Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view but don't expect to see much river

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Old school elegance and the balconies
Cons: In need of some updates, worn and stained carpet in places.....New paint in hallways?? But always smelled very clean. Breakfast needs a big boost.
Location: Downtown Madison but most of the town was shut down..... our second trip that this has happened.
This was an older but we'll maintained hotel on a hill, close to downtown Madison. Technically, you could walk downtown but boy....That trudge back up the hill would be interesting! Lots of parking downtown, all free so-no need to walk anyway. The rooms were old school elegant with real water glasses and comfy beds. Everything was very clean and well kept, but definitely an old hotel with old decor. No real amenities except the view from the balconies, which was fantastic. Great place to have some wine and take it all in. The included breakfast was that in name only....the only hot food was the waffle maker. The rest was very, very lacking.....So, if you aren't really a breakfast person you won't care. I was hoping for a better view of the Ohio River from somewhere but you couldn't see much. (Riverboat Inn is better for that....We stayed there 2 years ago....) maybe the third floor?? We stayed on the second....So the view may be better from there. Overall, very comfortable stay with a very small (we literally only saw 1 person) staff...but she was so nice. I hope she wasn't the only one in that massive place!! It is huge. No pool. But vending, and refrigerators and microwaves in the rooms. Also those semi useless one cup coffee makers.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Millbrook, AL

Beautiful town, hotel was clean, view was awesome.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: The view.
We had a good time exploring Clifty Falls State Park and the town of Madison. Staff was courteous, rooms were nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view from the balcony, very relaxing.

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. Being able to sit on the balcony and look out.
Cons: More fresh fruit for breakfast.
Location: It was located close to downtown Madison. We could of walked if we wanted too. Near the Ohio River and not far from Cliffty Hills.
Very friendly, helpful person at front desk. I would stay there again,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Excellent staff and location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bed linens, new carpet throughout, fresh paint, brighten the rooms
Location: Walking distance to food and antiques
The location of this hotel is hard to beat. Perfect for walking to downtown Madison although keep in mind you'll a short but steep trek back up the hill. The staff was very friendly always greeting us coming or going. Breakfast was a typical continental style and we made use of the waffle maker. The downside for this property is age. A major update/remodel is needed to improve the comfort, appeal, and overall quality. I have to say despite the awesome staff I would not recommend staying here.
5 out of 5
by Traci

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff, clean rooms and a beautiful view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Enjoyable time. Clean, friendly environment. Breakfast was great. Would recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price.

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel tried to charge me more than the hotel.com rate. I was unhappy with the musty smell and small room. I did not stay and asked for a refund
5 out of 5
by Valerie

Lovely hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel! Will stay again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a great view of downtown

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel itself is clean and comfortable. Will stay here again. The view is great. Only suggestion I have is to add more hot items to the breakfast.