight and only fits ~20 cars, but they will sell more parking passes than they have spaces and then give you a voucher for a public parking lot down the street instead. Definitely paying for the location, which is admittedly fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location of Graduate Madison. However, it is concerning that you found our showers, fitness room and on-site parking to be below your standards. Should you find that any aspect of our hotel does not meet your expectations, we encourage you to reach out to our team at any time so we may alleviate any issues that you may be facing. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your return. Sincerely, Lee Hoener General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very impressed! Atmosphere was so cozy and warm.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Wisconsin friendly at its finest. Perfectly situated steps from all the State Street excitement.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Dear Sue, Thank you for your review. Graduate Madison is conveniently located near the stops and shops of State Street. Whether you are looking for a pub to watch the game or seeking to browse a free art museum curated by the University of Wisconsin, you are only steps away. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your return. Sincerely, Lee Hoener General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Wonderful, cozy, new

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: The best part of the room is the atmosphere created by the amenities. The beds were insanely comfortable, the sheets and blankets and pillows all looked brand new. The 1950's collegiate feel you see in the picture is exactly what you get, even with the elevator. The window in the room opens for fresh air! Good views of the city. Good desk setup for getting some work done while there. The juice and sandwich bar downstairs is great, with lots of good direct light for reading. The students from the area seemed to know this and there were a handful to a dozen reading or doing assignments at any point I passed through. It's within walking distance to either the capital or the university. Plenty of pedestrian routes around all of it. It even has its own bar upstairs but I'll have to come back to try that.
Cons: The bathroom door was a sliding door with a rail on the top. I think the hanger on one side needed to be tightened a bit. The door caught on the carpet and was hard to get completely closed, or open again, from that position.
Location: Great, right on the edge of campus and some of the fraternity housing. Several streets lined with bars, restaurants, and shops lead directly to it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Dear Andrew, Thank you for your review. Our accommodations are styled to embody the collegiate atmosphere of Madison. From our plaid embroidery to various hanging pennants, you are able to experience Wisconsin with each step through our hotel. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Lee Hoener General Manager