Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, California

Botique hotel. Off the beaten track.

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Location. Staff. Interior.
The outside of the hotel looks plain and dry but the rooms are unique. The interior is an interesting mix of modern and old. Many "old" elements were preserved (bricks, wooden beams and heavy metal). The bathroom floor is actually teak. It's centrally located but still a bit off the beaten track. Close to Madrid Atocha and just a block away from the Lavapies metro. Walkable to the Calle Mayor and Plaza Mayor area. Nice tapas bars in the neighborhood (especially O Pazo de Lugo). The breakfast is continental but very good quality coffee, bread, meats and cheese. The best asset of the hotel is the staff. Absolutely friendly and attentive to details. We had an early flight but they accommodated an extremely early breakfast for us. We would definitely stay at Artrip on our next visit to Madrid!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Delightful Hotel in Fashionable Quarter of Madrid

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Delightful, helpful host, simple but stylish modern decor and furnishing. Clean rooms and public areas. Superb straightforward service. Great value!
Cons: I cannot think of anything significant that was lacking in this hotel. Would return without hesitation.
Location: Lavapies is a buzzy multicultural area with lots of good places to eat. Within easy reach of both the centre and the Prado area.
We spent two nights in Madrid in early November. Being familiar with the Lavapies district we were delighted to find that this highly recommended small hotel had opened there. On arrival we received a wonderfully warm welcome from the proprietor who informed us very helpfully on the services in the hotel and the on the locality. Our room was spacious, with a living area separated off from the sleeping area by a sliding glass door, a large walk-in shower and a small lobby area where the separate loo was located. We had twin beds (as we had requested) and a balcony looking out on to the lively Calle de Valencia. This is a fairly noisy street but the double glazing shuts out the noise nicely. We were very comfortable and felt very secure since there is an effective security system within the hotel that ensures that only those issued with room keys can move about in it. Water was provided in the mini fridge on arrival and there was a very generous €6 continental breakfast on offer. We really enjoyed our stay in this very pleasant family hotel! We would definitely return to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Clean, tidy, stylish and a great location. Staff where wonderful and really go out of their way for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great location and amazing staff.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Te location was perfect for sight seeing, dining and transportation. The staff were amazing. Helped get me started with a map and guide to places as well as where to dine and go out. All the suggestions were perfect! Laura started us with a friendly reception and was very helpful. All of the front desk spoke excellent English (seemed even better than my English but minus the NYC accent. Haha). Enjoyed the hotel and again can't say more about how great the staff were.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Great location, friendly & helpful staff

Posted Sep 12, 2016
We stayed at Artrip for 5 days, Miguel and his team were very helpful and friendly, recommending local sights suggesting restaurants and ensuring we had a good time. The location is very good, in the hip barrio of Lavapiés, close to the Metro and the Reina Sofia Gallery. We stayed in a Junior suite which was surprisingly large, with a good bed and pillows. The shower had both a handheld and Rain shower heads. Took a while to warm up but pressure was good. Coffee and Wi-Fi were both free and good. Overall Artrip is a little gem of a hotel, with a good price, facilities, location balance. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new York

Great stay

Posted Jul 14, 2016
The owner Miguel was terrific. Thank you for making our stay comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Pefect hotel in a less touristy area.

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Quiet comfortable and safe. The owner, Miguel, and desk attendant, Laura, were incredibly pleasant, helpful and accomodating. Lavapides is an interesting neighborhood that is not for everyone. We loved the location, walking distance to Reina Sophia and Prado, as well as Plaza Major and more, but some people may be put off by the Senegalese street hustlers and Indian restaurant hawkers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, friendly staff and good location

Posted Jun 28, 2016
It was way above our expectation. It's close to everything. Both staff and owner are super friendly. They gave us very nice tips of where to visit or eat. We had room with one king bed and one sofa bed that is set up as two separate twin beds. It's good size. They also prepared free water and fresh fruits for us. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Cool Boutique Hotel in a Hip Neighborhood

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: We liked the location, the cool interior design, the plumbing fixtures, the art work, the lighting and most of all - the staff.
We stayed 2 nights and hated to leave Artrip and Madrid. The hotel is reasonably priced and withing easy walking distance of the Prado and other museums and Atocha Station. Breakfast was good and plentiful. The Lavapies neighborhood is vibrant and un-touristy but the hotel is quiet. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Jasmina is a gem - she went out of her way to help us with taxis and flight details.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Friendly small hotel in central location

Posted Apr 18, 2016
This is a small modern hotel created by its owner/manager Miguel in the traditional working class neighbourhood of Lavapies, which is near Atocha station and within easy walking distance of the three big museums and many other tourist destinations in Madrid. The rooms are comfortable in a modern style but not luxurious, well thought out and very clean. Breakfasts are enjoyable and good value though the choices are not extensive. The staff could not be more helpful with advice and solutions to practical problems.