Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Getaway

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Nice place to get away for the weekend. Rooms were satisfactory while service and food was very very good. We enjoyed our stay and will consider it again if staying in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love this place

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
I love everything about the Woodbine. It was built in 1908, and I love the structure,architecture. It just has that very homey feeling to it - like my grandmother's house. The staff (actually, I only met 1 lady) is extremely kind and helpful. Breakfast was superb!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kermit, Texas

Wonderful Old Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2016
If you like a B&B experience but with a hotels amenities then this is for you. Beautiful old hotel, very comfortable, with large rooms. The hotels staff really make you feel at home and they go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful! Will definitely go back!
5 out of 5
by theresa from chicago

Little piece of heaven in Madisonville Texas

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful!! Great steaks n drinks; Hospitality felt like I was at my aunts house. So warm and welcoming and relaxed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Couples Getaway

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful Bed & Breakfast. Older home with great furnishings. Susan and other guests were very welcoming and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Grange TX

Charming and homey

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: the scent of old wood -- cute little koi pond in the back, creaky floors, lovely lobbies, both upstairs and down, fantastic breakfast and staff.
Cons: check intricately-carved woodwork up high for fluff. A minor quibble which didn't put me off at all.
Location: Within range of antique shopping, Houston, a couple of major universities, and several national forests and lakes.
This is an old hotel, and it totally lacks the 'frou-frou-decorated by your grumpy aunt who won't let you put your feet up" feel of a B&B. It's full of antiques, but they're approachable antiques. The rooms are high-ceilinged and welcoming. Although the bed was firm (like in all American hotels), there were more than enough pillows to compensate. Well lit outside, so that even late-comers like me could not possibly have qualms about parking or going up the back stairs to the room. And the breakfast in the morning -- which is included in the price -- omg, the finest Belgian-style waffle I've ever tasted, with hot maple syrup and the right amount of bacon. Maybe it's a bit pricy, but light-years above and beyond anything in the price range.
5 out of 5
by Nancy from Terrell

Posted Nov 28, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel! Great food!! Great event venue - or cozy weekend getaway! Loved the Woodbine!
5 out of 5
by Mary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Sarah

Woodbine--great little place

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
If you stay here don't miss the food---fantastic. Rooms are ok.