Ratings based on 701 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Close to city

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Nice hotel. Close walking distance to restaurants. Nice roof top deck. Pleasant staff Nice bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Posted Jun 24, 2017
This is our second time staying at this hotel and every time is better than before. We booked a suite on the red lounge level and the room was very spacious and comfortable. They even had a pillow and room fragance menu. Hotel concierge went above and beyond to meet our requests. Would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal, Canada

This time around disappointed.

Posted May 27, 2017
My third time here. First 2 exemplary but this time around disappointed. Had reserved a regular room since traveling alone and staying only 3 nights, was given special needs room adapted to wheelchair clients. All amenities perfect for these needs but not applying to me and felt it to be disappointing to give such a room without having asked for it and not reserving it for a person who would need these services. I adressed the issue the next morning and was changed to another room. But had to be firm on my demands. Upon arriving had been given complementary red salon device, but I would have preferred to be given the room I had asked for and not trying to sugar coat with complementary... I do appreciate the management having corrected the issue the next day, but this has put a bit of a damper on my future decisions of booking at Meliá fenix. I have returned there 3 times in less than 2 yrs and am a frequent traveller.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KY, USA

Great location away from mobs of tourists

Posted May 26, 2017
Our 1st hotel, Luxury Suites cancelled our room because they overbooked. We lucked out! The Gran Melis Fenix was great! Located in a chic residential area near upscale shopping & great outdoor cafes not crowded with sweaty tourists. 10 min walk to Prado, right on bus line & short cab ride. Plus convenience of daily breakfast buffet that was really nice. We had access to Red Level amenities including nightly tapas & alcohol with outdoor rooftop seating. Would stay again in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Great hotel in very convenient location.

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: As above, the location, staff and interior.
Cons: Some street noise as we were in a first floor hotel room, but not much the hotel staff can do about that!
Location: Right on the impressive Plaza de Colon, which contains a Metro station making it convenient for exploring the city. The Prado is walking distance.
A great hotel in very convenient location for exploring Madrid, next to Colon metro stop. On the edge of the upscale Salamanca neighbourhood. Exceptionally professional, friendly and helpful hotel staff. Impressive interior, including the lobby, hotel bar and other facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect treat

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Level of service and general amenities. Superb staff.
Cons: Junior suite did not have a view but made up for by the lounge etc.
Location: Great shopping!
Excellent hotel red level service first rate. All staff very helpful, nothing too much trouble. Even organised cake and champagne for birthday surprise as a gift from hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted May 7, 2017
Our stay at the hotel was great. Room, location, breakfast and bar all fab. Would recommend a visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
This place is an excellent place to stay. I have to go back again a few more times to Madrid and plan to try to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima, Perú

Great hotel, very good location

Posted Apr 28, 2017
The hotel is old but perfectly renovated, the rooms are very comfortable and have everything one needs. The beds are amazing. The location is the best, close to major tourist spots but not in the middle of all the movement, so it remains a quiet spot. It's also really close to a lot of stores, perfect for shopping. The only small issue I found was the breakfast service. The food selection was great, specially the fruit and ham sections. The issue was with the size of the breakfast room; we always had to wait around 5-10 minutes for a table, which doesn't seem much, but when you're on a trip and on a tight schedule it can make a difference. Would return gadly to this hotel next time I'm in Madrid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Very nice hotel, comfortable and close

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: The service and comfort
Cons: The breakfast buffet is great BUT VERY PRiCy
Location: You are close to the station for the city bus, the cercanias train station and to the fast train to go far distances. Close to the commercial areas,
The staff personal, very polite helpful and make us welcome. The room were clean and comfortable Great experience Will definitely will return to this hotel