Ratings based on 1,198 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, but oddly shaped and a few things missing.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: The room was very nice; clean and modern. It's also three blocks from the capitol.
Cons: Vending machines on each floor for people that don't want to traipse through the lobby and guests to buy a snack. A hot tub would be nice!
Location: If you want to purchase less expensive snacks, Capital Centre Foods is about 4 blocks away. State Street shopping is about 5 blocks away.
The hotel was built on a very narrow piece of land. Because of this, the hotel is not very wide, but is very long. The lobby seems huge, and there is a cafe to the right of it. There is only one long hallway on the ground floor so you have to walk past everyone in the lobby and at the reservation desk to get to the snacks in the cafe. Very embarrassing when you've just come out of the (small) pool and want to buy something to drink. No vending machines anywhere; you have to buy it through the cafe. I stood there dripping wet in the lobby waiting for someone to come out and let me purchase a soda. Also, very odd for a fairly expensive hotel to NOT have a hot tub in the pool area. The actual pool isn't the smallest one I've seen (that would be at Park Inn in Madison) but it's small; maybe due to the narrowness of the hotel. Here's a small but odd note: I had the top floor corner suite. However, there weren't "corner windows". Lake Monona is right behind my hotel wall. Why not have a window so I can see it from my room? I could see it wonderfully from the huge window right outside my hotel room door. You could charge much more for those views. The actual view from my room was of the alley used to get to the parking ramp.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy walk to places of interest in Madison.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Great breakfast and a nice dining/study/meeting space in the lobby. See above .
Cons: Nothing.
Location: See above.
The room was perfect, offering an office space (important to me), refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and lounge area separate from the sleeping space. It was an easy walk to places of interest in Madison and to my conference hotel. I stayed here because it was less expensive than my conference hotel. Staff accommodated my need to hold luggage after I had checked out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome breakfast. Convenient to u of w

Posted May 15, 2017
Staff friendly. Clean comfortable room. Best breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Cons: My only complaint would be there breakfast on Sunday ended at 10am. I feel on a Sunday people like to sleep in. We were downstairs by 10:15 and ever
Overall the hotel was great. Perfect location very clean and large rooms. We were in Madison to celebrate my son's birthday. He is a student at UW-Madison. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. A great hotel for people visiting the University. I would also think it would be great for business travelers. The rooms seem to cater to them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Rachel N, Hotel Management
I do apologize that you were not able to experience our breakfast! It does run earlier during the week, with breakfast ending at 9:30. We try to accommodate as many guests as possible and are always sad when we miss some. Thank you for the feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

State Capitol just down the street!

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Location: Walking distance of the state capitol building, and all of downtown Madison -- great place to take in the college vibe.
The room was spacious, with a king-size bed, and a separated area with sectional/queen-size pullout bed. A very comfortable, nicely decorated space! We travelled to Madison to visit our UW student granddaughter, so we were happy to be close to campus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Rachel N, Hotel Management
Glad you got to experience all of the great things our town and hotel have to offer! We look forward to seeing you again soon
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
My stay was great!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Great location, great clean, spacious rooms. Very comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Rachel N, Hotel Management
Glad to hear everything was satisfactory!!
5 out of 5
by Joanne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Service makes the stay.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Location! Nice rooms.
Cons: Service, there are a lot on hotels in Madison to pick from.
Location: Nice downtown location!
Everything about the hotel is good, but the service got off to a bad start. When we first got there, I asked what was closer the Great Dane or the Kohl Center. Was trying to figure out which way to go to eat. The attitude I received was kind of like I was asking a weird question. My wife and daughter thought the the same thing. Kind of like a guy in sweatpants isn't smart enough to figure it out. I am the President of the Bank in my home town. The next night we came back to the hotel after the basketball games and I wanted a soda for my room. One guy at the front desk who was doing paperwork told me that I needed to pay the other guy at the bar, After pouring a drink for another customer, the service person said he would be right back and went in the back. After waiting several minutes with my wife waiting, I gave a customer $5 for a soda and asked him to pay for me. The first guy kept doing his paperwork and I'm not sure if the other guy ever came out of the back. Service was definitely not the first thing on their minds. I think hotel management would not be happy!