Ratings based on 690 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KY, USA

Great location away from mobs of tourists

Posted May 26, 2017
Our 1st hotel, Luxury Suites cancelled our room because they overbooked. We lucked out! The Gran Melis Fenix was great! Located in a chic residential area near upscale shopping & great outdoor cafes not crowded with sweaty tourists. 10 min walk to Prado, right on bus line & short cab ride. Plus convenience of daily breakfast buffet that was really nice. We had access to Red Level amenities including nightly tapas & alcohol with outdoor rooftop seating. Would stay again in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Great hotel in very convenient location.

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: As above, the location, staff and interior.
Cons: Some street noise as we were in a first floor hotel room, but not much the hotel staff can do about that!
Location: Right on the impressive Plaza de Colon, which contains a Metro station making it convenient for exploring the city. The Prado is walking distance.
A great hotel in very convenient location for exploring Madrid, next to Colon metro stop. On the edge of the upscale Salamanca neighbourhood. Exceptionally professional, friendly and helpful hotel staff. Impressive interior, including the lobby, hotel bar and other facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect treat

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Level of service and general amenities. Superb staff.
Cons: Junior suite did not have a view but made up for by the lounge etc.
Location: Great shopping!
Excellent hotel red level service first rate. All staff very helpful, nothing too much trouble. Even organised cake and champagne for birthday surprise as a gift from hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted May 7, 2017
Our stay at the hotel was great. Room, location, breakfast and bar all fab. Would recommend a visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
This place is an excellent place to stay. I have to go back again a few more times to Madrid and plan to try to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima, Perú

Great hotel, very good location

Posted Apr 28, 2017
The hotel is old but perfectly renovated, the rooms are very comfortable and have everything one needs. The beds are amazing. The location is the best, close to major tourist spots but not in the middle of all the movement, so it remains a quiet spot. It's also really close to a lot of stores, perfect for shopping. The only small issue I found was the breakfast service. The food selection was great, specially the fruit and ham sections. The issue was with the size of the breakfast room; we always had to wait around 5-10 minutes for a table, which doesn't seem much, but when you're on a trip and on a tight schedule it can make a difference. Would return gadly to this hotel next time I'm in Madrid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Very nice hotel, comfortable and close

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: The service and comfort
Cons: The breakfast buffet is great BUT VERY PRiCy
Location: You are close to the station for the city bus, the cercanias train station and to the fast train to go far distances. Close to the commercial areas,
The staff personal, very polite helpful and make us welcome. The room were clean and comfortable Great experience Will definitely will return to this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a very nice neighborhood

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Very good experience as always . Have stayed there for the last five years and will repeat when I go back to Spain
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Overbooked and room with no view

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Attentive staff, well kept facility, the executive level lounge offered refreshments at all hours.
Cons: Don't call it red level if it ain't. Rooms too small to be comfortable. If view is not available, show consideration.
Location: The location along the Paseo de la Castellana is a little north to all the major attractions but still within walking distance to most of them.
We had secured a junior suite/red level 2 months in advance through Expedia. Upon arrival we were placed in a junior suite so small you could hardly place your suitcase on the floor and open it. The windows opened to an air-shaft with fire escapes. Not the place you want to celebrate your 30st wedding anniversary in. especially at $560 per night. I complained but no alternative was available, as the hotel was solidly booked . However I was told, that if had booked directly through Melia, the owner corporation, better options would have been given. It seemed that the booking through Expedia put me at a disadvantage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Posted Apr 13, 2017
This is a fantastic hotel with fine service, luxury accommodations and top staff. From the minute we arrived we felt welcomed and pampered. Our room was quiet and beautifully appointed. The hotel is very close to high end shopping and within a 10 minute walk to the Park. We like the fact that the hotel was away from Old Town because it's can get too busy and crowded in that area. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Also if you can get a decent price, splurge and get a red level room. Then you get access to the lovely lounge on the 7th floor which serves food and drink all day and also has a beautiful outdoor space