Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Beautiful hotel within steps of Calle Serrano

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Beautiful hotel within steps of Calle Serrano, which means great shopping. Staff is impressively nice, friendly and efficient. Experience is excellent. Would definitely stay here again when visiting again Madrid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel near business areas

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The room and the service
Cons: nothing comes to my mind at this moment
Location: The hotel is about one hour walk from old Madrid (Puerta del Sol), plenty of public transportation though.
Its a very nice classic hotel in front of Plaza de Colon although a bit far from main downtown. A nice cafe is just opposite of the hotel entrance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, Florida

Wonderful 5-Star Hotel with Minor Issues

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Room was nicely appointed. Staff was great. Location near a Metro stop (Colon) was convenient.
Cons: Spotty internet service (disappointing for a 5-Star hotel). Room Service was very slow.
Location: Located near the Colon Metro Stop and in the same building as the Madrid Hard Rock Cafe, one could go anywhere in the city in a few minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Excellent!!

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Excellent service, great location, personnel very nice and helpful and a nice and cozy bar.
Cons: Even do the gym was OK, it could be larger and better equipped.
Location: Shopping, restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

First class hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: The whole hotel including location .
Cons: Not to allow pets in the rooms.
Location: Amazing.
Spent 2 nights and was very satisfied during my stay. A 5 star hotel. With not a single hick up. Well done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia, USA

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, design.
Location: 30 min walk to the historic sites, not very steep, 5 minutes to the Retiro Park. 20 minutes walk to the train station.
30 min walk to the historic sites, 5 minutes to the Retiro Park, clean room, expensive breakfast (30 euro) compare to the other hotels worth 20 euro max.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice place with old style comforts

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Nice place with a lot of old style comforts- too many pillows, stylish and fancy décor, fancy common areas, etc. Nice people working there and the location is good- not great but good. About a 15 minute walk to the Prado and the old city and a 5 minute walk from the hip neighborhood Salmanca. The building has a Hard Rock Café in it, so that is a sign it is not the hip hotel- but there is no need for that. I enjoyed it a lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Nice hotel, great location, good value for money.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Great location, clean, modern. When in Madrid this is the best hotel and best value for your money. We also stayed at Ritz and we were completely disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful Experience

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Comfort of the rooms
Cons: Warn people of construction noise.
I checked into the Melia to take a break, to rest. The hotel is very nice of course. But I awoke to hammering sounds at about eight o'clock on a Saturday morning. I called the front desk and received an apology and an offer of a free breakfast and late checkout. I declined the breakfast and checked out. I told the front desk manager that I would have stayed a few more days but would leave because of the noise. Offering me a room away from the noise would have been more appropriate. Nice hotel, overpriced but okay for a good night's sleep. I didn't even get to experience that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Great City Break!

Posted Aug 25, 2016
I went there with my daughter for a city break. The hotel was exceptionally nice and welcoming to us both. The rooms were splendid and very clean, the bathroom could have been bigger, however we didn't go there to sleep in the bathroom! The sitting area was nice and clean and the French Martini was lovely... Eventually :-). The staff were lovely and spoke excellent English. All-in-all an excellent stay! Thanks!