Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent hospitality, great innkeeper, clean room

Posted Oct 20, 2017
The inn is in a great location, nice, comfortable and clean rooms ( and I'm picky about clean). The innkeeper provides great hospitality, wine and cheese, excellent breakfast. The innkeeper went out of her way to suggest day trips and provide detailed written instructions. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from richmond, VA

Gracious hostess, close to town

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: The hostess was very gracious and a good cook. Everything was clean. The bed was comfortable.
Cons: Update carpet and furniture.
Location: Close to downtown Madison.
The hostess is gracious and a good cook. Our breakfast was scrumptious. The bed was comfortable with firm mattress. Our bathroom was immaculate. The hotel is close to down town Madison. My only critic is the furnishings and carpet is dated. The chairs in our room sagged. I would have preferred they not be there in the room. Otherwise, I highly recommend this B&B.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Charming Inn specializing in hospitality

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Rooms, hospitality and great breakfast
My wife & I recently stayed 3 nights at the Tidewater Inn and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The Inn is charming and homey. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. We especially enjoyed the delicious breakfasts. They even asked us about dietary needs. Since my wife must eat gluten free they served her homemade gluten-free muffins and breakfast casserole. And it was delicious! We will likely be back there next year.
4 out of 5
by henry

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
The breakfast was outstanding you'll never have a better breakfast
4 out of 5
by thomas

Madison native reporting in so....

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
Madison native who doesn't have a place to stay when I come back and visit anymore. As a born and raised Madison kid now over 40, you won't hear me say a negative thing about the area. So dont ask. Staying at a B&B can be weird (i.e. someones house vs a hotel) but Tidewater Inn makes it easy if you want to be social, or anti social. If you want to be social, there is a home cooked breakfast for all every morning. If you dont, feel free to sleep through it or just walk out the door and go about your day. If you want to be social, there is some wine and cheese in a living room social every night (night in Madison means 6pm!). If you dont, just walk on by it on the way to your room or don't come back until 9pm when absolutely everyone will be asleep! (Again, its Madison!) So theres no pressure either way. The surf club (the local beach) is a close drive and Victoria (Tidewater's owner) has free beach passes for you (Madison charges for non locals to use the beach). Very pretty, small, and quiet beach especially on weekdays. Only thing negative (possibly) I'd add is that Route 1 (the road the hotel is right on) can be loud sometimes, especially summer when you get a fair bit of motorcycle traffic. This might not be a big deal if you are an early riser but if you plan to sleep late in the summer and dont like road noise, just a heads up.
5 out of 5
by BRIAN

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful experience! Gracious hostess and Victoria was a phenomenal cook as well!
4 out of 5
by Sara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Cheryl

Great Getaway

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
The Tidewater Inn is a wonderful getaway space. Victoria, the owner, is extremely knowledgeable about everything there is to do and see in this part of coastal Connecticut. The only drawback to this inn is the very small bathroom--there is a stand up shower, no tub. Otherwise, this is a great place to escape to. Especially nice are the chances to socialize with other guests (but, of course, you don't have to if you prefer solitude), as Victoria hosts an evening wine and snacks gathering and cooks an amazing breakfast (one of the best I've ever had at a B & B) . I can't wait to go back.
4 out of 5
by Melissa M. from Boston

A nice B+B in a quaint little town

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
I was only in and out for work, but this B+B was a cute stopover on my trip. The room had a shabby chic feel and had a working fireplace and canopy bed. The breakfast in the morning started a bit later than I could stay for, so I just had the fruit, bagel and cereal option which was just fine. The host was very accommodating.
5 out of 5
by Donald from Danbury, CT.

The Wonderful B & B Inn

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Tidewater Inn is a great B & B. The innkeeper and her staff were friendly, helpful and hardworking. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were prepared, creative and delicious! Great location for beaches, entertainment and exploring the area. Stephania & Don