Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ct

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Great bed and breakfast. Wonderful innkeeper, Michael
5 out of 5
by Thomas

Wonderful and quiet inn near the beach

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
This was a quaint historical inn set back from the main road so it was quiet at night. Nearby Essex is one of the prettiest small towns in New England & a place to visit while here. Madison itself is a great beach town with well known shops and some excellent restaurants and cafes. It also has an old time movie theater that can be walked to for an evening movie. The inn itself is older but beautifully decorated...our room was very comfortable and quiet. The big plus is the owner- Michael - who will help you with suggestions on where to go or eat. He also makes some terrific breakfasts! We would definitely recommend the Scranton Seahorse Inn.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming Getaway!

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
The Inn is a big, rambling house right in downtown Madison, an easy stroll to shops and restaurants. Our room was attractive and private, with a very comfortable bed. Michael, our host, could not have been nicer and gave us fabulous breakfast. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B with comfortable bed, very good breakfast

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
A very nice B&B, with a nice comfortable bed, very good breakfast and a nice home with a history. Our Innkeeper, Mike, was very nice and very helpful and answered any questions we had. Would visit again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Authentic New England Inn Experience

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Marvellous breakfasts. 24 hour tea and coffee is complementary. Delightful sitting areas and interesting range of books to browse.
Cons: the doors to the rooms are commensurate with the age of the property and so at night you do get light pollution from the hallway.
Location: Central for the town shops and restaurants. 15 minute walk to beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely old B&B in the village of Madison, Ct.

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived after a swim at the beach to be greeted by the affable innkeeper, who had been tending his vegetable garden. The beautiful 19th century inn is charming in a European way. Our room, which was comfortable, had the only direct access to a communal veranda decorated with wicker chairs and a table. So it was like having our own porch. We sat there and drank a glass of wine before walking to the small Bar Bouchee restaurant down the road to enjoy a really delicious French meal. The TV in the room was somewhat small and seemed to have access to only one channel (we are not techies), but who cares about TV when you have access to the beautiful village, the local beach and walks in Hammonasset State Park? The full breakfast featured a spinach frittata and tomatoes from the innkeeper's garden. It was a lovely mini-vacation. The inn is highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by Kevin from Vienna, VA

Everything you'd expect at terrific B&B

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
The accommodations were very comfortable and the owners was a terrific host. I would recommend staying here as it is right in town and has tremendous charm.
5 out of 5
by Virginia from Westford, MA

comfortable, cozy get-away

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
Host Michael was so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was amazing, healthy yet tasty, even home-made granola and divine cranberry scones! Coffee and tea available in cozy lobby, sitting rooms available, but our room had plenty of comfort with good chairs and great bed. Walk to beach and historic downtown, with shopping and good restaurants.
5 out of 5
by annmarie from Canandaigua NY

Wish we had stayed longer....

Posted Dec 26, 2015 on Hotels
I was in town for a company holiday party and found this lovely bed and breakfast to be charming and the breakfast was wonderfully delicious. Thank you to our host!! We truly enjoyed our night there... too bad we were not there a little longer. Very convenient to the thruway and a walk away to the village shops and restaurants.