Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice view of Ohio River

Posted Apr 15, 2018
There was no microwave or clock in room. The rooms do not have individual room heat; they had not switched from heat to A/C and it was 80° outside. Thw room keys would nit work and we had to get new ones 3 times.The breakfast was not great; just bread products, no meat, eggs, etc. The smoke detectors kept beeping and they would not change the battery. The cracks were so wide in the door you continuously saw the hall light and you could hear everything in the other rooms. It did have a nice balcony overlooking the river, which was really nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2018
Old hotel with charm. Very nice view. Comfortable bed and seating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2018
The staff was wonderful, the room was nice. The thermostat did not work, but the ceiling fan did so it was okay. Everyone was so nice there and made sure we had everything we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view of Historic Madison

Posted Feb 25, 2018
We chose a room overlooking the town and river. Though it was mid-February, the weather was unseasonably warm and we spent much time on the balcony. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We plan on staying there again whenever we are in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice hotel overlooking Madison

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Stayed there while working in the area. Very nice and comfortable. Wonderful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Quaint hotel overlooking the city and river.

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Was there for work. Very nice , quiet stay. Staff was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VINCENNES, IN

Our Go To Place.

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Pros: Location and private balconies.
Cons: Breakfast.
Location: The view from the hotel is excellent and being on the edge of town makes it convenient to all Madison has to offer.
We tend to stay at the Hillside Inn when we go to Madison. We love the location and the view from the private balconies. Yes it is a little dated perhaps but for the money it is the best buy in town. We have never had a bad experience when staying. I recommend it to all my friends going to Madison.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2018
We enjoyed our stay. The only issue is the bathroom needed some minor repairs, but was very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Jan 14, 2018 on Hotels
Very charming hotel, clean and really tasty breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location & reasonable price

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Location, price, & friendliness of staff.
Cons: Could use some new chairs & a deep cleaning
Location: Great view of a picturesque historic small city; frequent town festivals & such, nice area for walking.
The Hillside Inn is in a good location for our frequent trips, has an excellent view, and a pretty good price during their off-season. They have history & are trying to hold on to their "character", but could really use some upgrades in furnishings & a deep cleaning. (Clean enough on the surface whenever we've stayed there, but the place is 'showing it's age' a bit.