Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Central, excellent value

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Location, price, condition.
Cons: At the price, nothing. It was a well-maintained place (more like a no-frills hotel than a hostel) with efficient arrangements.
Location: Very central. It's in Malasana which is the hippest sector of Madrid, a few minutes from the Gran Via and right by a metro stop.
I wanted an inexpensive, no-frills base close to the centre. For the price, it was ideal. Clean, safe, efficient, convenient.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
The room was unexpectedly quite good although the bed was quite hot to sleep in as I think it was covered in plastic under the sheets. Bathroom is good and security is also good. We asked reception to book us a taxi but when none arrived we hailed one from the street at 5.30am - lucky it's a big city and there are loads of cabs! Great location near tapas bars and 10-15min walk to Sol
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central and comfy beds

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
The room was small, room 19. We had a tiny window which opened out to the smell of cooking 24/7. Our room had a sweet sickly smell, but couldn't open window as got cooking smell. This is our only criticism. HOWEVER the beds were so comfortable, really comfy. The shower was a power shower. Lovely bedding. Hostal staff friendly and helpful... we asked for a kettle and one was produced.. we took our own mugs and tea/coffee. Free wifi throughout. Right next door to a tapas bar, friendly staff, our free tapas plate got bigger each day. Free wifi Central for hop on hop off red tour bus. Turn right outside hostal. Walk to Main Street turn left 100metres there is bus stop, no 8 on map. Loads to see and do. Weather was colder than we anticipated, but luckily we could layer up on clothes. Defo return to hostal but not room 19. The hostal is bit tricky to spot, but no 55 is clearly shown on the door, go up the stairs to 1st floor, and ring the bell. Easy when you know.
5 out of 5
by Michael from London

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great little hostel. Friendly hosts. Powerful shower, which isn't always the case. 30 seconds from the metro. Would happily stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great location

Posted Apr 15, 2016
We loved this hostal - very basic but offered everything we needed. Great location and lovely staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by MAry from Dublin Ireland

Room no. 1 ruined our weekend in Madrid.

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
We asked for a quiet room. WE were given Room no.1. We did not sleep for 3 nights. Extreme noise coming from lift outside the room, wooden stairs - up to the first floor where reception was - people coming and going. Wooden stairs inside the hostal - suitcases and people with high heels noise throughout the night. Discussions with receptionists at the hatch. WE asked to be moved after the first night but were not accommodated. Also the plumbing is noisey - its possible to hear people showering and flushing the toilet beside the room and up over it. Staff were very friendly and its a good location but Room no. 1 ruined our stay. Also, we wre not advised that you have to prepay in full for your stay on arrival. Also its not made clear that the hostal is on the first floor and just a main door in from the road - hard to find when it is dark at night and you are not sure of your surroundings when arriving for the first time. In short, we would not stay here again unless we were guaranteed a quiet room.
4 out of 5
by Naomi from Chicago

Lovely hotel on quiet street near center

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel staff is absolutely lovely and it is a great deal for the price. The room was quite small, but made good use of the space available. We enjoyed our stay so much we cancelled a different hotel to stay here again on our way back through Madrid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge uk

Short break with my daughter

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Central location. Clean room, bathroom clean, but a little small. Friendly and helpful staff. Very near to the Metro.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love Madrid

Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
We loved it!so close to a town centre,metro station.really nice and helpful staff and nice and cozy room!value for the money!hope we can go back soon!