Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Location is its selling point

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: good for young travellers
Location: city centre.
As a 1 star hostal (hotel/hostel?) there are preconceptions to what to expect. But I will start with the location. The place is hidden behind a famous plaza and very close to Sol station which is ideal for short trips. I stayed in a room with no windows unfortunately, and there is, albeit as an rustic quality, a feeling that the place is simple to give it a compliment rather than to say it looked slightly run down and disjointed in places (the wooden doors are on their last legs I feel). Do not stay for longer than a few days because there was a lot of noise throughout the night from other guests (the partition walls etc are very thin) and arguing residents from the floor above. I wasn't able to let myself in the building despite given a set of keys for the key didn't work but there is an intercom system.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Windowless

Posted Dec 4, 2015
On booking, I requested a room with balcony if possible. I got a room with no window. Very thin walls, so a lot of exterior noise. The night staff had the great idea of sorting the rubbish out noisily in the hallway after midnight. With no window and strong heating it made for an uncomfortable night. The location was great though....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent location

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Really great location right in the heart of Madrid. The room was clean and the staff friendly. The walls are quite thing so you will be woken up at times from people passing through the corridors or closing their doors but would definitely recommend the hostal to others.
2 out of 5
by yvonne from LA

Well located for a great price

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
Only needed a place for a 6 hours layover between flights. Wanted to stay in the city center and found a place that was cheap, clean and in my all time favorite spot... Plaza San Miguel..... Perfect! Great clean new showers, shared, but excellent for this price
2 out of 5
by samy from madrid

no good

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels
I wont go back there again,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Aug 31, 2013
I'm sure this wasn't a bad place as far as hostels go. However, I had never stayed at a hostel and was grossed out by the shared bathrooms. I think the structure of the walls and floors in both the room and bathrooms were not conducive to cleanliness as there were cracks, peeling paint, etc. Staff were helpful but not overly welcoming. Location was superb, just steps from Mercado de San Miguel. This hostel was pretty quiet with no loud guests. It seemed to attract an older hostel-crowd.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mini camera senza finestre

Posted Dec 16, 2016
È un posto difficile da trovare ma location perfetta. Le stanze sono minuscole e molto rumorose. Ma in generale può andar bene per una notte.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convient hotel with simple food

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
Iy is near the city and Metro. One can do most things by walk.But the breakfast is very simple and you have to prepare it yourself .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

bien comunicado, cerca de la Plaza del Sol.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Comunicación muy buena, céntrico, con muchas tiendas al lado. Barato y limpio. La habitación muy pequeña, sin mucho espacio y sin ventana, un poco agobiante.
4 out of 5
by CEMAL

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels