Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arg

Nice hotel, no elevator to the grown, no wi fi

Posted Aug 29, 2015
There's not wi fi as they said: very bad connection and they told me to call to the provider instead of giving me a solution. Reception during check in wasn' t very friendly. I ask by mail for and early check in and they confirm that option by mail eithaprice that I have accepted. When I arrive very tired they said they didn' t have my room yet, that I have to wait for the check in a few hours!!!!! I was very desapointed so they offer to pay for a better room and then check. I wasn't agree with that I accepted to pay for early check in no for a better room during all my permanence in the hotel! Finally I have got and upgrade but I really had preferred to have my room without all that tension.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Location is ideal.

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Location and old world charm.
Cons: Having to take stairs to the elevators, and elevators are too small.
Location: Culture, (such as museums) shopping.
The staff aim to please. The location cannot be beat. That said, the hotel is full of old world charm, but is not ideal in terms of certain comforts. There are steps to take to the tiny elevators. The rooms were clean and cleaned regularly. This was my third time staying at this hotel, and I would stay again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima - Peru

Very comfortable hotel and excellent location

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Location and service
Cons: The stairs to take the elevator...please eliminate them
Location: Restaurants, shops, metro, bus.
When I travel to Madrid I always stay at the Gran Hotel Velazquez. Almost 15 years of experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SyracuseNY

Location only

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Very dated hotel with minimal comfort. Staff is nothing to write home about. Breakfast buffet not worth the money. Only asset is location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old, bad elevators lazy staff

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: All
Location: Shopping only
As above, not nice , old, requested a queen bed, got 2 singles
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N. America

Average in all respects

Posted Jul 21, 2014
While not rude, reception staff not particularly welcoming and certainly not friendly. Minimally helpful. Did the basics their job required... Steps to reach elevator made use of porter obligatory, not optional, if you have heavy luggage. Therefore, appeared to have been preserved intentionally this way. Breakfast buffet inferior to other hotels we stayed at in Spain. However, internet connection (on an upper floor) was excellent, room and bathroom clean and comfortable but bed mattresses not up to par...Location upscale,excellent for expensive shopping only. Sites of the city require transportation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location and good value

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Reservation was for 1 King but we were given a room with 2 singles. Fortunately with fluent Spanish we could insist that a room with 1 King was provided. Check your reservation after booking to make sure you get what you want.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional Hotel with great location

Posted Aug 1, 2013
Pros: Great location, great staff
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: Lots of shops and restaurants, close to the Hop on/Hop off sightseeing bus line.
Hotel was what I expected for a traditional European hotel. Hotel has been updated and was clean with plenty of space in the room. Unfortunately our a/c was not working that well but, we made the most of it. Location was right in the middle of the Salamanca district with many shops and restaurants accessible within walking distance. It was not too was from the sightseeing tour bus stop which was nice. Staff very helpful, friendly, and very professional.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Hotel is only well located

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: bed Staff
The location is good and except for the stair to the elevator it can be improve with a better management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paola from Dominican Republic

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Pros: Bathroom was great.
Cons: Two samll beds in our room.
Location: Great location.
We had a wonderful stay, the only thing we did not like was that our room had two small beds, and we needed one bed, since it was our honeymoon. Everything else was fine, staff was great, metro close by, will definetly return.