Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Desert, United States of America

Eight Nights in Oct. 2016

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Bring up Hotel Reyes Catolicas on Google Maps and check out "nearby places" for the high points. Walk around the area to discover everything else.
I liked the location, a 7-minute walk from La Latina metro stop and maybe 15 min. from Plaza Mayor and Sol. There were a lot of restaurants, bars, shops, etc. nearby. The room was clean and functional, but mine was small and opened onto a a viewless airshaft. Whenever there were other guests in the hallway, noise from their conversations and exclamations carried into the room as if there were no barrier. Their wi-fi system could not provide a secure connection - for my devices which are protected with internet security- this meant "read-only" functionality for many apps and features. For example, with email, I could read and send, but could not open any previously saved emails. I couldn't use banking, airline, or other apps that contained secured information either. The staff was courteous and professional, but no one I encountered seemed to know more than a few words of English. They could understand my Spanish okay, but their Castillian Spanish was very different from what I had encountered in Mexico, Costa Rica, or Peru. If you want a place to stay while you explore Madrid and nearby places, HRC works out fine, but if "being in a hotel" is your main objective, probably not so much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gibsons Canada

Great location and helpful staff

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Staff are very helpful and speak excellent English
Cons: The air conditioning was sporadic
Location: Location was excellent for near by tapas bars and close to all the sights
Excellent location near by tapas bars and all major sights
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located business hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2016
The rooms lack charm and the bed is too noisy. The location of the hotel is good, in a calm street, 10 minutes away from Plaza Mayor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel in central Madrid

Posted May 9, 2016
Pros: Great location and perfectly comfortable for city break
Location: Royal Place was 5 minutes walk
Great location for city break. All main attractions within walking, and great choice of places to eat around the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Posted Nov 30, 2015
The hotel is perfectly adequate - it is located in the centre of Madrid and the price is reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice place

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Stayed there last week for 2 nights. Great place but the safe should be bolted down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ISRAEL

great simple hotel at a great location

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Cons: I wish the beds were more comfortable.
Location: A lot of tapas bars near by, specially at CAVA BAJA street.
tho room we got was very pleasant, the sower was great and so were the shades on the windows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simply one of your best choices in Madrid

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Reviews on tripadvisor
Cons: Everything is great
I traveled with my mom and my grandmother (84 years old). I look for a family hotel with great customer service. The hotel staff was the greatest, they will help you with anything you need, even room accommodations for your family. I felt I was staying in a friend's home. This is the best hotel, in a great location to enjoy Madrid.
2 out of 5
by T. from St. Louis, Mo

Not even a three star hotel.

Posted May 21, 2014
So many negative aspects-located in a dodgy area, shabby finishes, incredibly small room advertised as a king, but no larger than a double bed, shower bracket was broken, wallpaper was hideous, elevators as small as a phone booth-ridiculous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by Hotel direction, Hotel Management
Dear guest. We have read you review and appreciate it because it is the best way we have to know the impress of our guests. We would like to clarify some comments. The hotel is not absolutly in a dodgy area. It is located in the downtown of Madrid. In particular 'La Latina', neighbourhood which is famous for its tapas bars and week-end enviroment. The last refurbishing was in 2010 so it should not be as shabby as said after only 4 years. Rooms can be maybe small but it must be considered that HRC is a 3* hotel. The size is consisting with its category. Double beds are 1,35 meters width. The decoration of the hotel is subjetive. We respect your opinion but other guests like it. We hope you could give us another chance if visiting Madrid in a future. Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C from Scotland

Great location.

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: The location was very handy for most of the sights and the metro. Clean, spacious room with fridge and TV. Bathroom with bath and shower.
Cons: Lift got stuck between floors a couple of times - but pressing the button for the next floor solved the problem. Beds a little on the soft side.
Location: 20 minutes walk to Reina Sofia, 10 minutes to the Palace and a few minutes from some great restaurants and tapas bars.
We easily found the hotel a few minutes walk away from the Pueta del Toledo after getting the metro from the airport. Warm welcome from the front desk with lots of information about how to get to the places we wanted to visit. ATM across the road, post office on the street parallel and plenty of little shops and supermarkets for water etc. About 10 minutes walk from the restaurants and tapas bar streets, although there are some closer. Not too noisy, just the occasional voices on football evenings as people came in.