Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Grange TX

Charming and homey

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: the scent of old wood -- cute little koi pond in the back, creaky floors, lovely lobbies, both upstairs and down, fantastic breakfast and staff.
Cons: check intricately-carved woodwork up high for fluff. A minor quibble which didn't put me off at all.
Location: Within range of antique shopping, Houston, a couple of major universities, and several national forests and lakes.
This is an old hotel, and it totally lacks the 'frou-frou-decorated by your grumpy aunt who won't let you put your feet up" feel of a B&B. It's full of antiques, but they're approachable antiques. The rooms are high-ceilinged and welcoming. Although the bed was firm (like in all American hotels), there were more than enough pillows to compensate. Well lit outside, so that even late-comers like me could not possibly have qualms about parking or going up the back stairs to the room. And the breakfast in the morning -- which is included in the price -- omg, the finest Belgian-style waffle I've ever tasted, with hot maple syrup and the right amount of bacon. Maybe it's a bit pricy, but light-years above and beyond anything in the price range.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sarah

Woodbine--great little place

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
If you stay here don't miss the food---fantastic. Rooms are ok.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BEAUMONT, TX

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything, including making it accessible to handicapped people.
Location: Near down town shopping and main highway
Hotel is not handicap accessible-we would have to go up 21 steps to get to our room and my wife and I are both handicapped. I am a disabled Vietnam veteran and my wife has arthritis. We did not check in as the rooms were musty and looked like an "hourly" hotel. We did not stay in a room and unable to make a rating of room cleanliness and comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Renee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

My first stay in a historic facility.

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: I liked the craftsmanship of the trim work around the doors and windows, the ceiling trim and trim around the floor.
Cons: I would not want to change anything about the hotel, it is historic.
Location: I traveled there to purchase a Texas Pride Trailer. It is about half way between Dallas and Houston in a quiet small town.
Beautiful building built around 1804. Very attractive, comfortable. The restaurant had the best food I have found in a long time. The people were very polite and wanted us to have whatever we needed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Ok if you have to stay in the area.

Posted Nov 30, 2014 on Hotels
Kind of dumpy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice home

Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful home rude manager, chef, susan. Great accomodations, bar, restaurant, and room in one place. Food delicious but cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Quaint Place!

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels
Texas Landmark! Great service, great food!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Bean lover

Great historic hotel!

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels
Room filled wth antiques, lots of room, recommend the pecan French toast for breakfast! Wish we could have stayed longer than one night.