Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Traditional hotel but honest and good value

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: The up-market location is excellent. Although not new, the hotel has character.
Cons: TVs could offer 'dual' function so that English language programmes could be watched in English.
Location: Up-market, clean and litter free.2 minute walk from Velazquez Metro. Short walk from an array of designer label shops.Excellent gym near V Metro.
We preferred twin beds so after the first night were given an up-grade at no extra charge. Some of the mainly male staff are a bit long in the tooth but are helpful enough without the false niceness that marks some younger staff fresh from customer care training.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peru

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Pillows
Location: Best locations: shopping, restaurants
Excellent: service, clean, location, rooms I stay there every time I go to Madrid
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

A well located gem in Madrid

Posted Dec 26, 2016
The hotel is cozy, well kept and staff is friendly. It is located in the heart of Salamanca, the upscale shopping, restaurant and bar zone of Madrid that is well protected away from the hoards of tourists. Just walking a few blocks on any directions is a treat by itself. La Trainera seafood restaurant, Los Paraguas cutting edge menu, La Gasca gourmet market, Mallorca pastries and coffee shop, the antique shops are just a few examples to liven up the experience. A short walk away from Puerta de Alcalá and el Retiro park.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY, USA

Used to be decent - rude staff, even for Madrid

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 10 years-mainly because of the location-but I do not think I will be recommending this place to anyone again. My family and I had 5 rooms over the course of our last stay. Never before have I felt so uncomfortable in a hotel! The staff was extremely rude, even by Spain standards. The maids did not honor do not disturb sign and entered the room, and moved all of our things around! We paid a $5 premium for a king size bed and a non smoking room, but did not receive either. The room smelled like a cistern and as if we had 5 smokers living in the room with us. It seems the air vents lead directly to the maids/service elevator area which reeked of smoke. We found that out because we had to drag our own luggage to the freight elevator at checkout! Despite asking the evening before if someone would be available at 7:45am to help with our luggage, and receiving a curt, 'Of course, we are a 24 hour service hotel' answer, when we called for help at 7:48am, we were told there was absolutely nobody to help. I found it strange as there were 4 people doing Absolutely Nothing at the front desk when we Finally managed to drag our 4 suitcases ourselves downstairs! The stay was awful and I will no longer be recommending this hotel to anyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Cosy, great location

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Access to shopping and restaurants. Great location!
Nice and cosy hotel. Basic amenities but clean and friendly staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst experience in Madrid

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Have a nice bar and location is really good barrio Salamanca with all these restaurants and Tascas
Cons: Is October and Madrid is fresh. I reported 03 times and I went to sleep without air conditioner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Great Location

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Nice hotel in a good location near many shops and cafes. Also just a few short blocks away from tourist bus stops.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Old Hotel, bitter staff

Posted Jul 1, 2016
The location of this hotel is perfect, but the hotel staff is bitter, Gemma, the clerk, doesn't even bother to make you feel welcome, not even a smile. At 4 am you will wake up all sweat because they turn off all air conditioners to save energy. The hotel room is outdated and the towels are worn out. But, the worst really is the staff attitude.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Very helpful staff. Overall, very nice hotel in a great location.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san juan, puerto rico

Hotel at excellent location at Salamanca area

Posted Oct 17, 2015
To go to our room we had to take a nine steps stair, then an elevator, a long corridor with steps then an open patio. It rained twice! As fall was startimg they turned off the air conditionig and turned heating. Control did not work!